We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in an atmosphere that you would not expect in a small town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bright Star Restaurant

Bright Star Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Bessemer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an atmosphere that you would not expect in a small town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had lunch. Dinner is rather expensive, but it has old world atmosphere oozing from its pores. Restaurant is 105 years old ..... serves great food in an elegant atmosphere. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    82
    29
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northport, Alabama
1 review
“"GREAT"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We drive from Northport Al every chance we get because we always know we will have a good experience. We have been going regularly for 11 years and have never had a bad experience Jimmy / Nick and staff are (GREAT) Seafood / Steaks / Desserts / Lunch or Dinner this is one place you will put on your favorite list. If you are passing through it is well worth the stop.
Roll Tide

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hueytown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bright Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

You can go to restaurants in Birmingham, pay lot of money, get small portions of food with little interest or you can go to Bessemer and dine at the Bright Star and have a great meal, wonderful service, and the best desserts. The Greek items are extremely good but if you prefer regular cooked items, they are always fresh and cooked to your specifications. We have had planned parties of groups of 50 and everything was always served on time, hot with great service. I recommend this restaurant and the Koikos family hightly!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angora1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
177 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a couple of hours to spend so we dropped by the Bright Star. Jimmy was there to great us, as was Marlon. We sat in the bar area so Buffy was there to take care of us. We started with a Greek salad then moved on to the main course - the Greek tenderloin. It comes highly recommended and was outstanding. The fried green tomatos with shrimp were great too. The Greek potatos are good but sometimes a good baked potato just goes with a steak. Don't forget the peanut butter pie!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjinright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“From 1907 Until.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Bright Star has been in business, as a family restaurant, since 1907. The present owners take pride in the food that is prepared and they strive to continue giving their customers the type of food that they have come to expect. They are very successful in what they do for many reasons but they never sit back on their laurels and let their past history be the sole reason people come for a meal. They constantly strive to keep the menu fresh and interesting for the customer who has been coming for years as well as for the new ones who are there for the first time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank southernstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bright Star Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bright Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing