We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice when in the right room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Ranked #3 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice when in the right room”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Was really disappointed with the first room - dingy - cold stone floor and tired wall decoration. We paid more for an upgrade and it was so worth it but it made it quite expensive for what we had hoped for. The restaurant was very nice and I liked the log fire and food! Had a couple of problems with them over charging and they didn't tell us certain things - like if you are leaving before 8 you need to tell them the night before and if you want the free shuttle bus you need to book it. The bikes you could hire were excellent and a picture route direction sheet brilliant. A shame it was only done for one route.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Katie,
We're happy you got the room you wanted and that you enjoyed our food and open hearth. Since you live in Shanghai, we hope you'll let us know when you're coming back so that we can do our best to keep the room for you. During the holidays especially, Mountain Retreat tends to be fully booked, so we advise guests to contact us well in advance, as well as book seats on our free shuttle at the front desk. The room you described is our "budget traveler" room, so it is simpler than most. Just to let you know that this room, along with all our others will get a complete makeover starting January 5th this year, so the next time you visit, we hope you'll see a big difference.
Thanks for your very helpful feedback and for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Sincerely,
Little Fish and Mountain Retreat family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    220
    41
    14
    1
See reviews for
334
440
58
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This places incredible, cheap with friendly staff, simple but ecologically friendly rooms with incredible views. Breakfast lunch and dinner on the riverbank was cheap and excellent food (both Chinese and Western). We could have spent our week just relaxing at the resort, although we did do other things including a resort organised bamboo raft from up river rot back to our room, we went late in the afternoon so it was quiet. It was incredible watching the Chinese cast mountain landscape as we enjoyed a bottle of wine. You need to book a long way ahead but do yourself a fouvour and stay here. The place is very family friendly too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have just stayed for a week at the very well reviewed and highly recommended Yangshuo Mountain Retreat which is about a 15 minute taxi drive from the centre of Yangshuo town.
The location is spectacular, especially if you book a second floor room with a balcony overlooking the river. The rooms are very basic but adequate, although personally I didn't find the large bed that comfortable and the hot water takes between 5 and 10 minutes to come through which can be irritating.
However, from my bed I could not only hear the lull of the slow moving river but watch the water go by with the little numerous vertical mountains swirling in mist in the background. It was beautiful, very peaceful and tranquil and very romantic.

The staff are really friendly and helpful and their English is perfect which is really useful when booking local activities. There are numerous things to do and see and trips to go on and if you walk up the road for half an hour you can catch a bamboo raft back down the river to the hotel.

The restaurant seems to be open all the time which is handy but I wouldn't highly rate the food, it was adequate, but is was nice to have an open fire.
I suppose with all the rave about it on the Internet, gaining international recognition and awards, my expectations were just too high and the standard didn't quite match for me. However, I would recommend it for a wonderfully peaceful, romantic location where one can totally relax and turn off in a beautiful location. I also had a superb one hour foot massage in my room which was amazing.


P

Room Tip: Definitely book a room on the second floor with a balcony, they are more expensive but well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

YMR is the perfect place to unwind after the hustle and crowds of China's big cities. The staff was great, food good and they even had good beer. The best time is early in the morning and later in the day/evening when the river rafts stop running in a steady parade down the river.

The place is rustic but affordable, if you expect a spotless 4 or 5 star hotel like in Beijing or Shanghai you will be disappointed. However if you have traveled off the beaten track before you will find it very nice.

The Chinese are very new at hosting foreign tourists and still are learning. One example is litter, the hotel grounds are well kept but the river and surrounding area have a lot of litter. I am old enough to remember when there was a big litter problem in the U.S. in the 1960's and 1970's so I can understand how it takes time for a society to realize and work on these problems. Given the amount of money flowing into the region and the fact the entire area is promoted as an eco-travel natural wonder location it would seem that the local government or resort owners would hire a few local people to pick up the litter in the common areas and river.

However by Chinese standards the Yangshou area is a natural wonder recreation/resort area. With over a billion people all traveling around and discovering their own country any nice place will attract a lot of people.

Spend at least 3 nights to unwind and decompress. Schedule your visit to be at the end of your trip to China. Take the shuttle into Yangshou for a little shopping and to try the food. Once you have your fill of Yangshou grab a taxi back and as the city melts away you will really appreciate how the YMR is not to close but not to far from Yangshou.

While at the resort get out and walk or ride a bike and explore the surrounding area. It will be perhaps your only opportunity to choose your own path to follow on your China trip. If you want to float the river (either by kayak or guided bambo raft) make sure to do it early in the morning 7 or 8 am to avoid the crowds.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sluggo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

YMR is located 70 minutes away from Guilin. The location is sublime nestled next to the Yulong RIver with majestic rolling hills in the backdrop. It is indeed an ideal serene location to just relax and breathe the fresh air. My friends and I spent 3 nights here. We booked a 3 bed suite located on the 3rd floor. The entrance was inviting. I could tell that the ladies at the front desk did try their best to service their customers. They helped arrange all of our transportation and gave us tips on where to visit nearby. Although I think the charges for transportation were a bit on the pricey side, but we opted for convenience. The food at the hotel was only passable. However, at night, you aren't left with many choices unless you hire a car to go into town. The room was simple and rustic. My friend complained about the celadon tiles in the bathroom not looking too spic and span. Due to their environmental mission, there are barely any disposable items in the room. We boiled tea everyday and made due with what was offered in the room. However, the view from the room windows were spectacular. You woke up every morning to the gentle currents of the river.

The first night we saw Liu Sanjie, the Zhang Yimou production. It was enjoyable. The following day we hired a car to head out to the Longji Rice Terraces. It was bit of a long trip, but the hike was easy and pleasant. We enjoyed fresh passion fruit along the way. Our driver lead the way and walked us through the terraces. We got back early and arranged for massages in which they have masseuses come in from the city. Next day, we rented bikes and leisurely rode through the neighboring towns. We bought flowers from the old grandmas and purposely got lost in the pomelo orchards. Although it rained, it was a perfect way to acquaint yourself with the countryside, and there were absolutely stunning beautiful photographic opportunities. We did get lost and had to bargain with a farmer to take us across the river on his raft. People are gentle and genuinely amiable for the most part. Afterwards, we went to the famous Li River in which you can see the scenic view of what is printed on the back of a 20 yen note. It was a bit cold on on the boat ride. But again the fog covered mountains were pretty to see. There was a lot of construction going on so it was a very bumpy ride. Our last morning, we went to Xanadu in which it is a tourist trap. So, I advise visitors to please skip that site.
All in all, YMR is a comfortable simple place to take it easy and enjoy Yangshuo without the city hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muselulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Friends,
We're always happy to hear how much guests like yourself enjoy the amazing scenery around the retreat. Given that our cooks and staff are all from local villages, we always recommend that guests ask about our specialty dishes such as beer fish, braised local pumpkin, short ribs and sizzling beef. We often hear that our local style cooking is some of the best people have tasted in China. Western food isn't our specialty, though we do bake our own bread and our pizzas are outstanding. We also pride ourselves on having the best wine selection in all of Guangxi Province!
Regarding the celedon tile on your bathroom, it's on our list. We've been so full this year that we haven't been able to get to the re-grouting of bath tile in every room yet, but this is one thing we do every January when we close the Retreat for two weeks of renovations.
Thanks for reminding us and for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Yours faithfully,
Little Fish & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at this fantastic hotel in early November at the end of 2 weeks of travel through Yunnan & Guangxi province. The hotel is located at the edge of the Li River, a short distance outside the town centre – beautiful & peaceful location, very relaxing, just perfect.

The hotel is rustic oriental decor with much of the furniture made out of bamboo which is so abundant in the region.

Staff at the reception and restaurant were very friendly & helpful, and they spoke good English.

The hotel has a very relaxed, casual & homely atmosphere.

We booked a river view room (highly recommended). We were given a corner room on top floor which has windows on the 2 corner walls, making the room bright & airy. The room has a wide private balcony which is side-by-side to the bedroom ie both are directly in the front facing the river. (We noticed the other river-view rooms have the balcony in the front of the bedroom, not side by side). The balcony is furnished with a small table & chairs, sofa and a coffee table – great to enjoy the uninterrupted picturesque view of the river.


The hotel restaurant is casual & relaxed, menu includes some western dishes and a reasonable wine menu. Outdoor sitting/dining by the river is fantastic – if its not raining!

Room Tip: Book a river-view room. Room #201A is a corner room with a wide balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights at YMR in October and felt thoroughly relaxed, The staff can't do enough to please you and the rooms/bathrooms are a delight to stay in.Would recommend to anyone. Was also lovely to have a wine menu with Australian wines on it which is very rare in China.

Room Tip: River view room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.8 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#7 of 446 in Yangshuo County
444 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 446 in Yangshuo County
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 446 in Yangshuo County
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 446 in Yangshuo County
237 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 446 in Yangshuo County
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 446 in Yangshuo County
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Address: Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#7 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing