We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Charm at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Southern Charm at it's best”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel one night in April 2014. When we approched the hotel drive up, it was obvious old charm, but when I went inside the lobby I felt like I was back in Savannah laying under the weeping trees, but with a little contemporay flair. My stay was very nice and cozy. I had no annoyances at all, and to our suprise, we were right within walking distance from our convention spot which was great. However, I must mention that your only option for parking is valet. I really don't like paying for valet parking and that's definately something I would suggest they get rid of. OVERALL EXPERIENCE WAS REALLY GOOD.

Room Tip: My room was very quiet on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilohmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. We were delighted to have you as our guest and pleased you enjoyed your overall stay in our conveniently placed historic hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    270
    64
    30
    14
See reviews for
280
251
46
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a beautifully restored historical hotel. The accommodations were delightful. Depending on where your room is located you may look down and observe a wedding in progress. This location is within walking distance of several attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. We were delighted to have you as our guest and pleased you enjoyed your stay in our historic hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, NM, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel has a great staff and a great location. The hotel is 100 years old. The hallways are wide. The lobby was large and full of history and southern flavor The hotel is historical, been around a good while, and they have done a good job of giving you a taste of where you are and a sense of those that have been there before you. My room was large and the whole place was just comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kenton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel location and great staff contributed to the success of your stay. We look forward to your return so that you may enjoy another great stay here at the Tutwiler Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building. But it lacks the grandeur, it could easily have had. Personel is friendly but with a distance. This building is more than a workingspace. The rooms are good. The bed was great. No complaints whatsoever. The hotel just misses that little extra. The bartender was the great exeption. We shared our memories on 9/11. He really gave us the feeling of being in a friends' place. Thank you. And very important the food was really good. Nice crabcakes and a nicely grilled fish.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank michieldekoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I chose to stay at this Hampton Inn Downtown in Birmingham Alabama. Its called the Tutwiler. Great place in a nice part of downtown. Historic type building. Beautiful. Stayed here one night while at a TKD tournament at the Jeffereson Center within walking distance. Continental Breakfast was great. The workers at the facility were very friendly and the rooms were absolutely nice.....and just what you would suspect coming from a Hampton Inn overnight stay. would suggest this location as a perfect stay if you are in need of being in downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

While the historic hotel is delightful to stay in, the service was less than satisfactory.

I was surprised that upon arriving the bellman did not help with our bags, but simply pointed to a luggage cart for us to use. Additionally, trying to get their help calling a cab or suggesting any restaurants was difficult. The service was extremely lacklustre. Perhaps the self-service is a Hampton Inn trait? I have not previously stayed at any of their hotels.

We had a nice large room with an adjacent sitting area, however the ventilation was such that we could hear everything in the room next-door, conversations and music.

I am sure it is one of the nicer hotels in the area, but I just wish that their employees seemed to care a little bit more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEMcJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to make an apology for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will use the comment you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an excellent experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect KY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while driving down to New Orleans. The hotel is right off of I-65 in Birmingham. The hotel is a historical hotel under the Hilton umbrella. Nice entrance with bell hops. The room was a suite with a pull out couch and 3 Queen beds. 3 Moms and 3 11 year old girls were very comfortable. Beds and sleeper sofa were all comfortable. Breakfast was typical Hampton breakfast. I did happen to see a King Size bed room and it was nicely appointed but a bit small. This is a Hampton with charm! We did have dinner at the Silvertron Café which was 10 minutes away. And that was great local café, great food, large portions and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiflanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are so very delighted you had a wonderful experience here at The Tutwiler Hotel, our team members strive each day to make everyone feel welcomed! We certainly hope to see you again the next time you visit Birmingham!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.4 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#15 of 79 in Birmingham
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham with an audio-tour of the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Explore Birmingham's culinary scene from four-star restaurants to the popular Southern meal known as "meat and three." Century Restaurant and Lounge located in the hotel lobby serves southern and gourmet classics. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. Visit the McWane Science Center, a four-story interactive museum with IMAX theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing