We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre hotel in amazing setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Ranked #3 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel in amazing setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Didn't find anything special about this hotel - nice enough rooms and service but nothing out of the ordinary. The views are stunning and I think that makes opinions of this place over inflated.
Incidentally there is currently building work going on next door (in very early stages) so any hopes of having a tranquil stay would currently be dashed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
We're sorry you weren't able to take full advantage of our hotel's offerings during your stay; romantic riverside dining, our extensive wine list, massage, guided tours and complimentary concierge services. For the past 14 years, and four consecutive Traveler's Choice Awards, we are known for our warm friendly service above all, so it's really a pity you didn't experience this.
Most regretful is that you also missed enjoying our wood burning hearth, Christmas dinner and homemade mulled wine. Perhaps next year?
The construction you spoke next door is just land clearing, Not building. We will make an extensive garden and gated parking area there, and it's on the other side of our boundary wall, far from our guest accommodation, so it shouldn't disturb anyone else. We will do the noisy work when we close the hotel for complete renovations the whole month of January.
Hopefully, you will return someday and take full advantage of our exceptional services and facilities.
Safe travels,
Little Fish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    213
    41
    14
    1
See reviews for
315
413
56
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

In what the building lacks in terms of grand entrance, the staff more than make up for in warmth.
We stayed here as part of a pre booked trip around china and I have to say when I arrived, I was a little underwhelmed. But the hotel has a certain charm and won me over with rocking chairs on the river.
The food is excellent and dare I say t the French fries were amazing. Creature comforts for a girl with a cold. This was the only place in china we had a western selection and although welcome at the time, there are far too many Italians in this area.
I would recommend this hotel if you want to relax in natural surroundings. They can organise massages in your room or balcony, Tia chi classes and river punts. Really lovely staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H_crawf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this year. And wow! We still consider this he best place we stayed in the 5 weeks we were travelling round China. We aren't sit and chill out people at all. But that it all we did, and boy did we enjoy it! The view, the beer battered spring rolls, the relaxed atmosphere. It was the perfect place to stay after a week in Hong Kong. If we ever go back to china, we are definitely going to sty here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Incomparable. You can go up and down the Yulong River or, for that matter, the Li, and not find a better view of Karst mountains than the one from the hotel's outdoor tables. The staff are accommodating. The room rates are fair. The beds are comfortable, there's warm water for showers, and the WiFi mostly works.

More mixed: The rooms themselves run from stunning to mediocre; aim for a river view.

The food is poor across the board, and there's nothing much to be said for the beer fish dish, here or elsewhere; head into town (and, sadly, the honky-tonk) for Szechuan food, which tends to be reliable. The local Yangshuo cuisine is undistinguished.

The bicycles are rickety. (The ride along the river through the rice region is fascinating, if risky, with trucks carrying bamboo rafts back upstream.)

Not to worry. Sit by the river, read a book, and sip a cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le_valet_de_pique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hello, dear Sir!
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience with us and in Yangshuo.
Yangshuo food isn't for everyone. But for those who enjoy freshly prepared organic ingredients from local farms, chili peppers and free range chickens and eggs, Yangshuo Mountain Retreat is the place to enjoy, without MSG or as much oil as most local restaurants use.
We're sorry that Yangshuo food didn't impress you at any of the restaurants throughout the county, but at least you found a Sichuan restaurant that you enjoyed! We're always happy to recommend the best choices for local food in Yangshuo, which may not be the ones you read about on TripAdvisor. There are in fact hundreds of Yangshuo restaurants that serve a wide variety of dishes from across China. For us, we specialize for the past 14 years in simple and fresh farm-to-table local food, but we hope next time you will try our homemade pizza, freshly made baguette sandwiches, and other in-house specialties.
As you stayed with us at the very end of a year in which we had nearly full occupancy, our rooms need a refresh, which is why we are closing for the entire month of January to renovate all the rooms.
We hope the next time you come see us you will notice a big difference.
Safe travels,
Little Fish and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Can't really add to everything that's been written here, but suffice it to say that if I could have plausibly skipped my time in Beijing and Shanghai and simply spent 10 days here, I would have. To wake up in the morning to the karst mountains and the river right in front of you. It's a transcendent experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane5546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has fantastic views of the River. They serve a generous breakfast and you can eat it by the river or in the restaurant. Service is good and rooms are clean. Transportation within Yangshou is 40CNY for taxi, 15CNY for tricycle and if you are brave enough to take the shared van to town, it cost 3CNY per person

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lolikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

After a night in the Sheraton in Guilin (both the city and the hotel are very average) it was a delight to wake up the next morning to the surrounding hills and river at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat. Our room had a panoramic view of the karst landscape and it was so quiet and the climate so mild after cold Shanghai. There are lots of good day trips to do including cycling around the area, across to this hotel's sister resort for a roof top lunch, and a short tour to nearby ancient towns. The staff at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat were always smiling and friendly and breakfasts on the lawn, with the stunning landscape backdrop, wonderful. The Impressions night show close to Yangshuo is definitely also a must see.

Helpful?
Thank ozinsingas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.0 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#15 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Address: Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#2 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#5 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing