We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Shower, Hard bed”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Reviewed August 1, 2013

No, we weren't camping ....but you coulda fooled me.

A bottle of OdoBan is in the night check-in window greeting customers as they enter the building. Upon first entering the room, it smells of mold & mildew - AC was set to 60 degrees (maybe to hide the odor?)

Walked to the Pizza Hut next door (food was just OK - not good service and dirty), hoped to get a decent night's sleep.

Beds were hard - but the TV was an OK size. Got up in the morning to take a shower before hitting the road and the water was cold - not even warm COLD. I skipped my shower and mentioned it to the front desk gal at check out.

I explained all the maintenance folks have to do is pop off the plastic cover and adjust the water temp settings with a screw driver. Housekeeping SHOULD realize the cold temps when the they clean. She thanked me for mentioning it but explained the front desk folks ARE the maintenance! REALLY?!!!

No wonder ...we'll stay elsewhere next time. There are only 2 CLC hotels in Bessemer, so the pickings are spare.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Can't say enough good things about the front desk staff. At both check in and check out (with different folks on duty), they were personable, friendly and helpful. There's a Winn-Dixie grocery store within walking distance, so it's very easy to pick up the makings for a cold supper in the room. For travelers who want something more substantial, there's a Pizza Hut right next door. This is a pet-friendly hotel, and it has a area where dogs can be walked on a leash.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This Sleep Inn did need some refreshing to the room. It seemed a bit tired and worn, unlike many of the Sleep Inns we have used in the past. Housekeeping needs to pay more attention to the cleanliness of the bed coverings, as well as cobweb removal. The breakfast was the standard offering, nothing special. This was a one night stop over so it was adequate but we would look for another property if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sawadee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al445, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and for staying with us. I appreciate you bringing items to our attention. Please know that we enjoy reading your comments and are working on some renovation projects in our rooms. Thank you again for being our guest. We always want to meet and expect your needs.

KEN P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was a one night stay on our way home from a two week trip. Hotel recently became smoke free which was great, it was only a few months ago. Hotel was clean but seemed worn and it had a bath with a sliding door which is bothersome, but for one nite it was ok. Had a terrible toilet handle that took a lot to flush, but we managed. Had a Pizza Hut next door which came in handy since we just wanted to rest after a long trip.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank newdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al445, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and for staying with us. I know that the pocket doors sometime bothersome and I appreciate you bringing that to our attention . Thank you again for being our guest. We always want to meet and expect your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I will start by saying that the staff was WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The room however, a different story. I've stayed there before on the second floor, this time I had requested a first floor room. Huge difference this time for some reason. The room smelled absolutely terrible. It is suppose to be a smoke-free facility, but I think someone was stashing smokes in our room. VERY smelly. The pillows should have been thrown away 5 years ago! The shower was awesome though! Hot water and great pressure. Probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in the hotel. It is descent hotel for the price. The rooms are clean. But, to be perfectly honest this was just a place for us to sleep. Check in was quick, do not really use the service. My only advise to the hotel is they need to improve their breakfast offering. McDonalds right across the street and Winn Dixie around the corner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryw4405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My family was traveling through Alabama on I-459, it was late, we were tired...Very happy when we came up on Exit 6....My husband saw the sign for a Sleep Inn. BEST LATE NIGHT STOP... The hotel was clean and secure. The clerk was alert and knowledgable. The room was clean and stylish. BREAKFAST WAS AWESOME.....

We Stopped back by on the way back too!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jalony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bessemer hotels
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Bessemer
51 reviews
5.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Birmingham Bessemer
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 12 in Bessemer
21 reviews
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham/Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 1259 Greenmor Dr, Bessemer, AL 35022-6437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Bessemer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Price Range: $73 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Bessemer
Bessemer Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing