We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh!”

Bright Star Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Bessemer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Hoover, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Not a place you want to wander around outside but so worth the drive! Food is excellent! Salad is genuine Greek. The seafood is as good as on the coast. The chef has specials that show the best and freshest! The coffee is even excellent! The wine list is the only thing I would want to improve,,, unless you get one of the few grumpy waitresses...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    86
    31
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Was visiting a friend in Alabama and she and her husband said they HAD to bring me to this restaurant and I was not disappointed! The food AND the service was very good and we were there the Friday before the BIG BAMA and Texas A&M game, so spirits were HIGH!!! I would definitely return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank navymom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Five Star Plus”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have never been disappointed with The Bright Star, and that covers over forty years of visits.
Jimmy is always at the door to greet you and make you feel at home and the service is terrific. Not once have we ever needed anything but that the server was there immediately. The menu has a wide variety of options, but the seafood excels them all. Best Gumbo on the planet! Did I forget deserts? They are just a bonus and what a bonus they are. Try the pineapple cheesecake pie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Watson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy with this choice”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good food but dinner was very pricey! Best thing I liked was the Greek salad and the Lemon box pie ~ will worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an atmosphere that you would not expect in a small town”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had lunch. Dinner is rather expensive, but it has old world atmosphere oozing from its pores. Restaurant is 105 years old ..... serves great food in an elegant atmosphere. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bright Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing