We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Southern Museum of Flight
Ranked #17 of 93 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An aircraft hangar museum with exhibits of authentic old airplanes.
Balti, Moldova
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Not that big but interesting history. Not crowded. Several good flight simulators for 12 and older. Clean and neat. The town area around looked run down but that was interesting too. I would place it higher on the Birmingham attractions list.

If you have a local Science Museum membership part of The Association of Science-Technology Centers (ASTC) then you could get free access here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sustav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    45
    14
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something for everyone ”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We are a family with children ranging from 13 years old down to 17 months. There is so much to soak in at this museum. Take your time & look at everything twice. Make sure to let the kids get into the planes that are available. My kids enjoyed that so much! Also, there are a few planes outside in a fenced area. If you have some wiggle worms with ants in their pants, this is the area they can run around in. Lastly, if you have bigger kids, there is a scavenger hunt you can get at the front desk. I would suggest completing it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mommilew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

If you love airplanes and aviation, you will love this place. Well off the beaten path, but worth the trip. Great place to take a group of kids. The staff is outstanding and there are a lot of hands-on exhibits.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DocJon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Enjoyable aviation museum that has both military and civilian aircraft”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The exhibits are very well done; I applaud the efforts of the staff and those individuals who have restored the aircraft and built/maintained the exhibits but I would rate this museum as average since I am a little jaded after touring the Pensacola Naval Aviation Museum and the New Orleans WW II Museum. To address a previous reviewer's comments - yes the museum is off the beaten path and is in a relatively low-rent neighborhood but I would not say that it is in a bad neighborhood. There is no fee for parking and the admission fee for adults is $7.00 (check the museum's website for current prices). It took me 2 1/2 -3 hours to make my way through the museum (reading approximately 50-75 % of the information placards). There were four military aircraft outside and multiple very well-restored aircraft inside: early development of aviation (four); WW II trainers (three); Korean War (2); Vietnam War (2); Soviet Mi-24 Hind-D helicopter (circa early 1990s Soviet-Afghanistan war); small civilian aircraft (approximately 20); and approximately 18 aircraft engines. There are also several scale models of WW II naval vessels and dioramas of aircraft/support activities. The day I visited, there was a tour group of local school children that was conducted by an Air Force Officer (I think this was a regular occurrence). There is also a hall dedicated to artwork depicting the CIAs role in aviation throughout the years. Finally, there is a small gift shop located at the entrance to the museum.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank raj0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very interesting place to go learn about aviation! In bad part of town, so probably won't take the kids again. That is the only drawback. We learned so much and the kids enjoyed it as well! Have to go at least once!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwinTennisMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Museum of Flight also viewed

 

Been to Southern Museum of Flight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing