We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent budget hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River View Inn
Ranked #22 of 434 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in a room on 1st floor. The room had a window facing a courtyard garden which I was happy about because river view rooms get more noise from the street. I think river view rooms are overpriced because the view is nothing special really. From other side I got my room for only 80 RMB, which was the cheapest double room I had in China and of course great value for money. The room was clean, with every accessories that a budget hotel can offer, including TV, shampoo, slippers, teapot, etc. The hotel's location is the best in town, close to the Li river, close to the main streets where you will spend time in evening, but the place where the hotel itself is quiet, so you wont hear a music from bars. The staff is nice, speaks good English. There is a small cafe with good food and many bikes for rent, including some cross-country Giants. Overall I enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Choose a room WITHOUT a river view. The river is nothing special, but garden view rooms are much qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MihailSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    147
    46
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
130
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in room 308 for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was large and sunny, the view spectacular and the pretty balcony a lovely bonus. The bathroom even had an enclosed shower! The first we have had since coming to China. The room also had a kettle. The TV had only Chinese stations. The wifi was pretty slow, but it worked. They also have 2 free computers that are ethernet connected for guests’ use. The breakfast was very good and the portions large compared to all the other breakfasts we have had in China. The staff was very friendly and helpful and were fluent in English.

We really loved Yangshou. It’s a very walkable town, has great restaurants, some eclectic shops, and is great for people watching. The hotel arranged tickets for the Impression Sanjie Liu performance at a small discount. I have never seen such a spectacular show in my life ! Highly, highly recommended. The hotel also helped me arrange for bamboo rafting down the Yulong River. The trip was beautiful and serene.

Just across the street from the hotel is the Li River and some fantastic scenery. Boats and bamboo rafts ply the river, horses are on the opposite riverbank, there is a small waterfall nearby

Room Tip: the higher levels have better views. we had 308 which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKimBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is in a great location...just far enough from all the noise but a short walk to where it's happening! We found the Chinese people to be so very accommodating and friendly but this was the only place where I didn't feel that way...we were not greeted when we arrived, didn't feel welcome and wasn't told about the 4 flights of stairs we would need to climb to get to our room! And no one helped us with luggage! We were there for 4 nights and after about 2, the bathroom started smelling like a sewer...there was a drain there and we threw some water down it and covered it with a towel and the smell was gone. The furniture and bed/bathroom linens need to be upgraded but it was clean.

Room Tip: Be aware that the hotel does not have an elevator! We stayed at the top floor (4th) which was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleS1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the River View hotel. Loved the location as it was away from the noise of the hopping town centre but still close to everything and easy to walk to from the end of the Li River cruise that we took to get to Yangshuo from Guilin. Rooms are basic but a good size and comfortable. Linens and towels well-worn but clean. No safe in the room and no wardrobe but lots of hangers and hooks. Good prices for having laundry done by the hotel (ranging from 3-6 RMB per item of what I had washed). Nice and helpful front desk people with good English. You can rent bikes here and don't forget to check out the restaurant menu and prices before venturing into town to compare for value. We ended up having most breakfasts and dinners here after the first two days once we looked at the menu and what others were eating! You can book tours at the front desk and rent bikes. We also booked a massage which is just 4 minutes down the road and loved it so much we went back two days later for a longer massage. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynemegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a lovely hotel to stay at while visiting Yangshuo, however beware of SOME of the staff. While enjoying a nice although very expensive coffee, 25RMB, ($3.85 AUD), I witnessed a couple of twelve year old Australian kids getting being totally ripped off by the hotel staff. These unknowing kids had just ordered 3 hash browns along with a serve of french fries. The staff charged them a massive 90 Yuan, ($13.84). Annoyed at this blatant dishonesty I immediately jumped up from my seat, went to their rescue and told them that they were being over charged; These kids didn't understand the money exchange and were both rather shocked. The two hotel staff involved were obviously fully aware of their ignorance and were taking advantage of this fact and until I intervened were taking full advantage of this fact. After my intervention the kids decided to cancel one of the hash browns and the charge was reduced down from 90 CNY to 65.00 CNY the equivalent of $9.00 AUD/USD. I think the Hotel's staff should be absolutely ashamed of themselves. I am also certain that this type of day light robbery would NEVER occur back home in Melbourne, Australia.

A little note to the staff involved in this incident.

Think carefully before you act. Tourism is good for any economy and by me posting this poor review onto Trip Adviser I hope that the staff involved will learn some respect for your clients and employers. You have marred the reputation of your otherwise wonderful hotel by what you have done.

Sincerely,
Francine R.
Australia

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is ideally located close to West Street Yangshuo's most famous street. Adding to the benefit of staying here is the fact that the hotel is located adjacent the river. We sincerely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proudmelbourneian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Room was basic but comfortable, and with the river facing room you get a scenic view of Li River and passers-by on the sidewalk. The huge balcony allows you to relax and even sun your clothes!

Location is unbeatable, just a few steps from West Street but not noisy. Accessible to the bus station but walking takes 15 mins. Hotel has all the basics - wifi, clean toilets, travel booking services and a cafe that serves decent food - all with Engish speaking staff.

Would recommend this hotel for travellers who want convenience without the crowd or noise. Suitable for families and adults.

Room Tip: Get the river facing rooms. They are worth the view after a long day out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#14 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
5.4 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#24 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Lotus Hotel
Green Lotus Hotel
#17 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Inn

Property: River View Inn
Address: No.25 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a prime location, only meters from the Li River. Some English speaking staff who could not have been more helpful. Superior service from all concerned.The usual tourist type shops are only 5 minutes away. This is the place seen on TV where cormorants dive for fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your River View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel River View
River View Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing