We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of New Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Century Hotel
Ranked #59 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Well located but bathroom mouldy. Western breakfast adequate. Staff difficult to communicate with owing to their lack of knowledge of English. OK for a short stay. Within easy reach of local markets, cafes and shops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    82
    68
    25
    9
See reviews for
29
94
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrouge, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is located at just a few minutes walk from West Street with a view on the famous karst mountain. While it is not great to look at, the room we had was very spacious and we had a triple bed-rooms. It is very large and the rooms while not new, is very clean. Cannot complain on this!!!! We were not expecting a top notch hotel as we went to China for the travel experience and we obtained this. The breakfast is not very varied but was sufficient. We had western buffet but there's an Asian buffet in another restaurant. Nice decoration with colourful umbrellas on the ceiling. Location-wise, this is excellent. Comfort wise, it was good enough for us. All the basic neccesites and comfort are there! I would definitely recommend this to travellers who are not overly fussy.

Room Tip: The room we had was good as we have view to the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PM92120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

hotel was set in beautiful surroundings, near to little market stalls and shops, mountains surround the place, we were there on an organised tour of china and hong kong and this was one of our favourite places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debs_59England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistán
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is an average hotel but provides comfortable rooms. The hotel is near west street and within short walking distance of many cafes and shops. The view of hills from hotel room was nice. Chinese breakfast is served in a restaurant and western breakfast is provided in the atrium. The breakfast was very basic and the service was shabby. But overall, worth staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arshadsiraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
414 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Basic hotel in shopping area of town. The best thing about this hotel was its wonderful air conditioning on this 100 degree day! No air in atrium, breakfast was not ideal, few choices and HOT. Pretty umbrellas on the ceiling but atrium was not air conditioned so you don't want to linger. The restaurant at the hotel had very good food, we had an excellent lunch. I would have rather been at a 5star hotel but this came with our tour and it was more than adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59galtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Another stop on our Wendy Wu tour. We enjoyed this hotel and lovely town.
A basic, clean though slightly shabby hotel. The room was ok but the bathroom rather tired - poor tiling with holes in the grouting etc.

Breakfast was in a lovely courtyard type area and very pretty, with coloured umbrellas hanging from the ceiling, it looked good but it hid a dirty grotty glass ceiling from the diners! The breakfast was good and plenty of it. Again the hot food was hot!

Free Wi Fi with good signal.

Supermarket next door where you can pick up just about anything you need.
Easy walk to markets and night life in this very scenic town.

It was a pity we only had one night here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed of course only for night rest there and therefore you can absolutly book it for. No luxury to expect but OK. 5min walk to the shopping/food street so location is OK for getting everywhere on feet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.6 mi away
Green Lotus Hotel
Green Lotus Hotel
#16 of 446 in Yangshuo County
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
New West Street International Hotel
New West Street International Ho...
#72 of 446 in Yangshuo County
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#21 of 446 in Yangshuo County
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#15 of 446 in Yangshuo County
180 reviews
3.2 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 446 in Yangshuo County
290 reviews
2.4 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 446 in Yangshuo County
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel

Property: New Century Hotel
Address: Near Yangshuo Park, Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Century

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing