We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than "Average" but "Very Good" is a stretch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Better than "Average" but "Very Good" is a stretch”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My family was in town one night for a sporting event. I made reservations on Marriott's website using a free night certificate. As always, I requested extra towels, pillows & in this case a rollaway bed & low floor near an exit. I know they saw the extra notations because we were given a room on the first floor right near the side exit and none of the other rooms near us were occupied. However, there were no extra towels, pillows, or a rollaway in the room. As it turned out, there was no room for anything extra so I let the bed slide. The "suite" concept is good, but they fill the space with SO much furniture, you can barely move in the sitting area. During our stay, sometimes our keys would work and other times they wouldn't. Not sure if this was a key or lock issue but it was pretty irritating. I warned my husband that other reviewers said it was hard to find and that he should turn at the Hampton sign, but our GPS said otherwise and he chose to follow it. Needless to say, he had to loop back and I got to say "I told you so". I like that the property is tucked away but not sure I would like being outside at night if he hadn't been with us. It is by no means in a bad area...just secluded...?? My biggest complaint was the bed. I prefer a firmer bed but this one was like sleeping on a board for me. My husband said he slept fine but my back ached most of the following day.
On the upside, the hotel and room were clean and nice(but again, cramped). There was plenty of parking and the grounds were well kept. There were enough breakfast items to satisfy my picky bunch and the limited contact we had with staff was pleasant enough. The outdoor pool was a decent size and the kids enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor facing the interstate (and pool) but had no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    84
    55
    14
    12
See reviews for
97
44
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I like this hotel on the other side othe interstate from the Summit. It is fairly new and is Marriott property. They have little wetbars in them and a sitting area. I staying in one for about a month and really enjoyed the stay. I didn't get too claustrophobic. The breakfast is a nice hot meal. The little business center is not much but does the trick. The same can be said for the fitness center. The staff is very cordial and the property is well maintained. The hotel is near the interstate.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the interstate side you will here the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel appears to have been renovated or is fairly new. The lobby and breakfast area are ample and comfortable. The rooms are a bit on the smaller side for a Suite but are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to traffic noise, ask for a room away from the traffic side of the Hotel. I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is fairly new and pretty nice. It's a little hard to find -- the sign off of Colonnade Parkway is hard to spot. Reception is very friendly. However they have a "green" thermostat that keeps the rooms at 80 degrees if nobody's in for "a long time". So, my room (during an Alabama summer) was very uncomfortable for nearly an hour until the A/C could catch up. While hotels strive to give you a "warm welcome," this one was a little too literal. Perhaps they could send someone to trip the system before a guest arrives?

Room Tip: The top floor is probably warmer than the rest, so during the summer, I'd stay away from that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Notorious_BLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I arrived in Birmingham to attend my cousin's wedding. At check-in, the staff presented me with a gift basket from the bride and groom and the keys to the room. I informed the desk clerk that I did not recieve the rate that quoted on the couple's wedding website, and she adjusted my rate. The room was clean, spacious, and equipped with all the comforts of home. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. You will not be disappointed if you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Son954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on short notice in March and was pleasently surprised. The room was huge, the bed was very comfortable and even though we had a room facing the Interstate, we never heard a sound. We never heard the people around us or in the hallways.

Breakfast was nice, but could have been kept warmer. It is close to the area where we shop and dine and not far from the event we were attending. We arrived early in the morning and our room was already available, which was very nice. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

My only complaint is that there was no safe in the room where I could leave my iPod. I'm not used to staying with no safe to lock up my things, but it wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemiss211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I arrived early after a long trip with my husband and 2 kids. I asked if a room was available and was given a room to my shock- it was only 1:00. The young man at the front desk was very helpful and polite. That sums up the good. When we got into our room the toilet immediately overflowed onto my childs feet. In a hurry to be somewhere else, I just let it slide. Upon returning in the evening and settling into bed, we were appalled at the noise from the interstate. It is not just a distant rumbling of traffic. It sounds like you have set up camp on the grassy ledge next to the freeway. The hotel has no insulation AT ALL, which leads me to my next horror story. At 9 pm, the couple next door decided to become intimate. They woke my 2 children...boy were those noises hard to explain. We heard everything. The walls are so thin it is absurd! When they finally concluded next door, around 2 am, we got about 4 hours of sleep. We decided to try some breakfast in the lobby. It was so awkwardly set up and hard to move around that we finally gave up. It is a tiny space with a wall right in the middle and people were bimping into each other. Disaster. Oh- the a/c does nothing for the interstate traffic noise. Be warned.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview
1.0 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#25 of 80 in Birmingham
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
0.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suite Birmingham - Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade

Property: SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
Address: 3950 Colonnade Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243-2382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Located near Birmingham International Airport, the convention center, Talladega Superspeedway and area attractions, SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade is ideal for corporate travel or fun weekend getaways. Our hotel located near downtown, offers complimentary breakfast buffet, free wireless Internet and a 24-hour food market, pool, and fitness center. Up to 25% more spacious than traditional hotel rooms, our hotel guest rooms feature separate eating and sleeping areas, microwave, refrigerator, and pull-out sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Birmingham - Colonnade Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing