We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, United States
1 review
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very Clean historical hotel, great center of downtown location, nice bar, patio, and restaurant facilities, close to other entertainment, valet service great, complimentary breakfast good, would stay again no problems.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you Donald H for taking the time let us know how we are doing. We take pride is making our guests experience an enjoyable one. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, the On the House complimentary breakfast and the in-house full bar and restaurant. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tutwiler Hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    254
    61
    28
    11
See reviews for
250
223
41
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights on a business trip. Loved bring in an historic place. The room was spacious, everything worked, wifi etc. wish they had an exercise room but...they don't. I flew in and airport pickup was quick and courteous, as was the drop off. The area is commercial & this quiet to the point of deserted on the weekend.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theologator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Theologator - Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am glad to read that you were pleased with your stay and friendliness of our staff. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the entire team. I did want to clarify that we do have a fitness facility in our hotel that is accessible with your guest room key on our newly renovated 8th floor. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Cool architecture in a neat area of downtown BHM. Nice enough place to stay if you are going through this area and the rates are reasonable. BUT...the first interaction is scouring the area trying to figure out where the parking area is... well hidden. I guess they want to keep it a BHM secret. Then the staff informs that this postage stamp parking lot comes with a $19 a night valet... no self park. The rooms are nicely laid out and clean. Problem is that the windows are painted closed from years and too many coats of paint. This wouldn't be bad if the AC was sized large enough. Had a hard time getting the humidity down in April.. No way I'd try to stay here in the heat of the summer...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Tutwiler Hotel and for taking the time to share with us your experience and concerns. In reference to our valet service, due to our premier downtown location, parking is limited. We find our highly trained valet staff and service to be a great help to our guests.. I apologize about that fact that the windows in our rooms do not open. This is purely down due to the historic design of the building. Next time you are in town may I suggest booking one of our King balcony suites they offer French doors that lead on to a lovely balcony.
I will be sure to pass along your positive comments regarding the service you received to our staff as I know they appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
205 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Was in town for two night for a trade show at the BJCC. It is an older building but the hotel is very well keep. Very clean, everyone very courteous and was very comfy. Room was very large, very clean, the bed was excellent. Breakfast was in the 8th floor and very typical for Hampton Inn (very good). THe fitness room is also in the 8th floor, has free weight, a couple of treadmills, a couple of eliptical machines and a stationary bycle.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you Bernd S for sharing your feedback on your most recent business trip. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time and with us and that you found the hotel, service, staff and surrounding neighborhood to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Tutwiler in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is my second trip to Birmingham, and my second stay at the Tutweiler. I couldn't ask for a better hotel. It is convenient to where I needed to be and was exactly what I needed: clean, comfortable, with reliable Wi-Fi. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much Christopher P for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and were able to enjoy many of the Tutwiler’s amenities. We are in the process of planning our centennial celebration later this year and I would love to invite you back for a third stay. We look forward to having you back to visit our Hotel! Thanks for being a great guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went to this hotel, just because we found it on a haunted hotel website. The staff was friendly when we arrived. We asked for the most haunted room, but it wasn't available, so they put us next door to it. We explored the hotel without incident, but that night... We had overlapped the curtains before going to bed. Sometime during the night the curtains opened, and for some reason there was a shift in the atmosphere or something, because I was just awake enough to see the curtains open. It was exciting because the spirit didn't feel like a bad one. Ok, about the hotel. The beds were comfortable. The hotel seemed clean. I didn't really inspect everything. It's a little older, but of course, it's an old hotel. That's its charm. I love the place, and I'd go back.

Room Tip: If you are looking for haunted adventures, you have to request haunted rooms. They won't know u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Tutwiler Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the historic merit of the building. We are also thrilled that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff to be courteous; we know these are both important aspects of hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Unlike most Hampton Inns this is a refurbished older hotel, clean, beautiful and conveniently located. I would definitely stay here again. Breakfast is upstairs, so don't go to the lobby like I did! I can't believe the review has to be a minimum of 200 characters...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you Patricia S for the kind words! We love our conveniently placed location. Our staff works very hard to make sure every guest is 100 percent satisfied; I will gladly pass along the compliments!
Again thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to easily locate the hotel. We would be honored to have the opportunity to accommodate you again when visiting the Birmingham area- Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#16 of 79 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
3.0 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Mountain Brook, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham with an audio-tour of the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Explore Birmingham's culinary scene from four-star restaurants to the popular Southern meal known as "meat and three." Century Restaurant and Lounge located in the hotel lobby serves southern and gourmet classics. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. Visit the McWane Science Center, a four-story interactive museum with IMAX theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing