We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Longmen Youth Hostel
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We specifically went to Luoyang to visit the Longmen Grottoes, arriving by train in the morning from Xian and then travelling on an overnight train to Pingyao to continue our China trip. Travelling with 2 small children we didn't want to take the chance that our backpacks would fit into the luggage lockers at the Grottoes so instead rang Longmen Youth Hostel before our arrival to see if we could store our luggage there for the day. The lady (unfortunately I did not ask her name) was amazing. She offered to store our luggage at no cost and gave us directions / cost to her hostel. On arrival we were met with a smile, able to use the clean toilets and sort out our day pack without feeling pressured that we were clogging up the front foyer. Again, no money would be accepted to store our luggage. She was very helpful with bus routes / taxi options to get to the Grottoes. On return from the Grottoes, feeling indebted to repay her kind hospitality, we asked to see the menu so we could contribute a little. The lady explained that as she was the only one working she would not be able to cook us a meal but suggested a restaurant around the corner. She rang ahead to let them know we were coming. She asked us what we would like to eat and then wrote our requests in Chinese so we could hand it to the chef to avoid any language barriers. The meal was authentic, cheap and fantastic. When we left the hostel it was peak hour so she assisted by flagging down a taxi. What might appear as little gestures to most, was greatly appreciated by us. The lady's generosity in assisting us with no expectation of anything in return, especially since we were not paying guests at the hostel was exceptional. Thank you for your kind heartedness. Without even seeing the rooms, I would recommend this hostel just on the basis of the genuine hospitality shown. If we ever return to Luoyang then we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrived after visiting the longmen grottoes. Took a taxi of about 20 Yuan to the hostel.
The hostel is locked very close to longmen train station, about 4 kilo away. The staff is cool and very welcoming. Payed 45 for a bunk bed in a 4 people room. The 8 people costs 40 by the way. The place is very clean. I was served dinner at 21:30, had fried rice and a mushroom dish. Both tested great. I would recommend it to anyone that is staying around this part of town.
By that you can understand that it is very far from the city's center and far from the luoyang train station. I looked for a place to stay ghetto night before taking the G train to Xi'an. By the way G trains arrive to longmen. Have some tips for visiting shaolin temple as well so you are more then welcome to ask..

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank IlyaRivkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

First of all this review is long overdue. This hostel was one of the good ones I saw in China. It is a bit off the centre of town but it is amazingly located for public transport to all the major sights of the area and easily accessible.

The owner was nothing but helpful and helped us getting around to the grottoes, white horse temple and Shaolin Temple. We did it all by ourselves easily but if you want something organized they will do it all for you.

Food was good and the kitchen facilities clean. The room we had was great and more flashpacker than backpacker but with a really good price.

The owner even accompanied us to the train station for our departure which was an amazing gesture.

Stay there without hesitation if you go to Luoyang.

The only regret I have is not having done this review sooner!

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid noise from people that stay up late in the central area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ms. Flyer, the landlady is a beautiful, charming lady. Warmly and helpful! She knows everything about Luoyang city! While we asking for transportation information, she helped design a wonderful 2-days-route for us. We went to Longmen Cave, the Country Garden, and the Ancient City. The second night, she led us to a Gourmet Street with various local food, very delicious! Thank you Ms. Flyer!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suphie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Laaaaarge public area with kicthen, sofa, PC, bookchelf, postcards, map, message board...... I love the cats "cashbox" and "bank", so cute! We stay here at the last day of Chinese Qing-Ming festival, met Landlady Flyer and her lovely baby, but Ms. Flyer looks a bit tired? anyway, really enjoy here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hostel is really bad.. It's near the longmen stone cave, but really far away from the city center.. the share toilet is horrible, with a sight of smell.. and there is a weird smell in the community room..the staff is impolite...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rentrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

just one night here, the staff are nice & friendly, they provided me some useful trip tips, great location, if you want to find a quiet place, but there're still something need to be improved, such as the cleaness of the locker, when i opened my locker, it was full of dust

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shutingchen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luoyang hotels
0 mi away
Christian's Hotel
Christian's Hotel
#1 of 474 in Luoyang
221 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luoyang City Center
0 mi away
7 Days Inn Luoyang Peony Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Aviation E-home Inn
Aviation E-home Inn
#53 of 474 in Luoyang
20 reviews
0 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Luoyang Railway Station
0 mi away
New Friendship Hotel
New Friendship Hotel
#2 of 474 in Luoyang
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longmen Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longmen Youth Hostel

Address: No.347 Zhao Village, Longmen Avenue, Luolong District, Luoyang 471023, China
Location: China > Henan > Luoyang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Luoyang
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Longmen Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Longmen Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing