We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay - Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay - Great location”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Went for a girlfriend weekend with my beautiful daughter and attended the Joyce Meyer Conference. The Experience at the Hyatt was phenomenal. The staff was warm, welcoming, friendly and VERY accommodating. They even went so far as to intentionally put us in a room away from the little boys' group that was there at the same time. The food at Merck's was SO good - i couldn't believe it - and I am very discriminating. The room was large, well done, comfy, and super clean. Don't love paying for parking or internet but that is pretty much the standard these days. Location was close to lots of shopping (which we did check out!) and restaurants; easy access to the highways and I never heard a bit of traffic. Fabulous overall!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmolock1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your great review of the newly renovated Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. Our entire team truly appreciates your feedback. We have shared your comments with all of our Team Members. Thank you for your comments and thank you for your business.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    222
    88
    52
    26
See reviews for
186
145
27
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spent 3 wonderful nights in a clean well appointed room in Birmingham. Excellent job by front desk manager, "Leon" and his staff. Always helpful and thanks for the comp "Regency Club" pass when I learned to say "Roll Tide" instead of "Boiler Up" & "Go Blue".
There are minimal charge for secure parking and internet access, but worth it.
Breakfast buffet at Merks is a great value to start off your day. You can always walk a little further to the Galleria Mall food court and find something else for you hunger pangs. Didn't take advantage of the "Shula2" steakhouse at this hotel, was alone but looks to be very first class eatery. Too bad the pool isn't heated, use some of that waste heat from your facility, it's spring time and everyone has summer fever.
This is the place to stay in B'ham. And PRICELINE got me a hell of a price.

Room Tip: 11th floor was great and PRICELINE hit it out of the park, it pays to go low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USMMA76_CaptMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. Your feedback is crucial and will be shared with our entire team. I am thrilled that you had a fantastic stay and wrote so favorably of the Hotel. Our entire team works diligently to exceed our guest’s expectations, I am excited that in your case we did. Your business is important to me.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee Village, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Yea, it's a nice hotel and it's connected to the mall and it has Shula's downstairs (perhaps the best steak in town), but it isn't a five star hotel although it may be squeezing four out due to it being in Birmingham. It was clean, the parking was effortless and friendly, the staff was attentive, and the rooms were better than average. But, they were average. Average in size, average in arrangement, and average in that they were like any other experience. But, it was clean, it had been updated, and it is just a few steps to the mall. Don't misunderstand, this is a very nice place, in a nice area, with nice people....it isn't, though, an ultimate experience but rather a place to shop and have a good meal.

Room Tip: When asking for a "quiet" room, be sure and underline for them that quiet doesn't mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachatthedoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay @ Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. Your comments are very helpful. Although we seemed to meet your expectations it did not appear that we exceeded them. We work diligently to exceed all of our guest’s expectations, but in your case fell a bit short. We believe that we have a great hotel, with great people in a great location. I am sorry that you feel the hotel was just an average experience. I respect your feedback and assure you that we will work on ways of enhancing the experience moving forward. Thank you for your time and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My family and I stayed here last week and I must say the hotel has come a long way since the dingy state it was in. The last time we stayed here was in 2009. The convenience of having the hotel attached to the River-chase Galleria mall was really good but back then, the rooms were absolutely old and horrible so we decided that it was better to stay at a nice hotel and drive to the mall.

Well, we decided to give the hotel another try when we saw that it has been renovated by Hyatt. The room we stayed in was really nice and clean. I would have loved if housekeeping tried to vacuum our floor and washed the toilet when they came to 'clean' the room.

However, the TV channel line-up is a complete joke. Really Hyatt Regency, really. Millions of dollars for the renovation and you guys could not do better with the channel line-up????????
Overall, I'm glad we gave it another try, lets hope they can keep it up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of your most recent stay @ Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. I am pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. The renovation of the hotel made a big difference, we are excited of the outcome. I understand your comments about the television line-up. This is in the process of being resolved. The renovation included a new line-up with significant more offerings all in HD. This has not occurred you due to some legal issues that have just been resolved. We expect to have an enhanced channel offerings mostly in HD within the next 45-60 days. Thank you for your comments and for your business. Please think of us again on your next trip to the Birmingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Wynfrey is back. They have now partnered with Hyatt and finished a multi million dollar remodel. The hotel has returned to its luxury roots. Located attached to the Riverchase Galleria and really close to several popular restaurants including Shulas. They have also added a more casual sports bar that is fun. The executive lounge is amazing, always has nice refreshments at night and a very nice breakfast in the morning. The rooms have a nice modern feel to them and the staff gives great service. Whenever i'm in Hoover, I like to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the club floor so you have access to the executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyjoegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay @ Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. I am glad that you love our newly renovated hotel. We are very proud of the renovations and the many changes that have been made. Please think of us when your travel plans being you back to the area. Your feedback and your business are very important to me. Thank you for both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haleyville
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here a few months ago and was very displeased. Decided to try again and I must say it was a great experience. Rooms very clean, love the remodeling! Service great also! I'm so glad we decided to give it a try again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odieb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review of your most recent stay @ Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. The recent renovations truly came out spectacular. Thank you for thinking of us and giving the Hotel another opportunity. Our staff works very hard @ exceeding all of our guest’s expectations, I am glad that we did not let you down. Both your business and your feedback are very important to me, thank you for both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Six of us had reservations last week for a conference. We called to reserve the shuttle from the airport to the Wynfrey before we left home . We also called from the airport but it never showed. We then called a taxi service, Birmingham Door-to-Door, and they got us to the hotel via a van for $100. We discussed our problem with Leon Seals, the guest services manager. Upon checking into the situation he refunded our out of pocket transportation cost by applying it to our next days costs. It was a good customer service recovery! The staff was very helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. I am truly sorry that we failed to pick you and your party up on our airport shuttle. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. I am glad that Leon took action and handled the situation to your satisfaction. I will investigate with Leon to see what occurred and how the shuttle was missed. I am excited to hear that all else with you stay was to your liking. Thank you for your review and for y our business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
9.6 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
6.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#25 of 79 in Birmingham
434 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
9.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Address: 1000 Riverchase Galleria, Birmingham, AL 35244-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Regency Birmingham – The Wynfrey Hotel; a $20 million dollar renovation with untouched southern hospitality. The transformation includes all guestrooms, meeting space, Regency Club Lounge, public space, and food & beverage outlets. The hotel now offers 329 modern guestrooms with features and amenities that allow for a convenient and comfortable stay. Each guest room has the Hyatt Grand bed, an in-room safe, 42" flat panel TV and a mini fridge. All 32,000 square feet of meeting and event space, including the Wynfrey Ballroom and over 22 meeting rooms, have been elegantly appointed with contemporary updates. A revitalized sense of arrival with an updated lobby coupled with a new restaurant, Merk’s Tavern and Kitchen, and a Hyatt StayFit fitness center, will complement the time-honored southern hospitality that awaits you at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynfrey Hotel Birmingham Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing