We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place”
Review of The Giggling Tree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Giggling Tree
Ranked #2 of 443 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a week at the giggling tree and it was fantastic. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they arranged all our tours. The food is great but the actual layout is the best. A lovely courtyard, a great pool and a fantastic relax garden where you can sit and look out over the mountains. The giggling tree is very child friendly which is great. Overall a fantastic place to have lots of outdoor fun. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 650 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were there without our children for three days, after visiting my sister in Beijing, so it was a wonderful contrast to the noise and atmosphere of the big city. We liked the staff and the surrounding, had some great dinner there, also snake! they made possible. We were bicycling every day, going on with their fun photo books. The area is just amazing, as if you are on a different planet . Experimenting the area ourselves during the day,but on good advice of the staff, we found it nice and cosy being back in the charming hotel where we were hosted so well. Thank you so much!
Leonie

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonieveyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We (2 adults, 3 kids from 10 to 16) stayed in the giggling tree at end of March '14. The guest house is located around 5 kilometers west of Yangshuo in a small village. An old farm has been converted to a guest house with a very special atmosphere. We just loved to sit in the inner courtyard enjoying our meals and chatting with other guests. The guest rooms were quite simple but clean and comfortable. The staff was always very friendly and helped us to arrange taxi pick-up whenever we needed it. We rented bikes on 2 days. Giggling tree has worked out some bike tours and provided us with some photo booklets to show which direction to take at crossings. Without the booklets we would have been lost. Unfortunately, it had rained a lot during the night so some of the trails were near impassable. Good thing that giggling offers a laundry service because our clothes really needed it afterwards. Our kids decided that they would definitely go there again and that is a high assessment for Giggling Tree :-) .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klausinchina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I visited the Giggling tree with my sister and mother at the end of march to celebrate my mothers birthday. It had been recommended to me by a friend and we were lucky to get one of the last triple rooms available in spring break. Paulien and family were so helpful even before we had arrived and booked a taxi and boat trip down the River Li to Xing Ping on arrival. This was a great way to spend the afternoon as we arrived at lunchtime so felt like we had made the most of the day. We arrived at the giggling tree at 7pm and it was just perfect. Our room was simple yet just what we needed with tea making facilities, a modern shower room and a mosquito net! It felt like we were in a French chalet! The food was outstanding and such amazing value and we enjoyed every meal. We rented bikes daily from the hotel for 20 yuan each and cycled to Moon Hill, the water caves and dragon bridge. I would recommend all of these activities as the scenery is out of this world. The hotel provides little photographed booklets so you can follow the directions to lead you to each place. You must go into Yangshuo in the evenings as it is fun, lively and offers a great night out! The hotel provides a taxi service for 35 yuan each way. The light show wasn't overly impressive but still worth going to. The staff and service at the hotel was fantastic and nothing was ever too much. I shall most certainly be returning very soon! Thank you Paulien and Karst!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmWong87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We (3 adults and 3 children) stayed 3 nights in The Giggling Tree. We had a wonderful stay. The whole staff is extremely friendly and helpfull. Everything is possible, nothing seems a problem. The food and the wine are both great, the children loved the Oreo milkshake. There are lots of activities, from biking (great tours available), hiking to fan painting. And the view from the pool is stunning. So pack your bags....... Not to miss!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oeike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karst D, Owner at The Giggling Tree, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

What a beautiful words. Please be welcome again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Giggling tree is not in the city but only 20 mins away from Yangshuo by bicycle. They have lots to do in the area and staff are friendly, rooms are comfortable and big. We were there in spring so it was still cold, rainy and misty but I can just imagine summer must be exquisite with all the outdoor venues in this gorgeous place.

Do go visit here, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yularox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A very special, friendly, authentic place! Old farmhouses, renovated with love and panache, around a beautiful courtyard, where we could relax and watch our kids playing. We loved it! Great for families!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
1.0 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
2.4 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#7 of 483 in Yangshuo County
275 reviews
2.0 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 483 in Yangshuo County
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 483 in Yangshuo County
263 reviews
3.1 mi away
Yangshuo Village Inn
Yangshuo Village Inn
#3 of 443 in Yangshuo County
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giggling Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giggling Tree

Address: Mainstreet Aishanmen village, 5 km from Yangshuo, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 443 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $43 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tiny village Aishanmen, close to the scenic Yulong river only 5 km west from tourist hotspot Yangshuo, we renovated traditional yellow brick farmer houses into a beautiful inn. The courtyard is breathtaking. Our atmospheric restaurant and terrace with scenic views give travelers the chance to breathe fresh air again. In April 2013 we have opened our outdoor swimmingpool. Why stay in the city, when the countryside is so amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Giggling Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giggling Tree Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing