We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistently Great!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inconsistently Great!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed at this property dozens of times. Having a rich history and a European feel to it along with it. At times the service is up and down depending on management changes. It always had a local vibe to it years ago but has become somewhat "corporate". The one thing I always liked was they have excellent amenities without the "corporate" feel that many hotel chains instill for their clients. It is centrally located and Birmingham is a charming place early in the morning if you are inclined to stroll through parts of downtown Birmingham.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    264
    63
    29
    14
See reviews for
275
246
43
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our stay at this Hampton Inn was a great and fun stay. We truly enjoyed our stay and looking forward to our next visit. ACCOLADES to the staff for making a visit a wonderful and remembable experience. The property was Absolutely remarkable and beautiful....truly awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Built as a large apartment block in 1914, the Tutwiler is a handsome, well looked after Georgian Revival building. Front desk and valet parking staff were very pleasant and helpful. The guest room (a Hilton Honors upgrade) was quite nice: a modest-sized sitting room and a separate, much larger corner bedroom overlooking the Birmingham Public Library. Each room has oversized triple windows overlooking large street trees. Though the streets were quite wide and busy at rush hours, the room was always quiet. Furnishings were Georgian style adaptations, nothing exceptional, but fitting for the building and in crisp condition. Housekeeping was of a high standard in public spaces and the guest room.

More as an observation than a complaint, the hotel seems better than its Hampton Inn branding. A modest improvement on some of the amenities (toiletries, the lack of a room safe) and the 8th floor breakfast could make for an experience more in line with the historic architecture. Breakfast is served on the top floor, or rather there for the taking, with paper plates and plastic knives and forks a let-down but maybe in line with Hampton properties? Simply having someone on hand to greet guest as they arrive and investing in a bit of dishwashing would make a world of difference; as it is, it seemed as though we'd wandered inadvertently into someone's corporate meeting rooms.

The hotel is quite well located. Valet parking is convenient and very reasonably priced. There is a shuttle service to the Five Points area.

All told, a fine property, but one that's maybe hampered by Hilton's Hampton Inn brand identity. With a bit of leeway and a few very minor changes, it could be a fine hotel start to finish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel was old and musty smelling. The minute we stepped off the elevator the musty stench was very strong and when we unlocked the door to our room it was even worse. The blinds were dirty. The carpet was old, very worn and also dirty. The accommodations at this Hampton are far below what we have come to expect from previous stays with Hampton Inns. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit to Birmingham.

If I can provide any assistance, do not hesitate to contact me directly at 205-322-2100.


Sincerely,

Roxanne Osborne
Director of Guest Services
The Historic Tutwiler Hotel- Hampton Inn & Suites
Roxanne.Osborne@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colquitt, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I recommend staying at the Hampton Inn and Suites Tutweiler in Birmingham, AL. It is right downtown and conveniently close to the hospital. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the price is fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank agriffin835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Location is central to UAB and the new Regions Park and the railroad park. Staff was friendly. The breakfast area felt like a Ritz-Carlton club lounge. The lounge attendants were nowhere to be found as they were too busy talking to each other and not engaging the guests. The front desk staff was very cordial and friendly. The room was cramped and small. Not much bang for your buck. Valet parking is a must since there is very little on street parking. The bar-lounge was a nice amenity to have for a business traveler such as myself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaljetsetter1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We traveled almost 500 miles, checked in late in the afternoon. We were immediately checked in to a very nice and clean suite. I requested Estandby upgrade and was able to obtain it at check-in for an outstanding rate! Our overall experience, the front desk, bell hop, breakfast was excellent. The frontdesk assisted us with logging on wifi and we had access during our two day stay. The hotel still has the old sign "Tutwiler" and wasn't sure if we were at the right hotel. Other than that, the location was quite convenient for us since we could walk 2-1/2 blocks to the convention center for an annual conference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.4 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#14 of 79 in Birmingham
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham with an audio-tour of the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Explore Birmingham's culinary scene from four-star restaurants to the popular Southern meal known as "meat and three." Century Restaurant and Lounge located in the hotel lobby serves southern and gourmet classics. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. Visit the McWane Science Center, a four-story interactive museum with IMAX theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing