We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Civil Rights Education Available!”

Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
Ranked #2 of 90 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic museum traces the journey of the civil rights advocates of the 1950s and 60s, who changed the course of American history. The struggle for equality for Black Americans is chronicled here, from the Jim Crow laws in the 1800s to the freedom rides, sit-ins and demonstrations of the 1960s.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
683 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Best Civil Rights Education Available!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

MLK Jr. B-Day, 2014 we drove down from Huntsville to do something special and educate ourselves. Upon arrival we found that many many others had the same idea, the place was growing an ever lengthening line. It turns out this day marked their new policy to be open for business on Mondays. It was also free of charge but with donations requested. Normally admission would have cost us $12 per person. I urge all travelers passing through Birmingham to stop in and learn, I rate it over the US Space and Rocket Museum in Huntsville in terms of historical significance to not just Alabama but the entire U.S. There was so much that I didn't know before my visit. The only area I found uninteresting was the art gallery of paintings and sculptures for sale, it simply wasn't anything I found visibly stimulating. I recommend this to all families who want to get through to their kids the impact that textbooks lack. This place is powerful. I found myself getting choked up over and over.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kkibby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    146
    20
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
235 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A Moving Tribute to City's Role in Civil Rights”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Do yourself a favor and go, if for no other reason to remind yourself of the heroic struggles of many to achieve racial progress in this country. Museum is nicely laid out with quality exhibits.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Galooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Birmingham Civil Rights Institute is an awesome place for everyone, of every age group to visit. There are exhibits that offer visitors an insight on the history of civil rights with news clips, videos, realistic statues, etc that show some of the struggles and triumphs during the civil rights movement.
I HIGHLY recommend travelers, visitors, students, and everyone to visit the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank frugaldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I hate museums. I loved this place. I'd have to say this is one of my top 2 museums ever (other being the one in Memphis, coincidentally both Civil Rights museums!).

The displays are really well done, and a picture speaks 1,000 words. it's amazing that just 60 years ago people felt it acceptable to behave this way, treat people as inhuman, kill, fight, repress. I'm not saying we don't have a ways to go, but to think that this was not "abnormal" to see blacks as 2nd class "citizens" blows my mind. I wasn't alive then but my parents were teenagers then (in the north, so they didn't see this type of violence). Whether you're white, black, or other, it's hard not to get choked up in this museum, thinking what one race did to another and how cruel people can be.

This is one of the places in this country that I believe EVERYONE should see.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rustymambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were very impressed at the level of detail and information provided about the Civil Rights Era. It was set up like one long hallway timeline, which was nice because there was plenty to read on both sides of the wall, as well as interactive devices, videos, pictures, and more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 17jwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Civil Rights Institute also viewed

 

Been to Birmingham Civil Rights Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing