We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but with some strange additions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse Temple

White Horse Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
Luoyang One Day Private Tour of Shaolin Temple and Longmen Grottoes Including...
Ranked #3 of 93 things to do in Luoyang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice but with some strange additions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The original temple is very nice and worth the visit. The temple is located on the side of a major road and lacks a feeling of serinity. The temple has some strange additions adjacent to it including a copy of the main temple of Burma and a rather plain Indian templ.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank waterfall9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    94
    45
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baqian
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WHITE HORSE TEMPLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was a great experience . I was lucky to have met some people from Luoyang that took me to the temple . They organised the transport and tickets and a guide . Unfortunately there were no english guides available so they had to translate the Chinese for me . There was a lot of people because it was a special day at the temple . I think that if I didn't have someone to translate the chinese for me , I wouldnt have understood and enjoyed the experiece so much. But the monks and other Chinese people were very friendly and it was a wonderful experience . Will go back in May to see the peonies and gardens in spring time .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,100 reviews
654 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Peaceful temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

White Horse Temple is not as busy as you would expect and has some lovely buildings and statues. The buildings are quite new reconstructions, but they have done a good job of making them look authentic. It is fairly lush and there are a lot of trees and plants in the temple grounds.

Apart from the actual temple, there is a replica of the stupa at Sanchi that was donated by India and they are currently building a Thai temple as well. Very interesting. The Qi Yun Pagoda is also on the grounds and well worth visiting too.

All in all it is a very nice example of a Chinese Buddhist temple. If you have an interest in temples it should be on your agenda.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Historical Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a great temple to visit en route to the Shaolin Temple. It has a nice layout and the grounds are beautiful. They are also creating some new buildings to give historical perspective to other buddhist cultures. May Peace Prevail On Earth!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
522 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“The Original Bhuddist Temple in China”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Bai Ma Si is the phonetic pronuncian of the Mandarin for White Horse Temple. Established in 68AD outside of the Han capital of Luoyang, China, this was the first "government approved" bhuddist temple in China. The temple buildings (constructed much later) and grounds are attractive and were quiet on the drizzly afternoon when we visited. Between the parking lot and the temple grounds you will be assaulted by hawkers selling incense and fruit to offer the Bhuuda - we suggest that you buy something to offer! It is actually quite soothing to make an offering at one of the temples. Outside the main temple complex two temples, one in Thai style and one Indian version are being developed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse Temple also viewed

 

Been to White Horse Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing