We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel in China!”
Review of River View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River View Inn
Ranked #23 of 487 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our favourite hotel in China! The river view hotel is a fantastic hotel in the beautiful setting of Yangshuo. The location is fantastic, situated on the banks of the Li River and at the end of West street, the main shopping area which is a great place to spend the evenings but the hotel is far enough away to avoid the noise at night. The service was fantastic, all staff spoke very good English and were very happy, friendly and attentive. We arranged both our tours with the hotel; a bamboo raft ride that picked us up on the river on our doorstep, and tickets to the impressions performance which included collection and drop off to and from the hotel. Breakfast was not included in the room price but only cost 25Y (£2.50) for a large selection of western breakfasts including English, French, Dutch and American. We arranged collection from the train station via email before we arrived and the staff responded immediately and easily arranged a large vehicle for us as we were travelling in a party of 6. On the day we left Yangshuo we were collected from the hotel at 7am; we ordered our breakfasts the night before and it was waiting for us at 6.30am. We paid a bit extra for a balcony which was worth it. Very clean and friendly hotel, excellent value for money. Absolutely loved it, would definitely stay here again, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethdeBroise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 320 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

It is a basic hotel that can provide everything you need. Rooms are spacious but beds were very hard. The hotel is located centrally in front of the river with easy access to the restaurants, marina, and shops (Western Street 200 m away).
Our TV did not work when we arrived but the defect had been dealt with by the hotel staff very efficiently. It is worth mentioning that our air con was working perfectly what is very important in the area with high humid level like Yangshuo.
There is a small off licence shop next door where you can buy absolutely everything. On the ground floor they have a small cafe where food can be served. We only had breakfast there and it was tasteful. They serve a lots of continental food like full English breakfast, burgers, chips ect if you are not so kin eating local speciality.
Yangsuo is a good town to buy your souvenirs as local people are kin to bargain with the tourists. We have noticed it was much cheaper to buy goods in this town that anywhere else like Hong Kong or Shanghai. There is also plenty to do in the city. You can hire a bike directly from the hotel for about 40 RMB per day, visit variety of caves, take a boat to Guilin ect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel management team and staff are obviously very familiar with working with international tourists. There is always at least one English-speaking staff at the receptions during the day and early evening. Besides offering Chinese cuisine in the restaurant, there are more than sufficient western dishes, including breakfast sets. There is a shower stall in the bathroom! The electrical outlets have built-in adapter for power plugs of various configurations! Wi-Fi is available in the building. There are 2 public computers with free internet access for guests to use.

There is no elevator in both the hotel and guest house buildings, so this may not be suitable for some. Rooms are well-sized and well-equipped where some have bigger balconies than others. Some bathrooms have sewer odor which is common in many hotels and guest houses in China.

I prefer the room setup in the hotel building, rather than those in the guest house building.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little more walking, the views on the balconies on the top floor are less li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a good value hotel in a perfect location and the staff are very helpful - overlooks the li river and 200 Metersr from lots of restaurants bars and shops - book via their email and get big discounts - we had a great stay - free internet also

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is not a five star hotel, but what do you expect in a out of the way, high humidity area. We did love this hotels location next to the river and a short walk from the dock where our Cruise dropped us off. It is easy to get around this town. There are no cars, electric golf carts instead and what looks like homemade transportation. We walked. We did the Countryside tour through CITS from the Guilin airport and they kept us organized and spoke excellent english. We got great pictures on bamboo rafts and of water buffalo and the area was gorgeous with rice fields and the peaks. They made sure everyone had transportaion back to either Guilin or Yangshou. The spot where our hotel is is off the main road so it is quiet and we enjoyed tea in the morning on our balcony with the locals doing exercising on the River walk below. Very peaceful

Room Tip: The Li River Cruise was booked at the desk at the Guilin Airport and is a part of the CITS organizat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoNative19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

While there are more upscale hotels, this hotel is just the kind I like. It is typical Chinese tropical style with open front and a great veranda overlooking the street and Li River.

I am writing this review from my room. I have been here for five days and have four more to go. I could not be happier. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel has a restaurant and bar and as has been noted in another review...is just off West Street and all the chaos. It is quiet at night and all you normally hear is the sound of the river rushing past.

I have been in hotels all over China and this one is one of the best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vnvet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

It has been a couple of years since I have stayed at the River View Hotel.

The hotel is "comfortable" with it's open-air lobby and restaurant. The rooms have been painted are now a nice soft peach color rather than the former stark white - a nice improvement.

Breakfast in the restaurant is very good and inexpensive.

I had scheduled cooking classes at the Yangshuo Cooking School in the morning of my last day in Yangshuo, and an overnight train out of Guilin that evening. I knew I was going to want a shower after the class and before my overnight train. The hotel was very accommodating and allowed me to keep my room for a 1/2 day fee ($15).

The rooms have individual air conditioning with remote controls.

It is always a pleasure to stay at the River View!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#33 of 487 in Yangshuo County
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#21 of 487 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 487 in Yangshuo County
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#5 of 487 in Yangshuo County
309 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 487 in Yangshuo County
177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 487 in Yangshuo County
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Inn

Address: No.25 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $38 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a prime location, only meters from the Li River. Some English speaking staff who could not have been more helpful. Superior service from all concerned.The usual tourist type shops are only 5 minutes away. This is the place seen on TV where cormorants dive for fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your River View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel River View
River View Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing