We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughts from the hotel snob”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice in the last month. I had great experiences both times. The rooms were clean and the beds were beyond comfortable. To top it off, there's a fish pond out front!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pindergill, Manager at Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us what you thought. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 367 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed at this property weekly for the past several months. It is clean. The employees are friendly and helpful, especially Brian the manager. Cindy the lady that takes care of the dining room provides a breakfast that is fresh, hot and tasty. I wouldn't hesitate staying at this site again for any reason.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scheesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pindergill, Manager at Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think. We are thrilled you enjoy your stays here with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice hotel. Excellent staff. Very classy and comfortable. The room was perfect, clean and comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast went beyond expectation. No complaints at all. Easy to get to off the interstate. They set a great standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pindergill, Manager at Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

On behalf of the entire Best Western family I would like to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I have been doing a lot of traveling, visiting colleges for two daughters going off to college the last two years and we have stayed in some below average hotels.
Not this hotel!
A great value, since a full hot breakfast is included, that's $30 elsewhere for 3 people.
The room was very clean, especially the bathroom and the new queen beds were very comfortable.
We will stay here again and again when visiting our daughter at college. Roll Tide!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pindergill, Manager at Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed the stay with us and can not wait to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel very very clean and nice, Rooms are spacious and well furnished, beds are very comfortable. Most of the staff were great , check in was fast and friendly, Our only issue was at breakfast, the food was great but the girl working it was rude and unprofesional, we arrived about 20 min before close and was met with attitude, i guess she was in a hurry to put up the bar, never spoke to us even after we spoke to her, and didnt not bother to ask if we needed anything else before putting it all away, Other than that I would gladly use this hotel again, Cant fault them for one bad apple.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank STEPHEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pindergill, Manager at Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

I would like to thank you for staying at our property and taking the time to let us know how we did. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and your room. I do apologize for any inconvience you might have experienced. We hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

...but did not get the room (with king bed) we'd pre-booked via telephone through Best Western. Lady at the front desk told us that they had no pet friendly rooms with king sized beds, only double beds, so that was disappointing. She didn't really offer us any sympathy either, stating we were mislead bc we booked through their nat'l chain phone # instead of local (would have been nice to know there was a difference). Room was very clean and nice thought with updated furnishings. Wide variety offered for breakfast but don't miss it bc they start taking the food away at 9. Decent hotel for the price. Would recommend.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Ambermichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pindergill, Manager at Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

First, I would like to thank you for staying at our property. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and your room. I do apologize for any inconvience you might have experienced. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were in the area for 11 days due to a relative at the local hospital. We were hoping for bigger discount for staying 11 nights. For $90. a night we was not impressed. Just your average hotel, but the next time we will be trying one of the other in the two block area. Had a couple of bugs in the room we had to take care of. The breakfast was okay. We ate out after the 3 day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiedear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pindergill, Manager at Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

On behalf of the Best Western Family we are sorry we did not exceed your expectations. We do hope to see you again in the future. If we can help you in any way please do not hesitate to call us at 205-481-1950.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bessemer hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham/Bessemer
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Bessemer
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Birmingham Bessemer
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites

Address: 5041 Academy Ln, Bessemer, AL 35022-5250 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Bessemer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Price Range: $86 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay at this cozy Bessemer hotel and have easy access to Alabama Adventure Amusement Park, Birmingham's attractions and Lawson State.Choose from a spacious standard room or one of our luxurious suites, all offering divine pillow top beds, cable or satellite television, a coffeemaker, a microwave, a refrigerator, a desk and high-speed Internet access. Get a wonderful night's sleep and wake up feeling refreshed to a complimentary full breakfast each day at this Bessemer hotel.The convenience and comfort won't stop at your room - our property also offers a sparkling outdoor pool, relaxing hot tub, state-of-the-art exercise facility and a beneficial business center.Located near Birmingham, you can either slow down for a bit and enjoy this charming small town or drive just 20 miles and take in the big city attractions. Nearby, many guests delight in spending a day at Alabama Adventure Amusement Park or visiting students and faculty at Lawson State Community College. Take a short trip to Birmingham and enjoy visiting the McWane Science Center, Civil Rights Institute, University of Alabama, Legion Field, Birmingham Race Course, Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex and Birmingham Zoo.Outdoor enthusiasts will have convenient access to Cahaba River, Oak Mountain State Park, Ruffner Mountain and championship golf at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail while staying at this hotel near Birmingham. Indulge in retail therapy at Five Points South, offering unique shops and restaurants in a distinctive historic district.Those traveling for work can make the most of their stay, as this Alabama hotel is near many of the area's businesses and organizations. University of Alabama Birmingham Medical, US Pipe, Vulcan Materials, US Steel, St. Vincent's Hospital and the Marine Base are all close by. Birmingham International Airport is also just 35 miles away from this Bessemer hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel Bessemer
Best Western Bessemer
Bessemer Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing