We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very elegant on the surface...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you were given a tour of the hotel, you would say this was an excellent place to stay. It's in a nice part of town, the lobby and hallways were very beautifully decorated and clean. The room I stayed in, however, had several cleanliness issues that an inspection should have caught before allowing a guest to check into the room. Soap scum and dust were both found in the room in more than one place. My wife and I went out for drinks the night we stayed there and when we arrived back at the hotel, we saw several glasses from the bar laying around the lobby...which in itself isn't bad. However, when we left the hotel after 11AM, those same glasses were still there over 8 hours after we noticed them on the way in the night before.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cadence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you Cadence S so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize for the cleanness issues in your room that you incurred during your stay. I understand the inconvenience that can be caused and I am sorry that we failed to provide you with an outstanding stay and service. I will be sure to show this review to my Housekeeping team to make sure this incident never occurs again. We take great pride in our hotel and try to maintain a high level of excellent service and cleanliness. I hope that next time you are in the area you will be able to stop by and see us again. I would love the chance to redeem ourselves from your previous experience. Thank you so much for staying at the Tutwiler Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a Birmingham icon. I stayed on the hotel's 100th birthday! The hotel's staff was superb all around from the moment i arrived at the valet to when I left the hotel. I never met a staff member who wasn't willing to go the extra mile for you no matter how big or small your request was. The hotel has a restaurant called Century which is appropriate since the hotel is 100 years old. The food was great and perfect for any person traveling on business or leisure. The hotel offers room service as well which is a nice touch if you don't want eat in Century. My room was awesome. The beds were very comfortable! Each room has charging stations for laptops in every room! The bathrooms were clean. The housekeeping staff does a great job making sure the rooms are above hilton-Hampton standards. The hotel is centrally located to the Alabama Civil rights museum, the Railroad park, and UAB! The hotel offers an airport shuttle also. This hotel has everything you need for your stay! My check in process was quick and seamless. The staff is very knowledgable about the metro-area! This hotel is just awesome for anyone! Everyone from the general manager to the valet were superb! I'll definitely be back when I stay in Birmingahm! GREAT STAY IN B'HAM!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank globaljetsetter1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

We very much appreciate and value your comment and will share it with the all the staff. Your response will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide and superb experience for our guest. It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback and we look forward to serving you again the next time you are visiting Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Hotel and room was wonderful. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Close to restaurants and shopping. Also close to and within walking distance of the Convention Center. Valet parking if needed available. Beautiful sitting rooms. There was also 2 weddings while we were there, so they can accommodate that also. We would go back and stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you, Linda P for your awesome comments. We do appreciate it. We work hard, daily, to bring cleanliness and friendliness to each guest. Thank you for the recommendation and please come back the next time you are in Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

In town for Antiques Roadshow and needed to be close to the BJCC. The hotel was an excellent choice. We had a great room and the staff was great. The shuttle service took us to the Alabama Theater for a reception and retrieved us perfectly. Outstanding stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that the Tutwiler Hotel was an excellent choice and we thank you for having chosen the Tutwiler for your stay. Our staff makes a difference and this is something that we strive for, making sure that the guest is taken care of from check-in time throughout their stay to their departure.
We thank you once again for your time and look forward to greeting you once again at The Tutwiler Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Highly recommend staying at this historic hotel. The only negative I could list is the parking situation (or lack thereof). Regardless of which, this will be where I stay any time I visit Birmingham in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking time out of your day to let us know! We look forward to having you as our guest next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This property is one of the "JEWELS" of the Hilton brand of hotels and resorts!! the staff here really defined the "words"- Customer Service!! If you are ever in Birmingham, AL this "IS" the place to stay!! Trust me.... You will be glad You did!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for such a positive review. I am glad to hear that you enjoy our property and consider us the best. Thank you for rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. We offer a great service so our customers can feel like they’re at home when they stay with us. I will happily share your kind words with the rest of the team and hope to see you next year for the Steel City Jazz Festival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great staff, Great stay and location. The Complimentary ride to the restaurant and breakfast in the hotel was great. Great staff, Great stay and location. The Complimentary ride to the restaurant and breakfast in the hotel was great

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank vernadah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at the Tutwiler Hotel. Our hotel is entirely committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours.
Once again the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#16 of 80 in Birmingham
448 reviews
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $132 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham by viewing the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing