We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveler rating
519
124
14
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
124
14
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdutch couplechinese staffguest houselovely courtyardcentral courtyardrenovated farmhousebeautiful surroundingskarst mountainschinese countrysidechinese dishesyangshuo areabamboo raftingbike rentalthe riverguesthousegtcycling
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 667 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2017

Our guide brought us at the Giggling Tree for lunch. We appreciated the lunch and the place. We had burgers which were tasty and the price was okay. The place is well managed by a Dutch and would like to come again to the guesthouse.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank leonardo_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017

Certainly, the Giggling Tree is deserving of five stars! From the moment we first contacted the Giggling Tree, staff responded quickly and efficiently to any of our queries. The property itself is beautiful: renovated farmhouses surrounding a lovely courtyard - perfect for meals or a drink.

The staff have also put together sets of picture books which will guide you through the countryside on bikes you can rent on site. Not only were the tours delightful, but the bikes were well-maintained and perfectly suited for the surrounding terrain.

Be aware that this is a family-friendly property: in fact, kids run the roost. Nonetheless, there are a few nooks and crannies where you can escape the noise and enjoy the stunning scenery with a beer.

As far as activities in the area, we really enjoyed biking around and bamboo rafting. However, the water show was a bit of a disappointment: it was sloppy and certainly not up to the design of its creator.

Also, be aware that airport pickups entail an inevitable waiting fee, which appears to be charged from the moment your plane lands, for it will take at least 30 minutes to exit the airport after an international arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thanh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

The room was clean and pleasant, however some damp was evident in our clothes when we packed to leave. We had three nights, food was good with a lovely courtyard dinning area (luckily it stayed dry), very helpful hosts.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank JohnMurt737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

We loved the giggling tree. So friendly and welcoming, with lovely local and western food. Very family friendly indeed, and enjoyed laid-back vibe - e.g. Bar games and books to borrow, quiz night etc
Yangshuo is beautiful, and Guilin, whilst busy and touristy is unique.

We can't recommend enough.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

It is a nice place to stay but not in March and mainly during raining time.
Our room was leaking at 2h30 morning, not great experience after we had to put towels on floor to absorb the water and pray that it will stop. The food is just ok I will say, we order the chicken lemon and the oil was not so fresh, few hours later our stomach did suffer a bit. Bathroom not really finish, with tap that are with calcaire, wall in concrete not finish. Door are beautiful made with locker but no proof sound, you can hear anything from the corridor. Room with fire place very nice but it gets too smoky few times. Not pleasant.
The restaurant room very cold. On a very positive way, The staff are amazing friendly mainly the Chinese staff, very smiling, helpful, fast, big thank to them. Also to not forget that they have bikes and you can go around and it is a beautiful place to go if you like the nature.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Oamericano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews