We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from hotel.”
Review of Tangrenjie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tangrenjie Hotel
Ranked #159 of 487 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I took the taxi from the airport to this hotel. The hotel charges 300rmb for pickup.
Location of hotel is about 15min walk from west street and 20min walk from the bus station. It is on a quiet street that faces the Li River. I had ordered Panoramic Queen Room. The view from the room was great. The room was nice size and the bed was very big and comfortable. The decor of the room was a bit old. The only problem with the room was the bathroom had a bad smell. We had to close the door to the bathroom went we are in the room. To the east of the hotel there is a bridge. Cross the bridge and go down to the river bank, there you can take a relaxing stroll along the river.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MewMewCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2008

I booked a King View room via a Chinese website for the princely sum of £31 per night. It was money very well spent.
The bed was so huge - king plus - that as a 6ft guy, I could not reach the end if I lay sideways! Lord knows how many people are meant to sleep in it, but there was only me and I could spread out to my heart's delight.
The little balcony had a fine view over the Li River and the nearby karsts, and was particularly good when looking out at them lit up at night.
All was very clean and spacious and efficient. The front desk was a pleasure to deal with. Lots of smiles and always someone on hand to speak English if necessary.
It's an easy walk to West Street and around Yangshuo. There's a bike hire place on the pavement opposite the hotel, and to have a 15 speed mountain bike for £2 a day proved a wonderful bargain.
I wasn't keen to leave to head to Hong Kong and work!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

After reading the reviews prior to the trip, I was rather worried about the state of the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised that the receptionists were efficient, the room was clean and quite big, the bathroom appears to have been recently refurbished and the location not too far off from the famous Western St. It's true that the view is nothing to talk about - you can only see a bit of the river and its across a main road.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank E.S.Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Check in takes too long that people are complaining.
Room is so small. I booked a room that faces the Li River. But the room was not really facing the river.
The room was so narrow. The TV table was so near the bed that we hardly have any place to walk. Room is really smelly! Will never recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank aghShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

the time waiting for checking in is a little longer,but other service is good.the facility is not bad .

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Hallyzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Stay away from this hotel. The bathroom stinks! We have to change several rooms to find one not smelly (because they did not put in the U-tube under the sink during construction so the sewage smell comes up). I went in Jan when it was cold. The room was ice cold when I walked in--no heater is on! I had to turn on the in-room air-conditioning unit, which took forever to heat up and will not go up to more than 17°C. Later I was told that I had to call front desk to ask them to turn on the heater for my room! Am I asking too much to think that a hotel should turn on its heater when it is open to receive guests? I understand they want to save energy and money, but don't do it on guests!

Things just go downhill. Rooms are not clean. But that is so trivial when compared to how front desk treats guests. We booked the hotel through a local travel agent because we decided on an overnight stay in yangshuo the day before. They gave us a good rate. But when the front desk realized from our passports that we are US citizens, they insisted on a new rate which doubles the original price citing that the lower rate is for Chinese only! How outrageous is that in this day and age to discriminate against people based on citizenship!

I can't think of any positive things about this hotel--it is located quite far away from the West street in the middle of nowhere. The air quality is so bad that one cannot see the river from across the street even if one is in a river front room (as we did).

Just stay away!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-world-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

The Chinatown hotel is a 3.5 to 4 star hotel catering to tourists. The rooms are clean with very big beds. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the West Street tourist area. Be careful to ask the front desk how to walk to this area...it can be confusing if you are not familiar with the area. Overall we had a good experience here.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Geoexplore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 487 in Yangshuo County
178 reviews
0 mi away
Yangshuo Village Retreat
Yangshuo Village Retreat
#16 of 487 in Yangshuo County
265 reviews
0 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 487 in Yangshuo County
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 487 in Yangshuo County
269 reviews
0 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 487 in Yangshuo County
1,138 reviews
0 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 487 in Yangshuo County
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangrenjie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangrenjie Hotel

Address: No.30 Guanlian Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 487 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $23 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tangrenjie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tangrenjie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangrenjie Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing