We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good food”
Review of River View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River View Inn
Ranked #23 of 487 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The rooms here were a little damp, but this is to be expected everywhere in yangshuo. The staff was friendly and helped us book several really nice trips. They even speak english well here.
You can order several kinds of breakfast menus, the ones we tried were really good, including fresh orange juice! The adjacent restaurant was also very nice, good food and not too expensive.
The location is excellent next to the river and just outside the tourist center.
Booking a river view room is useless, the river view is blocked by trees, and you just end up on the noisy street side. The windows don't hold back much of the sound.

Room Tip: Don't take the river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandereerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 320 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Family of 4, we had 2 twin rooms which had enough room, comfy firm bed, clean bathroom and free wifi.
All of the staff were extremely friendly and provided excellent service throughout.
Great location on the river and less than 5 minute walk to West St.
Food at restaurant was consistently good with plenty of choice at reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

River view is an excellent Chinese/Western hybrid hotel. Our balcony room had basic furniture, Chinese tv, thin towels and those infamous Chinese beds, but brilliant wifi connection, a tranquil view of the river through the trees, fabulous hot water in the shower and genuine, welcoming staff, most of whom spoke excellent English. We decided to stay 2 extra days which they gave to us at the Trip Advisor price, much cheaper than the displayed room rates. They then phoned our hotel in Xian to make the necessary changes to that reservation as for some reason I couldn't do it on my tablet. The hotel is located just past the markets, so is very quiet. The hotel has an annexe 50m up the road, which also houses their restaurant. Breakfast is additional, but excellent. You can order individual items or a set menu. The yoghurt and muesli is excellent. As is the coffee. If you decide to stay, I urge you to spend a bit extra to get a room with a view. Having a few beers( ¥10 for a freezing cold Carlsberg from the grocery store on the corner) in the late afternoon, while watching the street and the river was a highlight.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Suzrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Were in our early 60’s. Our prerequisites and not necessary in this order are; Location; (√) clean; (√) quiet; (√) Wi-Fi; (√) being able to communicate with staff. (√). Our upmarket room had a view of 10 metres of river if you stood on the balcony, but it was quiet. At night you can watch the ballroom dancers practising on the badminton size court until 9.45pm and the karsts are lit up. Staff were helpful, friendly and some could speak English. There web site prices are out of date, but we established that and got the new prices before we arrived via email. The room size was more than adequate; it even had an open wardrobe to hang clothes. All the plumbing worked and the shower had sliding doors that ensured that the rest of the bathroom didn’t get wet. There was some mould on the outside of the shower and the inside of the bathroom door still had partial protection wrapping from delivery on it. Breakfast was a bit of a gamble. E.g. 1 days banana pancake was awful and the next day was very good. (The awful one cant have been cooked by the cook! ) We discovered this by accident, having ordered banana porridge the 2nd day because of the awful pancake experience on the 1st day, they bought out a banana pancake to our table (the waitress ticked the wrong box) which looked OK, so we kept it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel (although listed as an Inn) during April, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Right on the side of the Li River, and far enough away from the touristy bit, to not get disturbed during the night!

We had a slight problem with the air conditioner unit, that almost flooded us out come morning. A word with the manager (not a complaint) and we were moved to a front view room with a view of the river - a free upgrade.j

Staff spoke enough English to understand each other, and the ordered food was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade - you may get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a great choice of hotel on the river where it is a bit quieter but close enough to all the action to enjoy a bit of the action (after being in very remote areas where no English was spoken). River view rooms are large and airy with a balcony to watch the world go by. Towels are a bit tired but a good shower. Breakfast was extra but very substantial and good value for a western breakfast. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful with good English. We had our mid trip washing done here which was prompt and successful.
We went on their day trip cycling, bamboo rafting and climbing moon hill with a private guide which was about 4 1/2 hours and really worthwhile. There was plenty of activities but my healthy 75 year old dad was able to do it all.

Room Tip: River view rooms are lovely, higher levels have better views but there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel was so welcoming and the staff had an extremely good grasp of English and went out of their way to help with anything we needed, places to go or just leave us to relax on our own.
Right on the river with a short stroll to the rest of the town, markets and sights. Waking up in the morning to the fog hanging over the river was magic in itself. High on our list of places to go back to. PS food at their restaurant(s) were great.

Room Tip: With a balcony off our room it was a great place to relax and take in the view. I think the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizzo179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#33 of 487 in Yangshuo County
190 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 487 in Yangshuo County
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#21 of 487 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#5 of 487 in Yangshuo County
309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 487 in Yangshuo County
1,138 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 487 in Yangshuo County
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Inn

Address: No.25 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $38 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a prime location, only meters from the Li River. Some English speaking staff who could not have been more helpful. Superior service from all concerned.The usual tourist type shops are only 5 minutes away. This is the place seen on TV where cormorants dive for fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your River View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel River View
River View Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing