We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant historic property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visit Birmingham at least 4 times/year and always stay at the Tutwiler. It is a lovely historic hotel that is extremely comfortable and unpretentious. I enjoy the free breakfast service and the location in the heart of downtown is excellent. This year we took advantage of the free hotel shuttle and rode down to the 5 points south area for dinner; and back. Even though we had driven and had our own transportation it was nice to relax and let them do the driving. And, did I say that the rooms are well appointed and very comfortable and relaxing...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is unlike any other Hampton Inn from an interior and exterior. Very unique. Staff were all very helpful. There is a bar and restaurant on site with a menu to satisfy someone who wants a light dinner or a heavier dinner. I will definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a very old building with small rooms, staff generally not helpful. Good breakfast was the only positive. Down feathers in pillows kept me awake all night sneezing. Clock outside room kept chiming on the hour and kept me awake all night long.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here on business for one night. I arrived late in the evening and found out that there is no food choices nearby after 9pm, luckily the hotel bar was still open to serve food. Turned out to be one of the best cheeseburgers I've had. The hotel itself was nice and the free breakfast was good. The room was big, but I could hear everything in the room next to mine. I used the business center to print some docs and had no problems. It was an adequate stay, and I'd stay here again. In the morning I asked the shuttle driver for a ride and he pointed to the building I was headed to and said "it's right there, it's a short walk". I don't think he understood that I didn't want to walk 6 blocks in a suit and carrying luggage when it's 90 degrees.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a2kNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We was in town on Business and this was the host hotel. Over all a good stay. We had good service from the staff. We used there shuttle service to the 5 point area eat, that was easy and nice. The valet guys and girls was friend and fast. The breakfast was ok. The only issues was the AC didn't work very well and they need new signs showing the drive way to the lobby, we drove by it 2 times.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firebear1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

When you have a reason to come to the Magic City for a stay, book your reservations at the historic Tutwiler Hotel. It it like stepping back in time, but with all of the modern amenities travelers demand. You won't be disappointed with the hospitable staff, valet parking service or restaurant either. And as always your breakfast is complementary and in this hotel it's on the eight floor!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I were extremely pleased with our stay at the Tutweiller/Hampton Inn. Everyone on staff - from the valets to the concierge desk to the restaurant staff - was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was quite nice, and we appreciated the turn of the century photographs of Birmingham that decorated the walls. We will definitely stay here during our next trip to Birmingham.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rsstoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#19 of 80 in Birmingham
451 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $130 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham by viewing the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing