We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Classic Dinning!”

Bright Star Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Bessemer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
356 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Classic Dinning!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Bright Star is the oldest operating restaurant in Alabama, which first opened its kitchen in 1907. It is a place that takes you back and is a tradition worth going to. The Greek Salad is one of the best you will ever have!! The Greek Style Snapper and tenderloin are comfort restaurant food that you just have to have.

And dessert? If you don't get the Lemmon Pie, you just haven't lived.....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartyHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    86
    31
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
113 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“James Beard Foundation named this one a keeper...what.else do you need?”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My family has enjoyed the Kiokos.family's hospitality and delicious food for four generations - and for two of those generations we've traveled from Atlanta to dine there. Try the Greek tenderloin or the Greek Snapper..the salads are always fresh and the desserts will set you free. The service is Southern the way it's supposed to be. Buy a copy of the.history of the restaurant and ask Jimmy and Nicky to autograph it for you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HGLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wonderful food and service.”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have eaten at the Bright Star for many years . Love both the wonderful food and service. Very friendly atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msolewiseone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It took a little effort to find since the GPS wasn't sure where it was. I called and the owner directed me from where I was. He then greeted my party at the door and sat us at Coach Paul "Bear" Bryant's favorite table. He and his staff could not have been more attentive. He even brought us a free sample of the gumbo which was delicious. The Beef Tenderloin just won an award for the best steak in Alabama and I have to agree. It was definitely one of the best steaks I have ever had. This will be a regular stop for me when I return to the Birmingham area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Famous for seafood but try their steaks!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had dinner last Friday evening at the venerable Bright Star in Bessemer. Wonderful choice. Greek tenderloin 5 stars. K.C. Extra Cut 5 stars too. Fried Shrimp also not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bookitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bright Star Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bright Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing