We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hua Yang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 454 Hotels in Luoyang
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
174 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Value for money for a short stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

When you see the huge building, you may think that they built a 5 star hotel but not. The hotel is almost outdated and old fashioned but clean to meet your short term touristic needs.
The check in and out speed was satisfactory even though we arrived during a very busy time. The lobby has free wifi where it is also smoking free area.
The rooms were large, clean and with adequate amenities but old fashioned already. Due to the construction outside the hotel, we could not sleep properly.
The breakfast menu can be rated as a 2 star hotel were the hotel is looking for 4 star rating. I can recommend for short term family stays.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    70
    35
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
9
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berks, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The rooms are large and modern - all was clean and looked new. But build quality is poor as the windows didn't shut properly.

The hotel has no bar area and it feels rather unwelcoming as the reception is huge with no atmosphere.

Restaurant food was passable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairew18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Better than 3 but not quite 4. Agree with other reviewer; not a 5star hotel - but relative to other Chinese hotels does well. Don't be too worried to stay, but don't be disappointed if is 'rough around the edges'. (...and I'm picky about hotels) Food & service is acceptable-to-enjoyable for western tastes. Even has Brasilian Churrascaria-style evening dinner option! <fun/funny> Had room 1822. RMB408/nite special company rate. Bedding was clean & fresh. Free wired broadband internet was solid. Room A/C was poor; use spare room key to keep electricity it running when you're out. MiniFridge also shuts down without card! Good shopping mall with grocery store [& McDnlds(sorry)] is across road in front. Get bottled water & keep in fridge. Room safe & all worked. Wallpaper marked-up & stained. Great park is behind hotel; if your room facing backside is fun to watch people do their morning & evening routines!

Room Tip: Get two room keys to keep A/C & fridge working while you're out. Great park viewable by back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mechcr8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2009

When we arrived at the hotel, I thought it was grand and the staff was very helpfull, but when the doors of the elevator opened on the 11th floor I was shocked! The carpets are stained and dirty. The rooms are not clean, not to talk about the bathrooms! After the first day, I've realised that they don't clean your room, they just make the bed. Towels are old and washed out and so is the linen, not what you expect from a 5 star hotel, especially when you pay 780RMB per night! The food in the cafe cafe is poor. This was a bad experience!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2009

This is in response to someone's question if there were any other decent hotels in Luoyang, not a review of the Hua Yang Plaza Hotel, sorry. It may be futile in that my wife and I don't remember the name of the hotel, but it was something to the affect of Aviation Business Hotel in the heart of the city at one end of the main city plaza. It's about a 30 story building. It's a more typical Chinese businessman's hotel and I'm not into all the super attention to details but this hotel was much nicer than the reviews I'm reading about the Hua Yang Plaza Hotel. I'm giving this tip so as not to discourage anyone from going to Luoyang. Worst case, book a hotel elsewhere for a night and when you get there, ask around, someone will know where this hotel is. It's also walking distance to a really good American/Western style restaurant with good, inexpinsive food and real coffee.
As for the Hotel, everything was as you might expect for a Holiday Inn. TV with English Cable (CNN, SKY, and some others I don't remember and a multitude of Chinese stations), hot shower, clean carpeted rooms, nice comfortable bed, room service (though I didn't use it), in-room phone, A/C, electrical outlets that don't blow the whole building's electical circuit when you plug in your blow dryer (unlike in Madrid), western toilet, sizable towels, complimentary things you may have forgotten like a toothbrush, tooth paste, razor, shaving cream, hair comb, shoe polish, shoe horn, clean linens, radio, alarm, etc... There's also a decent Chinese restaurant on the second floor with good local cuisine including the really good flower soup that's a local specialty.
The only negative things I can say is their gift shop isn't open 24/7, their bar was closed for construction when I was there and they don't have good coffee at all (not many places in Luoyang do but there's a good restaurant up the street that does) and I don't think they take American Express but everything else was great. I think they even exchaned USD for RMB at a reasonable rate, sorry it's been 3 years but I've been there twice and for about 5 days each time.
Hope this is of help to someone thinking of traveling to Luoyang. It's no Xi'an, Shanghai or Beijing but there is a lot of history in Luoyang. How could it not? It was the capitol of China and the second largest city on Earth in the year 100 AD.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prinzchas310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Stayed there for 5 months. The design of the hotel is grand, the construction was done poorly: shower leaking because of bad installation of shower door, hallway carpet rippling making it difficult to roll the suitcases,etc. The staff tries very hard to be helpful and they are. I loved them. There is no lounge where one could sit and chat with friends or guests with a coffee/tea/beer and finger food. That would be a great improvement! The massage service is great. Where it falls apart is at the CaféCafé. Not very western, breakfast is blah! so is dinner, both buffet style. Dinner also has a menu. We were turned away from lunch twice because the whole room had been reserved for a convention of some sort and we had to go eat somewhere else. Valet service also not up to par. On the whole it was quite acceptable, but it is not a 5 star hotel.

  • Liked — the best in town
  • Disliked — lack of a lounge
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wandering_LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

A new five star hotel opened within the last year with a vast reception area and apparently nearly 1000 rooms. Desk staff are pleasant and speak some English as also in the dining room.

Décor is modern but that is where the similarity ends with a five star expectation. Build quality is quite poor and there is a complete lack of attention to detail with many snagging type problems in rooms and corridors not attended to.

In the rooms there is a hair dryer, safe and all the usual but the mini bar isn't stocked beyond a couple of beers and a coke. However, we asked for a non smoking room and unlike many Chinese hotels we did get what it said on the tin and our room smelt quite fresh.

We arrived at the hotel about 8:00pm and went straight to the CafeCafe restaurant only to find that over half the food on the menu was off. only Chinese wines were on the menu and we chose the 'best' which proved to be almost undrinkable. The food we did have was disappointing as well. You also can not put anything on your bill and must pay cash at your table.

The CafeCafe is also the location for the buffet breakfast. By even four star Chinese hotel standards the Western breakfast was poor, and if they ever do fill their 1000 rooms then I would suggest you breakfast elsewhere, as this restaurant is quite small.

Although we wouldn't rate the Hua Yang highly, we did go to the Peony Plaza for dinner on our second night and believe me that is far worse.

This hotel does have potential as the staff seem good and helpful and probably a management overhaul will sort it out. So don't write it off.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luoyang hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luoyang City Center
2.0 mi away
Christian's Hotel
Christian's Hotel
#1 of 454 in Luoyang
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Luoyang
Hyatt Place Luoyang
#4 of 454 in Luoyang
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
New Friendship Hotel
New Friendship Hotel
#2 of 454 in Luoyang
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luoyang Companionship Hotel
7.9 mi away
Dongshan Hotel
Dongshan Hotel
#34 of 454 in Luoyang
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hua Yang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Yang Plaza Hotel

Property: Hua Yang Plaza Hotel
Address: No.88 Kaixuan West Road, Jianxi District, Luoyang 471003, China
Location: China > Henan > Luoyang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luoyang
#3 Best Value Hotel in Luoyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hua Yang Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hua Yang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hua Yang Plaza Luoyang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing