We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peony flower festival” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Friendship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Friendship Hotel
Ranked #2 of 450 Hotels in Luoyang
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Peony flower festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

As expected, there is also a Friendship Hotel and that's where the taxi took us. Fortunately the New Friendship Hotel was only a few minutes away.
The lobby had an impressive Mao statue.
The room and bathroom were ok.
Around 17.00hrs we received yoghurt, bananas, apples and nuts each day.
For dinner we wanted to go to the Chinese/Western restaurant on the 3rd floor but we were redirected to the Chinese Meal Banquet Hall.
The food was good, but children were running and playing in the hall.
Breakfast was average.
We were fortunate to be there during the Peony Flower Festival.
Lots of entertainment. We particularly enjoyed the classical Chinese music that was performed.
A bus stop for the Caves was just around the corner. Bus 60.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jopo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
22
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at the New Friendship Hotel for 1 night as part of a group tour. The hotel is in a good location with shops close by walking distance. The room was quite spacious and clean. The bathroom was quite big also including the shower. The window was overlooking the street and you could hear the noise. The reason for this was also due to the window which was slightly ajar and would not close depsite trying. There are no english speaking channels available on TV. The safe in the room did not work. Free complimentary water provided. Hotel foyer provides free wifi. The breakfast was average to say the least. Food options were not what I would normally eat at breakfast. If you a visiting for a short stay and not looking for anything fancy then OK. Otherwise I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

A nice room in a hotel very well located in Luoyang (in the center, just facing the Peony Park).
Found a dust-cloth in the washbasin, but doesn't really matter. The carpet was not very clean.
There is a computer in each room with internet access ! (quite difficult to use as it is in chinese language but you can manage with it)
The bed is really hard, as in all hotels in China.
Good hotel if you stay a couple of nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Supermoumou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

There are two Friendship Hotels, this one is not new, rather, it's newly remodeled old hotel. The front desk girls are friendly, but can barely speak English. Luckily I speak Chinese. The room is so so, TV is very small. Bathroom is small. Carpet is not very clean, but they do supply slippers. Beds are pretty hard. Breakfast is OK, nothing really fancy. More lunch type of Chinese stir fry than breakfast, although there is a western style line with bacon and sausages and bread. For one night stay is OK.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is centrally located. It takes about 30 - 45 mins by taxi from the airport.
The rooms are large and the hotel receives many tour groups. The breakfast served at the hotel restaurant is a bigger variety then most smaller city hotels. But the translation for the food description will leave you scratching your head early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lous80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Location wasn't bad at all. The park across the way was busy with variety of activities and there was a number of decent restaurants/bars nearby. Location was pretty central to both Whitehorse Temple and Longman Grottos (one transfer by bus). Hotel itself was above average. Breakfast buffet was better then most with wide variety of both Chinese and Western foods. Internet was fast (for China). Room was larger then most and quite clean. I did find the hallways dark even after the lights came on (on a sensor) but that's a minor issue

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KoryCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
215 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location can't be beat for being in the heart of Luoyang. The rooms are reasonably large, and the beds are semi-soft. Our room faced a "no-view" in the back of the hotel, but was quiet. The staff was friendly, but with little English. However, our guide managed to get 2 room keys for us. The lobby has China Daily newspaper but it was in a rack. We had a nice pot of tea with the travel agent in the lobby at a table designated for "VIP"s, the first time we ever were so designated. Breakfast was on the 2nd floor during renovation.

To the right, about half a block down on the same side of the street is a superb restaurant, family-owned, but part of a chain. Our guide took us there for dinner (great).

Would we stay here again? Yes. The free water and toiletries were added pluses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luoyang hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luoyang City Center
2.2 mi away
Christian's Hotel
Christian's Hotel
#1 of 450 in Luoyang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luoyang Companionship Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ease House
Ease House
#43 of 450 in Luoyang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dongshan Hotel
Dongshan Hotel
#28 of 450 in Luoyang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hua Yang Plaza Hotel
Hua Yang Plaza Hotel
#4 of 450 in Luoyang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Friendship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Friendship Hotel

Property: New Friendship Hotel
Address: Xiyuan Road, Luoyang 471003, China
Location: China > Henan > Luoyang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 450 Hotels in Luoyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Friendship Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your New Friendship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing