We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
Ranked #31 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location & value!”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I always stay in Marriott hotels but wasn't sure about Springhill. Maybe they should advertise more. Anyway, this hotel was great! It's in the middle of a nice business area, with great shopping close by and all the restaurants you could ever need. It's also really convenient for sports - - my kids play volleyball and soccer, so we'll be on the road a lot! The people in the hotel are really great, too. They took great care of us, even when my daughter spilled soda all over the lobby floor. I can see myself staying here for Talledega and maybe for Alabama games. There's plenty of room for the family. The place is clean and bright and the smiles everywhere were just as nice. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScSoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    83
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
92
43
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Liked the hotel, it was within walking distance to some nice restaurants; but, it was very difficult to locate it when we first got there. There are NO signs telling you where it is. Luckily, I had written down their phone number and was able to call them to get directions. We could see it; but, couldn't get over to it. You need to turn by the Hampton Inn off Colonnade and there it is. Don't stay there for the free breakfast though because chances are you won't get anything but cereal if you aren't there early. Nice staff and clean rooms plus good location....once you find it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kycobraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Springhill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade sits in a mixed business/retail/restaurant area. The facility is still fairly new, and the decor in the rooms and public areas still has a fresh look to it. We encountered capable, friendly staff at every turn. We stayed three nights (March 5-7, 2009) while in town for Davis Cup. The hotel was full of families with children competing in a youth soccer tournament that same weekend, but we heard very little noise from the halls or parking lot in our room. Our room was on the side of the hotel away from I-459, and was one of the quietest hotel rooms I've had in a while. The bathroom fan and shower head were even quiet.
We had the free breakfast 2 of our 3 days. In addition to the usual fruit, cereal & pastries, this hotel offers a hot item daily (biscuits & gravy, sausage & scrambled eggs) and also had 2 stations for guests to make their own waffles. The breakfast area had plenty of seating. There is a Cracker Barrel restaurant in the Colonnade less than a half mile from the restaurant, and plenty of other options out 280.
The location was very convenient. Our event was at the Birmingham Jefferson Civic Center near downtown, and we could get there from the hotel in about 15 minutes. The hotel is 5 minutes from The Summit, a large retail/restaurant/movie complex.
Our room was comfortable - sitting area with couch and chair, mini-frig, microwave and coffer maker, king bed. Granite counter tops in bath and kitchen area was a nice touch. HD TV that could be swiveled to face bedroom or sitting area. We did not use the pool or the gym. Hotel also has a deal with nearby Gold's Gym with passes for $6.
I felt we received good value for our money, and would definitely include this property in my planning the next time we visit the Birmingham area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepersCovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Hotel was brand new. Color scheme in lobby was a little loud. My only complaint was that I had a room facing the interstate and boy was it noisy. I would probably try it again but only if I could stay on the other side.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wowtravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

This is a great place to stay. The rooms were very clean and the setup was nice. Beds were comfortable and the decorations were up to date. You can tell the place is fairly new because it does not have that overly used look to it. The free breakfast is nice but get there early because the food will be gone. The only negative is that the hotel is not that easy to find and it does not have a view of anything you would want to look at. Otherwise, I found this to be a great stay in Birmingham and will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GrlTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Hotel is fairly new and well-maintained. Rooms are adequately sized but sofa is not really comfortable. Pillows are way too soft.

We had one minor housekeeping issue, but this was quickly and graciously rectified.

Breakfast was OK.

I would stay here again--but I'd bring my own pillow.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — The mess left behind in the refrigerator.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibliohilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Springhill Suites Birmingham Colonnade. Every employee that we encountered from the front desk to the housekeeping staff were friendly and professional.

Since the hotel is brand new, everything is clean and in tip-top shape. The lobby and breakfast area are both brightly decorated and inviting. There are plenty of tables and seating available. Both areas have flat-panel televisions so you can catch up on the news or weather while you are eating or waiting in the lobby. The breakfast was great. It consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, assorted cereals, bagels, breads, sweet rolls, yogurt, oatmeal, and fruit. There were also several juice selections, milk, and coffee. (Coffee is available in the lobby 24 hours/day.)

The suite was on the small side, but it was arranged to make use of every inch of floor space. The living area had a sofa, chair, desk, and small tables. It also had a small kitchen area with a sink, microwave, and mini-refrigerator. There was one LCD television that could be turned for use in the living or sleeping areas. The bathroom was a standard hotel size and the vanity area was separate. The room contained two small closets as well.

We did not have time to use the outdoor pool or exercise equipment. However, we went into the fitness area and I was really impressed. Eventhough the area was small, each piece of equipment had it's own small LCD television.

The main drawback from this hotel stay was that the hotel was hard to find. There are several hotels in the area, but the Springhill Suites did not have any signs on Highway 280 indicating it was in the area. Since it is new, the green highway/interstate signs haven't been updated to include it, but the Marriott should have some type of signage in place. Other than that, I have no negative comments.

Overall, the Marriott Springhill Suites Birmingham Colonnade offered a great hotel at a competitive rate.

  • Liked — Everything was new and clean.
  • Disliked — Trying to find the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SusaninAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280
1.0 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#27 of 79 in Birmingham
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suite Birmingham - Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade

Property: SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
Address: 3950 Colonnade Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243-2382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Located near Birmingham International Airport, the convention center, Talladega Superspeedway and area attractions, SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade is ideal for corporate travel or fun weekend getaways. Our hotel located near downtown, offers complimentary breakfast buffet, free wireless Internet and a 24-hour food market, pool, and fitness center. Up to 25% more spacious than traditional hotel rooms, our hotel guest rooms feature separate eating and sleeping areas, microwave, refrigerator, and pull-out sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing