We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time stay at SpringHill. Very nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
Ranked #34 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 3, 2009

First time staying at a SpringHill Suites. I enjoyed the room at this hotel. Room had a mini-fridge and sink with a sitting area in room. Very contemporary decor at this hotel. Something a little different than some properties.

Hotel located in a very nice area in SE Birmingham. Very close to Summit shopping area. Do need to know where this hotel is to find it. Not the easiest to spot off of I-459.

Stayed on a Saturday night. Lobby was happening when I arrived at almost 11 PM. Not sure if some type of function or family gathering was going on. Tons of activity and people out for 11.

Room was a little bigger than regular hotel room. Room was super clean. Flat panel TV with HD programming.

Free internet included with rate. Did have continental breakfast open until 10 in morning.

Will definitely look to stay at SpringHill again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milbs_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 279 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel twice in the past six months, and will stay there again this weekend. The lobby is contemporary and pleasant. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is actually served the entire time it should be. Some hotels just leave out some muffins and apples and when they're gone, they're gone. SpringHill offers muffins, fruit, bagels, toast, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, and even waffles for breakfast. The rooms are very nice. They are all suites, so you'll have a small seating area with a pull-out bed, two small tables and a desk with a nice desk chair. This area is separated by a half-wall from the bed area. The beds and pillows are comfortable, and the bathrooms are clean and roomy. The bed area has lamps and an overhead light with a dimmer that can be reached from the bed. The high-speed wireless internet works well and is easy to connect to, and each room has a large flat-screen TV that can swivel to face either the bed area or the living area. Rooms also have mini-fridges, microwaves, and a "kitchen" sink area. There is a nice pool in the back of the hotel, and the fitness room is great! There are elliptical machines, treadmills, weights, even a resistance machine where you can do all kinds of exercises. Also, each treadmill and elliptical machine has its own flat-screen TV mounted on it, so you can watch whatever you like while you're working out. The prices are great, too; we have paid about $100 a night each time we've stayed here. There is only one downside to this hotel: Highway 280. If you plan to stay here and leave or come back during rush hour,Hwy 280 (which you must take) can be a beast. Also, previous reviewers have complained of the noise from the highway. Personally, I've never noticed it at the hotel, but if you're a very light sleeper or very sensitive to noise, it might bother you. All in all, a great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhamianinhsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Great location. Perfect place for a stop-over. Shopping close by. Staff went above and beyond to be polite, and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momof3BrookPark_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

My two daughters and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to do a little shopping in Birmingham and were so pleased with these accommodations. We were able to secure an excellent rate for this hotel. The hotel is extremely clean and well taken care of. The rooms were spacious, and very comfortable. We had a room with 2 double beds which were very comfy. Each bed had nice soft sheets and four pillows. The breakfast in the mornings is a perfect seletion of cereals, oatmeal, fruit and waffles. The 24-hour coffee station was great. I loved that the hotel had the Wall Street Journal and USA Today available for reading. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the workout room even though it was small. The equipment was just fine. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.....but mostly a family or business traveler. It's location is very convenient to eating establishments and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappytravelerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Birmingham was my second stop on a 6 day roadtrip through the South. I am loyal to Marriott properties as I earn rewards through my credit card. I could not have chosen a better place to stay in Birmingham, as this hotel is so new and so very pretty.

The lobby area is decorated in a very colorful, modern style that I absolutely love. The rooms are decorated in similar tones of green and blue and really come together. Check in was fast and easy and the clerk was friendly.

The room is quite spacious, with a separate sitting/desk area, bedroom, kitchenette and bathroom. The small touches, like an iHome alarm clock, were really nice. The flatscreen TV is large and swivels so you can view from bed or the sitting area, the bed exceptionally comfortable, the shower really great. The A/C works well, but predictably, the first half of the room doesn't get quite as cool. The only concern I had was that the pool looked like it needed a little bit of chemical servicing and sure enough, later that night they closed it for cleaning.

Breakfast and WiFi are included. Breakfast was pretty standard as far as morning carbohydrates go--cereals, fruit, pastries, toast, oatmeal, made-your-own waffles, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, juice and milk. I was there on a Tuesday morning and had no problem with the availability of anything around 8 AM.

The hotel is located close to several smaller shopping malls that include several local and chain restaurants. It was about 15-20 minutes away from downtown Birmingham, but the drive is beautiful so you don't really mind!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisoninaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

I have traveled 40 + weeks a year for more than 5 years. This is by far one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. You hear every room door close, every voice in the hallway, and it's situated right next to a busy highway (280) so you get that noise as a bonus. Been here three nights and maybe have gotten 6 hours of sleep over the trip. With all of the good quality, well constructed hotel choices in Birmingham, there is no reason to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvarga2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

It was quiet. It was clean. It was close to lots of things. It was up-to-date in styling. I didn't notice any wear on the furniture, walls, or carpet. Breakfast was good, and free. Wired and wireless internet was acceptably fast, and free. The rooms have a good layout and was very comfortable. Expect a refrigerator and microwave. The hot water was plentiful and instantly hot, no waiting around. Water pressure was strong. The mattress, pillows, and linens are extremely comfortable and I had an excellent nights sleep. The workout room was pretty good. But if it isn't good enough for you, Gold's Gym is within walking distance. The outdoor pool was somewhat small, but very clean and enjoyable. The front desk staff had great manners and was pleasant, efficient, and knowledgeable. The only downside was the "business center" was extremely small, and not easy to work at. But the 24-hour coffee in the lobby was hot and tasty.

I would stay here again. It is easy to get to just off the interstate, but set back far enough it is very quiet. It also very close to The Summit shopping mall, and several good restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odusseia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Perimeter Park
0.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#26 of 80 in Birmingham
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade

Address: 3950 Colonnade Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243-2382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $93 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Located near Birmingham International Airport, the convention center, Talladega Superspeedway and area attractions, SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade is ideal for corporate travel or fun weekend getaways. Our hotel located near downtown, offers complimentary breakfast buffet, free wireless Internet and a 24-hour food market, pool, and fitness center. Up to 25% more spacious than traditional hotel rooms, our hotel guest rooms feature separate eating and sleeping areas, microwave, refrigerator, and pull-out sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing