We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No water, smells awful, big ripoff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No water, smells awful, big ripoff!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

When reservation was made, we were told we had a double queen room. At check-in we were given two double beds. The beds were awful, the room smelled as if they were trying to cover up smke smell. Our son broke out w/horrible hives, which he's never had. My hisband had to go out foe Benadryl at 3:30. During that same son's shower the water stopped so he couldn't fonish & my hisband didn't get a shower. After an awful night and complaining we still had to pay the $10 parking fee & were given Hyatt points? Gee, thanks...Never Again!!! This place is the poorest excuse for a so-called upscale hotel. Thanks for adding points to our rewards cards for the miserable night, and for ripping us off for $170!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasWildcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyPeters, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Kansas Wildcat;

We appreciate your comments and apologize that your experience was not satisfactory. I apologize that you room had issues with past smoke smell from cigarettes and that the water pressure had an issue during your stay. I worked both the 4th and 5th of July and am sorry that you didn't get a chance to meet me in person to discuss your issues and allow us an opportunity to fix them while you were here. As we were very slow over the 4th of July we asked our Pest company to inspect all the rooms occupied on this date and could not find any problems that would have caused hives, I can only summize they had some type of allergic reaction to the detergents we use.

Again, our sincere apology.

Andy Peters
General Manager and the team members of the Hyatt Regency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    191
    78
    42
    22
See reviews for
161
129
23
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stay at the Wynfrey/Hyatt several times a year and have never been disappointed. The entire staff is always friendly and helpful. Our last visit was no exception. The newly redecorated rooms are modern and absolutely beautiful, spacious, and spotless. It's obvious that the staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service in a comfortable, relaxed setting. Room service is quick, and the food is delicious, but Shula's steak restaurant in the lobby is fabulous! A few steps from the hotel lobby is the Riverchase Galleria.......perfect for a day of shopping before relaxing with a great dinner and a restful night's sleep. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnolia10-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyPeters, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
To our guests from Atlanta, Georgia:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. We appreciate your recognizing that the team members of the hotel provide good service and warm hospitality. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated guest rooms along with the nice steak at Shula's Steak House.

We appreciate your business and look forward to hosting you again when your travels bring you back to our area.

Andy Peters
General Manager and the team members of the Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylacauga, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have stayed at The Wynfrey several times in the past few years. Have always had an enjoyable stay. Rooms clean, mattresses very comfortable & temperature control never a problem. A great place to stay.
We stayed there for a Father's Day treat. Shulas was great as always! The staff at the front desk was more than friendly and very accommodating. The newly decorated rooms were really pretty!
With that being said, the new mattresses were really hard! Not comfortable at all. A new feature in the rooms, motion controlled thermostat on the AC! I guess it is a good thing for when you are not in the room as far as saving energy! But, when I go to bed at night I want to be cool & comfy! With this new feature, as soon as you lay down and get still, the AC goes off! Our room never went below 74 degrees after we went to bed! Not a good thing!!! During the times we were up & moving, things were good, but you couldn't get still & still be cool! Oh well, modern technology.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not have a motion sensitive AC thermostat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodrow35150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyPeters, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
To our guests from Sylacauga;

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your commending of and recognizing our team for their service and friendliness. I do apologize that you did not like the new Hyatt Grand Bed that we installed as well as the new HVAC units. Our older heating and air conditioning systems had completely reached the end of their life cycle. Realizing that beds are a very personal thing and everyone has a different opinion of beds, we have been getting very nice comments on the Hyatt Grand Bed that has been installed in each room.

I am glad to know you enjoyed your experience in Shula's, we are proud of our service levels.

Again, our apology that you did not enjoy stay as much as in the past before the renovation.

Andy Peters
General Manager and the team members of the Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
9.6 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
6.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
9.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Address: 1000 Riverchase Galleria, Birmingham, AL 35244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Regency Birmingham – The Wynfrey Hotel; a $20 million dollar renovation with untouched southern hospitality. The transformation includes all guestrooms, meeting space, Regency Club Lounge, public space, and food & beverage outlets. Home of Shula's Steak House, the hotel now offers 329 modern guestrooms with features and amenities that allow for a convenient and comfortable stay. Each guest room has the Hyatt Grand bed, an in-room safe, 42" flat panel TV and a mini fridge. All 32,000 square feet of meeting and event space, including the Wynfrey Ballroom and over 22 meeting rooms, have been elegantly appointed with contemporary updates. A revitalized sense of arrival with an updated lobby coupled with a new restaurant, Merk’s Tavern and Kitchen, and a Hyatt StayFit fitness center, will complement the time-honored southern hospitality that awaits you at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynfrey Hotel Birmingham Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing