We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of all the rest...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bright Star Restaurant

Bright Star Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Bessemer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best of all the rest...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My family has been dining at the Bright Star for over 90 years.
We would not think of celebrating special events anywhere else.
Great food with a personal touch which makes for lots of wonderfull memories.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    82
    29
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gardendale, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kitty's Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

On April 20th I took my wife for her (age secret) birthday. As frequent visitiors to this wonderful restaurant and setting, we knew there was only one place to celebrate her day. Sonya, our server, had our table ready with personal placemats she had designed with pictures from facebook and " HAPPY BIRTHDAY KITTY" from two who love your. Kitty had a serving of the Greek shrimp on skewers and, I had the Greek tenterloin steak (my favorie) with wine. Our friend, Andreas, who oversees the kitchen stopped by and sat at the table to wish her the same. Lemon pie was brought to her with candle and the singing began. However, anyone that comes here to dine is treated with the same type of courtesy,service and quality food.
Come and visit...ask for Benny and Kitty. Most likely, we will be here. Treat someone special to you.
Benny R.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Hamptons...love it love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband surprised me after a long drive from Gatlinburg, Tn. "Happy Anniversary", he said. Indeed, the best place to eat in Bessemer. The whole experience was wonderful. Special thanks to the greeter, waiter, and the wonder customers we met.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamptons09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The Bright spot in Bessemer is The Bright Star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We love going to The Bright Star Restaurant! The staff are warm, welcoming, and eager to provide an enjoyable dining experience. The food is consistently good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan5513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best meal I have had in a long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had our Easter dinner at the Bright Star. It was wonderful! The Greek Tenderloin is to die for and the crab claws were so delicious! We will be going back agian and again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bright Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing