We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff had an attitude on phone” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Metairie
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Staff had an attitude on phone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in the spring when we picked up son after the tornado. Loved the hotel and not too far from campus. We booked it for Family Weekend, and had many phone calls back and forth as we were trying to get a second night, as they were sold out for football weekend. Every time I called, the staff were extremely rude, and practically hung up on me! Forgive them, as I know they're stressed out with football weekend, but no need to be rude, especially to a Marriott Silver Elite member! Not surprised at recent reviews that the hotel is going downhill. A shame, as it was a brand new hotel last year, and our friends who didn't want to pay Tuscaloosa prices on gameday highly recommended it. Hope it does not go the way of many of the Tuscaloosa hotels, which are filthy and/or overpriced, even not on gameday weekends. Stayed in Hoover instead, and wouldn't have stayed at this hotel even if a room had opened up, based on the rudeness of the hotel staff on the phone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montegut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
15
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Okay we were doing a family trip and when we got there every thing was good and smooth. But we start noticing little bugs all over the room! Then we had ran out of towels and we ask for more. When we asked for more the lady had an attitude! The breakfast was absoutly horrible overall we hate this hotel!!!!"

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roughcat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Having many business trips to Bessemer, I stayed multiple nights at the Fairfield Inn and Suites in Bessemer. Located at exit 108, there are restaurants and shopping nearby (Cracker Barrel, Applebees, Ruby Tuesdays, Waffle House, as well as a gas station just across the parking lot). Likewise, there are other properties nearby (Holiday Inn Express and Country Inn and Suites) should this property be sold out...which happens frequently.

The rooms I occupied on various trips were all located on the 2nd floor (Rooms 209-203 to be exact). A nice bathroom with an average sized room made for comfortable trips. The fitness center is small with only three machines, but the pool is above average size. The business center is located in the lobby behind a partial wall divider, but frosted glass prevents others from seeing one as they work.

The breakfast was quite good with waffles, a daily egg of some type, occasionally biscuits and gravy, as well as the normal bagels, fruit, yogurt, and juices. Tea and coffee are available daily, as are fresh cookies in the lobby. There is also a manager's reception on one night of the week - it is hit-or-miss as to when that night is.

The staff members are very friendly and go out of their way to accomodate. There is also access to a nearby gym should the small fitness center be of concern.

Lastly, the site has security in the evenings which is an added comfort for those desiring security. Nevertheless, the area is safe and reguarly patroled by the Bessemer Police Department.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed here passing through from a trip to MS. Basically got in late and slept here before heading out the next morning.

Above average hotel--nice rooms, clean and fairly new hotel. I didn't have any problems or complaints with my stay. As a frequent traveler, this room was what I expected from the reviews and online comments.

I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milbs_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castine, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Bessemer for seven nights while visiting family in the local area. Was it the best place we've ever stayed in? No -- but it was relatively clean and the staff were very nice. Housekeeping responded quickly to requests for extra towels and clean sheets (2 kids had stomach virus during trip). The rooms were a little small, but we were there basically just to sleep so it was not a problem. Perhaps the bathroom could be a little cleaner -- there was a little dust in the corners. The compressor on the AC was loud, and with unseasonably warm weather we had to have AC on a lot. But the beds were comfy, the complimentary breakfast was plentiful with variety, and the place was quiet (except possibly for my 3 boys!) even though it was quite full on at least 2 of the nights we were there. The price was right, too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineMom3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Everything thing was very clean,Staff was very friendly. I have stayed here before and it was nice to see that nothing has changed still a great place to stay. Beds were very comfortable and the rooms were good size. A lot o places to eat close by. When visiting family will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

Well, my husband and I stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Bessemer. I would not recommend this hotel. Unfortunately we chose this hotel assuming that if we were paying more we would be getting more. That was not the case. My biggest concern was Our room having an odd urine odor. Other than that ; the staff was unpleasant, our television wouldn't work, the beds slept terrible, the phone didn't work, and the location is in a rough area.. I feel I over-paid.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bessemer hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham/Bessemer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Bessemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Birmingham Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer
Address: 4980 Academy Ln, Bessemer, AL 35022-5471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Bessemer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer Hotel Bessemer
Fairfield Inn And Suites Birmingham Bessemer
Fairfield Inn Bessemer
Fairfield Bessemer
Bessemer Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing