We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Diamond in the rough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Birmingham Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Airport
Ranked #59 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel had me worried. However, I found the lobby and staff to be invited. The hotel room and bath were slightly dated but clean. Only problem was noise from a party two doors down. I should have called to complain but I didn't. Airport shuttle was very convenient and efficient. Would recommend for anyone with an early flight.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gks08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    53
    42
    42
See reviews for
34
35
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I decided to stay here based upon its proximity to the airport and the online reviews I checked prior to booking. Big mistake. This hotel was disappointing in every way. The lobby was nice upon entering, but that first impression was annulled immediately following my sub par greeting at check-in. I truly felt like I was an inconvenience to the clerk for disturbing his time and interrupting his self consumed cell phone business. Got to my room, and the smoke detector was beeping as the battery was dead. This same incessant beeping could be heard down the hall from one if not two more rooms. I called for service, and it took them 3 hours to bring me a new battery. I got so mad, I pulled it off the wall and took it apart myself before the continuous beeping drove me crazy. My bed cover was dirty, the shower curtain bar was hanging off the wall by a single questionable screw, the toilet paper holder was broken, the room was old, dated, dirty and not at all what I had been expecting from a Clarion hotel. Never again will I visit here. Oh...and the airport shuttle...what a joke. I asked the clerk in the morning for a ride to the airport and I was told that the driver may or may not show up...but that if he did, I could get a ride. Really? Might show up? Yes, she said...they've been having problems with their "help". I called a cab rather than waiting to see if he Might show up. ridiculous.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our recent stay at this hotel (4 nights) was not a good experience. We changed rooms twice, trying to find one that the toilet seat wasn't broken and about to fall off and a shower curtain rod that wasn't about to fall down. Imagine trying to take a shower and the curtain keeps moving to the center of the rod. We had to use the towels to mop up the water on the floor after each shower! No wonder the ceilings are patched and about to fall down in the bathrooms!

The worst though was the fact that the maid stole some of our food/snacks that we had brought. Another lady staying there said some of her makeup was stolen from the bathroom vanity. We reported this to the front desk, but their reply was "Sorry about that". We kept anything valuable with us or in our car.

Also ordered a burger and fries from the little mexican restaurant. Took one bite and knew immediately the meat was spoiled. They wouldn't give me a refund, only let me order something else that was the same price.
Needless to say, we won't be staying here again. We would have moved to a different hotel, but it was race weekend at Talladega and this was not an option.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vintagesooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenwood, GA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel, Birmingham, AL airport. It was very convenient to the Birmingham Airport. The hotel staff was nice, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable. The elevators were a bit outdated, but it worked fine. If I have to go Birmingham again, I would definitely stay at this hotel. The price was very reasonable too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROWM2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had to stay overnight in Birmingham, so we booked this hotel because if was near BHM Airport. We came in late, but the shuttle van was prompt in picking us up. The hotel was a Mexican restaurant and they accommodated us, even though it was closing time when we arrived. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was cold and left a lot to be desired, but overall, and nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The airport parking service offered at Clarion is excellent! The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I have never used their service before until last week. I would use them again next time I go out of town and would highly recommend them to my family members and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

.Stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Birmingham. We found it very well kept, clean and the staff was very accommodating. Its location is very convenient to the airport with easy access to I 20. Price was very reasonable for the amenities available. Bar and restaurant are on site. We will definitely use this hotel on future trips to Birmingham.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeitup12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Fultondale
Days Inn Fultondale
#1 of 7 in Fultondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#44 of 80 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
8.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Birmingham Highway 280
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Airport

Property: Ramada Birmingham Airport
Address: 5216 Messer Airport Hwy, Birmingham, AL 35212-3033 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Birmingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full-service Ramada Birmingham Airport hotel offers the option to park your car with us when you leave from Birmingham, Alabama Airport. We have meeting space available for special events and we are nearby Birmingham attractions such as Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex, Kelly Ingram Park and Birmingham Botanical Gardens, as well as businesses including Pinson Valley Chevron, American Tower, Harbert Management, Burch Corporation, and Energen. Our non-smoking hotel has 196 expertly appointed guest rooms with free WiFi, coffee facilities, work-space, flat-screen HDTV, microwave, mini-fridge and mini bar. In your spare time, get energized with a workout at our well-equipped fitness center or stay productive at our business center. Book your guest room today to discover the many reasons we are a top choice of hotels in Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing