We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ample, convenient parking”
Review of Kelly Ingram Park

Kelly Ingram Park
Ranked #14 of 93 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to vivid sculptures of the Children's Crusade.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ample, convenient parking”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ample, convenient parking, and easy to access. This is a park designed to tell a story, and the statues along with their placement tell this story adequately.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rchrisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    62
    11
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Out for a walk, we came across this park and were deeply impacted by the sculpture and informational signs depicting the horrors related to the Children's March and other events in Birmingham during the Civil Rights era. We regrettably could not return when the museum opened, or would have spent time there as well. Made what I had learned from the history books much more real, as it put human faces on the hatred as well as on the courageous.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SCR-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A walk through horror”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I'm a historian. So I enjoyed my visit to the Kelly Ingram Park. I say enjoyed as history is my passion. But really it is a reminder of hateful people. As I strolled around taking pictures I found that the art really brought out the experience. How horrible. When I came to the two children preparing to be hit with high water cannons, my heart sank. How brave these children were. How could any human do this? The only thought I had is hate. What this poor town went through for their fight for freedom. An man came over to me and showed me where the best shot was for the sculpture. I looked through my lens and hesitated - I saw terror. Taking pictures didn't matter anymore. I stood in prayer for a moment, then turned to the old fellow who showed me where to stand for my picture and gave him $10. I ask him, did you witness this? And he replied yes. I gave him a big hug and said bless you, he said bless you back. He turned as is he really didn't want to speak of it, slowly walked back to his bench and smiled and told me to go have a good time. He reminded me of my grandfather (RIP). I gave him a gentle smile back and told him to take care of himself. I think that moment was my favorite moment of my whole trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WorryFreePhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Walk the Footsteps of History”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Follow the marked route and stop at statues depicting scenes from the Civil Rights Movement. What an incredible experience to walk in the footsteps of all the brave people who marched to make life better for themselves and the world. There was a beautiful fountain also. Plenty of places to sit and reflect on the events that occurred there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dporcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is beautiful. Love all the information/ history statues all through it. Landscape is gorgeous. Love the waterfall, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly Ingram Park also viewed

 

Been to Kelly Ingram Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing