We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Journey!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Ranked #3 of 438 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Great Journey!”
Reviewed May 2, 2008

We have a great memory staying in the Mountain Retreat and we will absolutely go back again!

We stayed at this hotel from 4.26 to 5.2 and it was a fantastic, peaceful and enjoyable journey, I would say it is one of the best trip in all of our journey in China. The staffs are with great hospitality as they make the Retreat their home. If you are looking for luxurious stay, don't stay at the Retreat and if you already decided to stay there - please don't complaint about the standard. We have a relatively small room for four of us, 2 young kids, but the surroundings and friendliness of the staffs compensated all the shortcoming of the setting. It is all about your attitude of how you appreciate of others - the people, the nature and the history of the place. I don't understand how others bad reviews are made of?

The tranquil, peaceful and simplicity of the surrounding are perhaps the most valuable assets of the hotel. We biked from the hotel to YULONG Bridge, this is a must DO route! A short break at The Holland Hotel is a good choice. However, do carefully choose the right Bamboo rafting as they becomes too commercial nowadays. Hopefully, the environment would be protected and not overly developed like in GUILIN.

  • Liked — The surrounding!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    216
    41
    14
    1
See reviews for
325
430
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
322 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

I cannot understand the complaints about cleanliness. My room was clean and attractive. The hotel was extremely cold and we didn't feel like eating there. However the location was beautiful, this would be a great place to stay in summer. The hire bikes were in poor condition and nobody was available to give us directions so we got horribly lost, but that was part of the adventure.

  • Liked — environment - quiet, views
  • Disliked — location - too far from town, cost of getting to town
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zhuhai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

The YMR's location is fantastic. I can't imagine a more beautiful spot in Yangshuo to spend a few days. The river runs right in front of the hotel. The rooms are basic, and I'd highly recommend staying booking a river-facing view with balcony, as it's a fantastic place to relax and watch the river go by.

The retreat makes a very concerted effort to reduce their effect on the environment. They use lots of recycled wood, buy local and organic items, and do a load of other things which are very admirable. The one tough part for us was the bathroom, as it was a bit on the smelly side. I agree with a former poster, if you're wary about bathrooms, this might not be the place for you.

With that said, the staff is fantastic, and if you're there for a stay or even a meal, be sure to try the apple crumble, it's one of the best I've ever had both in and outside of China.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The bathrooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffanytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

I was surprised to read several recent negative reviews of the Mountain Retreat. We really enjoyed our two-night stay. The food was fabulous, catering to both Chinese and Western palates. We found the rooms, although basic, to be completely clean. (Yes, the bathrooms are small and it takes a while to get hot water.)

We thought that it was a real plus being out of town, as the hotel was very tranquil and we couldn't imagine finding better food elsewhere.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in July.
The rooms are very basic and the standard very low. The rooms weren't clean. The restaurant wasn't clean as well. They didn't change the tablecloths.
But our overall experience was great. The staff was helpfull and friendly. We loved the beautiful surroundings. We rented bikes for several days and saw the small villages and beautiful nature. In the evening there is nothing to do, but the hotel can always arrange a cab to drive you into Yanghou for about 20 RMB.
So don't expect comfort, but great outdoor experiences because of the beautiful surroundings. Despite the turn down things, it was still an unforgettable stay. Therefore I'll give the hotel only one star for the rooms, three stars for the service and five stars for the surroundings. We thought the chinese food in the restaurant was great - I don't understand the bad reviews.

  • Liked — The surroundings
  • Disliked — Not clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstineDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2008

The only good thing about this place is the view. Unfortunately, We couldn`t enjoy the view due to bad weather. Anyway,We were originally going to stay for 5 days but we changed our mind after spending 2 nights there. The room was dirty . The food wasn`t good at all. The shower and the toilet are at the same place(there is no shower curtain or cabinet).....
As we live in Shanghai, we know the prices in this country well. Mountain Retreat is one of the most expensive ones in this place. It is definelty not worth the money.
2nd day of our stay in Yanghuo town we checked into another hotel for half the price. It was much better and cleaner!
If you are not visiting China during Chinese national holidays, You do NOT need to book a hotel room in advance. There are lots of options in this town. I suggest you to see the room first and then make up your mind.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Hanife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YangshuoChris, Owner at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, March 14, 2008
This is an unsubstantiated review. All of our bathrooms are well kept and have built in cabinets and shower curtains. We are a mid-priced hotel and certainly not the most expensive. In over six years of operation we've received nothing but rave reviews about our food. We stand by this, as well as the attentiveness of our staff, the value in what we charge and the overwhelmingly positive experiences documented by dozens of other travelers here on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We loved this property. Peaceful and away from the bustle of Yangshuo town.
Picturesque setting right on the river and amongst karst mountains. We stayed in a family room and had a great view overlooking the Yulong river.
Friendly english speaking staff who are very accommodating. Staff can arrange any tours on your behalf.
Wireless internet available at a small charge and free computer/internet access for guests. Reasonable and very affordable food at the restaurant with great service.
Bikes are available at a small fee for scenic rides by the river and for rides into town.
Great location for taking hikes in local country side. We walked to Moon Hill and then hiked up the mountain. There are plenty more spots close by.

  • Liked — The scenery
  • Disliked — The shower/bathroom
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyTuesdaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.0 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#7 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#15 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Address: Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#2 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#5 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing