We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place have your AAA card ready to save”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice place have your AAA card ready to save”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

A little hard to locate at first, GPS location is way off.

As nice as anyplace in the area and a little cheaper with AAA discount.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerusX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pindergill, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for your review! We take pride in making our property one of the best in the area in every aspect of your stay with us. Best Western and AAA as well as AARP have always had a good relationship, which is why we are happy to provide discounted rates for AAA and AARP members. We hope we get to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    70
    11
    17
    6
See reviews for
136
53
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My people and I really fall in love wiyh this hotel. Excellent Front Desk, comfortable stay, special treatment as family from the personal, real professional approach in all issues, everyone should try it. You will love it! Bravo to Matthew and Joanie! Always nice to meet them.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mthiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet City, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2012

My family visited 5041 Academy Lane. Front Desk: excellent service. Household Staff: magnificent cleaning.Complimentary Breakfast: excellent. Your hotel is top rated. My stay was above and beyond accommodating.I would like to thank management and the staff for the hard work in making this Best Western such a pleasurable stay. Keep up the excellent work.

Room Tip: I really do not know what tips that I could give except that all of the floors seem to be quiet in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juwanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

After catching a bad cold while interviewing at UAB, I was too sick/exhausted to make the six hour trip back to Baton Rouge in the evening. I had to make an unexpected stop at the Best Western Plus in Bessemer, where the manager and front desk clerk bent over backward to help and accommodate me. They not only gave me an excellent price on a beautiful room (brand new bedding, mattresses, amenities, etc.) but also got me a discount at one of the four restaurants that were located right next to the hotel. As a graduate student living on loans, their willingness to get me the best price possible was much appreciated. Additionally, the manager noted that I was traveling alone, and put me in one of the rooms closest to the lobby so that I would feel extra safe and could "ask for anything [I] need, no matter what it is." I was able to depart the next morning having slept a full 8 hours and feeling much better. The manager and staff of this hotel made a tough situation much much better. If I am ever passing through Alabama, I will go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSUgradstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This is the first time I stayed here usually stay at Holiday Inns. The hotel is spotless and the staff friendly and professional. The beds with crisp clean duvets and 4 pillows with each bed. Everything kept up not a spot of dirt anywhere in the room. I did not eat at the free breakfast but it smelled wonderful every morning. The staff were courtesy and you could tell this hotel was like a family to its employees it had a great feeling to the whole place. The prices were very reasonable 98.00 for the night on a weekend and well worth it . I will stay there everytime we visit our family as we were very satisfied. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
163 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Best Western in Bessemer over the past few years. It has become a very convenient way for us to plan our trips knowing it offers everything we need for our stay. Clean updated rooms, great rates, very friendly, helpful staff. We love staying here and love the convenient location - everything nearby - dining, shopping, hospital, etc. Highly recommended. We plan our trip and keep Best Western Plus, Bessemer, AL, exit 108 on our list.

Room Tip: The extra large queen room is great and has an extra seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetTrip01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Good updating, excellent beds, great breakfast. All in all, a comfy, worth the $$ stay.

Room Tip: Think any room is a good one ... small hotel, so not an issue as far as I can say/tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimisusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bessemer hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham/Bessemer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 12 in Bessemer
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 12 in Bessemer
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Birmingham Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites
Address: 5041 Academy Ln, Bessemer, AL 35022-5250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Bessemer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay at this cozy Bessemer hotel and have easy access to Alabama Adventure Amusement Park, Birmingham's attractions and Lawson State.Choose from a spacious standard room or one of our luxurious suites, all offering divine pillow top beds, cable or satellite television, a coffeemaker, a microwave, a refrigerator, a desk and high-speed Internet access. Get a wonderful night's sleep and wake up feeling refreshed to a complimentary full breakfast each day at this Bessemer hotel.The convenience and comfort won't stop at your room - our property also offers a sparkling outdoor pool, relaxing hot tub, state-of-the-art exercise facility and a beneficial business center.Located near Birmingham, you can either slow down for a bit and enjoy this charming small town or drive just 20 miles and take in the big city attractions. Nearby, many guests delight in spending a day at Alabama Adventure Amusement Park or visiting students and faculty at Lawson State Community College. Take a short trip to Birmingham and enjoy visiting the McWane Science Center, Civil Rights Institute, University of Alabama, Legion Field, Birmingham Race Course, Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex and Birmingham Zoo.Outdoor enthusiasts will have convenient access to Cahaba River, Oak Mountain State Park, Ruffner Mountain and championship golf at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail while staying at this hotel near Birmingham. Indulge in retail therapy at Five Points South, offering unique shops and restaurants in a distinctive historic district.Those traveling for work can make the most of their stay, as this Alabama hotel is near many of the area's businesses and organizations. University of Alabama Birmingham Medical, US Pipe, Vulcan Materials, US Steel, St. Vincent's Hospital and the Marine Base are all close by. Birmingham International Airport is also just 35 miles away from this Bessemer hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel Bessemer
Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel And Suites
Best Western Bessemer
Bessemer Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing