We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food ~ Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surin West

Surin West
Ranked #22 of 936 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Food ~ Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Party of three ate at the Surin West location March 2 and enjoyed the menu and atmosphere! Sat at a table next to the street and watched street person trying to haggle money from couple walking by giving the woman a rose ... interesting to watch. We tried varied items and the crab angels as appetizer were good too! Asked for extra spicy sauce (aka bang bang sauce) and wait staff unaware of what we were talking about so just asked for a peanut sauce. Overall, good food and reasonable prices ~ we would go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    105
    35
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The most amazing Thai ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! My husband and I try to visit at least six times a year. Very budget friendly! You get tons of food for a very reasonable price and the best thing is that the food is amazing!!!! The spicy beef salad is to die for and the Pad Thai is great too. If you do appetizers the spring rolls are great as is the larb. Sushi is fresh and delicious. Made with the best seafood. This is definitely a must do! There are two in Birmingham and another in Atlanta. I think there is one somewhere in Mississippi as well. Try it! You will not be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Akaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice change from BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Of course Birmingham has great barbecue and no shortage of places to eat traditional southern dishes. But I was pleasantly surprised to find a really good Thai restaurant in Birmingham! Thai food was a nice change after a weekend of local traditional favorites. The menu has a nice variety of choices and dishes were prepared fresh with excellent flavor. The server was helpful on making recommendations and the atmsospehere is trendy "warehouse remodel look" but the acoustics were fine for table conversation. Portion sizes are moderate which I appreciated and took advantage to try appetizers, soup and an entree. I wish this was in my hometown and would definitely go back when in Birmingham again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MMJCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food is very good. I have eaten in Birmingham but not in Atlanta where I live. Interesting people to watch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank goodfoodjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hometown favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you come to Birmingham, come to this restaurant. My family is crazy for it and eat here almost every week. The sushi is great, spicy coconut soup is out of this world, and of course pad Thai is always someone's favorite. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Icanseeclearlyn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surin West also viewed

 

Been to Surin West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing