We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came back to this hotel after the new Mgr begged me to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Airport
Ranked #58 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Bridgeport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Came back to this hotel after the new Mgr begged me to”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Been there 3 times in past 2 months. Guy named Bill took over managing the place. Everything was 1000% better than las November/December when we stopped staying there. This weekend, we came with about 20 friends through Zoom Motorsports. It was obvious when the shuttle was laye to the airport they had changed management. Roomsvwere dirty. Restaurant was out of everything on the menu. Bar ran out of beer. Staff was totally clueless. Basically, in a short time, this hotel went back to exactly where it was last year. Tgese owners must be totally clueless. At 10 a.m. monday morning when I asked for the new manager, I was told she's not here and I don't know when she'll be in. Well that explains alot. I just hope someone from their sales office calls again begging for our business back so I can tell them you got it back, everything was going smoothly, you lost your manager and you're the hotel from hell again. No thanks, we won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    62
    48
    50
See reviews for
45
40
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked a reservation here, sight & reviews unseen, because Clarion Hotels and the Choice line of lodging are usually very nice. This was not. The room was in need of repair. The area where the wall & ceiling met, was separating; the bathroom had not been thoroughly cleaned - hairs in sink & tub; the carpet gathered in spots, the room door was separated from the door jam, and the list goes on. The bar was opened for three hours for food & drink. The menu was adequate but tired. I had nachos. The chips tasted stale & I did not expect liquid cheese.
The staff are the best part of this hotel. They are friendly and accommodating. The driver did offer to take me elsewhere to eat but I was ready to just call it a night. Next time I will try The
Holiday Inn down the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel was clean but check in took more than 45. Claimed "slow Computers". Average stay. heater/AC in room was very noisy.. Close to airport with shuttle on the half hour in the AM. Had to go to lobby for snack machines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for only one night expecting at least a clean safe and decent room instead we get a room with a nasty look musty smell carpet only one light a one broken with prongs expose.AC working just for moments and defected toilet. Awful experience. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knravm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadlephia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel, which is very close to the airport, exists purely for the stranded traveler, or for trysts. It is quite spartan, but very inexpensive. The shuttle driver is great - he will drive you to the local Hardee's or Kebab house (there is currently no food at the hotel), the desk clerk was very nice, and the bartender Paul is a hoot. As long as you won't be there for more than a few hours, it's quite adequate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajlcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is 1 mile from the Birmingham, Al airport. It is very comfortable, clean and the customer service is great. The only drawback from the hotel is there's nothing around it as far as dining and the kitchen was closed the weekend I stayed. If you are looking for a inexpensive place to lay your head this is it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the airport. Only one night. The price was really, really low. The hotel is dated and has seen better days. The door to the room was old and worn. The room was clean and comfortable and very quiet. The staff was friendly and efficient. Our friends that live in Birmingham were aghast that we stayed in this part of town, evidently it is not a good area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pissaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#47 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
3.8 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Fultondale
Days Inn Fultondale
#1 of 7 in Fultondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Airport

Property: Ramada Birmingham Airport
Address: 5216 Messer Airport Hwy, Birmingham, AL 35212-3033 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Birmingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full-service Ramada Birmingham Airport hotel offers the option to park your car with us when you leave from Birmingham, Alabama Airport. We have meeting space available for special events and we are nearby Birmingham attractions such as Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex, Kelly Ingram Park and Birmingham Botanical Gardens, as well as businesses including Pinson Valley Chevron, American Tower, Harbert Management, Burch Corporation, and Energen. Our non-smoking hotel has 196 expertly appointed guest rooms with free WiFi, coffee facilities, work-space, flat-screen HDTV, microwave, mini-fridge and mini bar. In your spare time, get energized with a workout at our well-equipped fitness center or stay productive at our business center. Book your guest room today to discover the many reasons we are a top choice of hotels in Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing