We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Ranked #3 of 438 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Nth Coast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived it was just magical, beautiful position overlooking the Yulong River.
Meals were very nice and plentiful, prices very competitive with outside the retreat.
The staff were just beautiful, friendly and extremely accommodating.
Free dvd's available as no tv.
Enjoy the bamboo rafting, very relaxing.
This is a lovely and relaxing place to stay

Room Tip: an upstairs room overlooking the river was a great way for us to wake up in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMQNthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    216
    41
    14
    1
See reviews for
325
430
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Yangshuo Mountain Retreat is set in an exquisitely beautiful location with views in all directions of the Yulong river and the amazing surrounding karst peaks. We stayed 3 nights and it is one of our most memorable destinations in all of China. We rafted down the river, climbed to the top of the amazing Moon Hill, took the local bus to Fuli to purchase local artwork. Do your research and barter and you will find a good bargain, particularly if you are prepared to walk away. Unwinding watching the day end from the upper level terrace at their sister hotels Luna restaurant, enjoying the spectacular Lu Sanjie light show, marvelling at local handcrafts, and exploring the surrounding rural villages, countryside and Li River are musts. You can experience a real piece of rural China here. Sally at reception deserves a special mention as she went out of her way to assist us in organising an enjoyable program with hand notes, maps, and the occasional written phrase, just in case we needed it. It exceeded all our expectations. The meals were also great and western choices on the menu offered variety to our family group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this lovely peaceful location.The property is right on the Yulong river with plenty of lounging and viewing areas.The rooms are comfortable and well equipped,with both river and mountain facing sections.

The staff is very helpful and informative about local events and activities.Front desk personnel speak decent english,dining staff do not speak english that well.Meals are western and chinese style,both are of a high quality.Bicycle rentals are available for $5 dollars a day.Make sure to check your bike carefully since they do not appear to be maintained that well.The staff will arrange Lu Sanje tickets ,which should not be missed.Massages are available for 20 dollars an hour per person(recommended)

The location is 10 minutes to West street,12 minutes to Lusanje,5 minutes Yulong rafting, 15minutes Li river rafting,10 minutes Moon Hill- all by car.If traveling by bike you should at least double the time it will take to get there.30 -40 yuan will get you to most attractions by taxi.

If you need an airport transfer the hotel offers a pick up for 300 yuan.The West Street tourist offices offer an airport drop off at various times for 70 yuan per person.

Room Tip: River views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownfootedboobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilzie, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place is located on the Yulong River. You can watch the bamboo rafts go by and go over one of the many weirs along this river. The Mountain retreat is great. I had a room on the second floor, 208. It has magnificent views with privacy.

I enjoyed my short 2 day stay here and I rented one of their bikes on the second day and road through the countryside with my guide. This was just a fabulous experience and I felt very safe the whole time. We set off early and were the only ones on the road to begin with. Then the electric scooters and motorbikes came. By 10.30 the rest of the tourists had woken up and were riding bikes all over the place, some very dangerously. It was agreat experience the meals were great as was their breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

YMR is one of the best Hotels I have stayed in recently. The atmosphere was so calm and scenic, the staff were so friendly and helpful, the food was great and overall we felt we were a part of a great big family. Our room was right facing the Yulong river. The rooms were big and the beds were very comfortable. But I loved the beautiful sight that I got when I woke up every morning, just took my breath away! The Hotel staff help in arranging various activities around Yangshuo and overall made our stay very comfortable. We spent around 3 days here, but I would definitely like to visit again someday and stay for much longer! This stay was one of my most memorable stay in all my travels in China. Kudos to the management of YMR! Great work, keep it up!

Room Tip: Choose a river facing room with balcony...you will cherish the moments you spend there overlooking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanushree_G_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week on a recent trip to China, mostly because of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. This place a paradise. Our bedroom had a balcony overlooking stunning Karst formations, and the river - I've travelled all over the world and never, ever had such a sublime view to wake up to each morning. The staff were extremely friendly and the food was excellent. We are vegetarian, and that presented a challenge in most places in China but not here - their menu included 10+ vegetarian dishes that were authentic, in some cases local and always delicious. We ate at the hotel far more than we intended, as a result. The menu also includes a few basic Western items, which pleased our sometimes-fussy 7 year old.
The location of this hotel could not be better. It's an easy (cheap by taxi) 10 minute drive from Yangshuo, but there is so much to do nearby, too. There are walking paths (about 40 minutes) to Big Banyan Tree, various caves, and Moon Hill (not to be missed). The hotel is happy to arrange bamboo raft trips, and much more. We had intended to do a lot of the trips they advertise on their website - we did do many, such as the light show in Yangshuo, and the bamboo raft - but we also organized a lot ourselves, and it was easy to do. We also chose to relax a lot - their gardens are lovely, and to sit with a beer, watching the bamboo rafts go by and the sun fall slowly behind the Karst peaks... sublime. This is such a safe and beautiful place to visit, and I can't imagine a better hotel to stay in.
A note: many of the people staying at the hotel were part of organized groups, but you don't need that. You can come to Yangshuo, and travel easily on your own, even with almost no Mandarin.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the river and mountains. (Note about the rating: the rooms were 'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centauri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in April 2013 and wish we could have stayed for much much longer. Fantastic location, fantastic staff and fantastic food. A small slice of heaven. The view from the rooms is breathtaking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.0 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#7 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#15 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Address: Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#2 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#5 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing