We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get more authentic than this!”
Review of The Giggling Tree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Giggling Tree
Ranked #2 of 451 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Escaping urban China in search of a peaceful break in the countryside - we couldn't have found anywhere better. This beautifully converted traditional housing complex is a haven. There is nowhere better to base yourself to explore Yangshao and the spectacular limestone scenery of this World Heritage area. Great food, reasonable prices, really helpful and friendly staff and a very child-friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 652 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

This place is a must for anyone in the Yangshuo area. I would come back here just to stay at this guesthouse as it is one of my top experiences in China. Set in a serene rural area outside of the city, we spent hours bicycling around and just enjoying the peace and quiet. The main courtyard was a nice, social gathering area any time of day. After dinner many people seemed to stay and chat over a few drinks and the courtyard looks even more beautiful at night with the lanterns. The delicious food also made it a perfect stay. We took a taxi to get here from the centre of town and had printed off the Chinese map from the website to avoid any confusion with the taxi driver.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was in need of a respite form the fabulous intensity of the Chinese cities, so I took a punt on the Giggling tree. Turned out to be an excellent move. Lovely conversion of an old farm house, ideally placed just an easy bike ride from Yangshou , but far enough in to the country side to feel a sense rural China.
The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean, and the staff and management do a great job to make your stay relaxed with out too much fuss.
One thing I really liked was the clever home made photo guide books to the trails, paths and road of the district. These really get you out and about and very quickly. It would be very difficult to navigate with out them.
After a big day on the bike exploring the trails and back roads of this glorious region it was lovely to sit on the terrace, enjoy a beer and some food form the kitchen as the calm cool quite descends on this delightful, well run, relaxing little place. And it’s pretty good value!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Loved our stay here. Ideal place to relax after some intense weeks of traveling China, in the middle of the karst mountains and just at the right distance from Yangshuo.. Beautiful old courtyard farm with huge, pretty rooms; great food; soft beds with mosquito nets; and excellent staff with good English (and Dutch!). If you enjoy a bike ride, be sure to ask for their pictured bike maps.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Johanneke_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at The Giggling Tree. Not only the bed and room are comfortable, the owners and the manager Nikki are just wonderful and kind. Having breakfast in the terrace is my favorite thing to do. I love the fact that it is not located in the city center of Yangshuo cause it could be polluted, crowded and noisy in the city center. Yet, The Giggling Tree is close enough for me to go for a nice bamboo boat ride. I was there for the beautiful landscape and wanted to relax so I did the right thing to stay at the Giggling Tree. Thank you and I will come back again with Bagel and Puffy : )

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggy-bubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at The Giggling Tree for three nights in early November.
The location is great, outside the frantic bustle of Yangshuo but only a short bike ride to get there.
The rooms were a really good size and very well equipped with relatively soft (unusual in China) very comfortable beds.
The staff were all really really good and made our stay one we will remember for a long time. The owners Karste and Pauline are quite hands on and we really enjoyed talking to them about their experiences.

Even if you don't stay at The Giggling Tree, I would recommend you try the restaurant, the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benny001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This guesthouse is wonderful. I have stayed in more than 80 hostels and guesthouses in nearly 30 countries, and this is easily in my top three.

The main reason to go to Yangshuo is the beautiful countryside. Giggling Tree is slap in the middle of it and well worth the 20min tuk tuk drive from the busy town centre.

The food from the restaurant is excellent and there is lots to do: bamboo rafting down the Yulong or boating down the Li, bike hire, cormorant fishing, kung fu and tai chi, table tennis, and there are a couple of guitars lying around in the reception.

The owners have poured their heart and soul into making this hostel really special. They came to say hello to us when we checked in, and are generally really hands on and friendly. They even joined us one evening for a guitar and singing session that lasted well into the night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterslide_victory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 487 in Yangshuo County
1,138 reviews
1 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 487 in Yangshuo County
630 reviews
2.4 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 487 in Yangshuo County
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 487 in Yangshuo County
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 487 in Yangshuo County
267 reviews
3.1 mi away
Yangshuo Village Inn
Yangshuo Village Inn
#3 of 451 in Yangshuo County
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giggling Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giggling Tree

Address: Mainstreet Aishanmen village, 5 km from Yangshuo, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $40 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tiny village Aishanmen, close to the scenic Yulong river only 5 km west from tourist hotspot Yangshuo, we renovated traditional yellow brick farmer houses into a beautiful inn. The courtyard is breathtaking. Our atmospheric restaurant and terrace with scenic views give travelers the chance to breathe fresh air again. In April 2013 we have opened our outdoor swimmingpool. Why stay in the city, when the countryside is so amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Giggling Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giggling Tree Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing