We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Ranked #3 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Superb riverside location, coupled with efficient, English-speaking, always helpful staff will make this small hotel your favorite of your visit to China. Whether drawing you a map for your bike excursion, arranging a private river raft trip, or whisking your dishes away after dinner by the river, this is an extremely well-run hotel, staffed entirely by an exceptional group of women from the local community. And moderate room prices make this top quality a real bargain.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    213
    41
    14
    1
See reviews for
319
416
56
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Yangshuo Mountain Retreat (YMR) shows that you don't need to be 5 star hotel to earn a 5.0 rating!

After arriving on Guilin airport, we were picked up by our ride that we reserved through the hotel. Yangshuo is about an hour from Guilin and we found the 300 RMB that we had to pay for our ride was reasonable for the distance (75 km)

Check in was like a warm bath and we felt welcome right from the start. They first let us unpack before doing the paperwork. The reception desk was also a very good source of information and the girls at the desk were extremely helpful.

We had a River View Double King room which was really nice. Don't expect five star luxury but the rooms are really pleasant and feel like an oasis. Our room was on the second floor and the view on the Yulong river was truly amazing. Especially in the morning and at the end of the day when all the rafts are gone, it is out of this world with the view on the river and the karst mountains. So make sure you get a room on the second floor, because the view makes a real difference.

Breakfast was wonderful (western style available) and at a reasonable price (40 -45 RMB). We also ate most of the dinners in the restaurant. There is enough variety and the food is between good and excellent. We usually don't eat in the hotel were we are staying but because the hotel is a bit out of town and the food was good we didn't mind at all.

We did a number of excursions and the hotel was also very helpful in arranging.

1. Motorized raft from Xingping to Yangdi (return) This is the nicest stretch of the Li-river and famous for the landscape that is printed on the 20 RMB note. You can get there by public transportation but the hotel can also arrange a car for the 1 hour trip (250 RMB round trip including waiting time). The rafting business seems to be regulated recently. No more touts, no constant stopping for people that offer drinks or photos but set prices of 186 RMB per person, minimum of 4 people, empty seats 50RMB. This is quite a rise but we feel happy that there was no hassle so we could enjoy the landscape.

Make sure you get there early. At around 11 the armada of cruiseships from Guilin arrive. We saw them at the end of our trip and it really spoilt the view. We had thought about taking the cruise from Guilin to go to Yangshou instead of taking a taxi from the airport but we were glad we didn't. The rafts are a lot better experience and it was unbelievable but while they were cruising on the best part of the Li river the guests on the cruise ships were inside having their set lunch.

2. Raft trip on the Yulong river. We went by taxi to a bridge 6 kilometres from the hotel were the rafts leave on the Yulong river which is the river you see from the hotel. This is a totally different experience from the motorized rafttrips on the Li river and also a lot cheaper (150 RMB). The rafts are still being pushed by hand, so it is more relaxing. It was great fun! There is a little bit of a debate going on which rafting trip (Li river of Yulong river) to take but I think you should do both because the experiences are very different. You can get off the raft at the hotel which is an added benefit.

3. Impressions of Liu Sanjie: this an very nice performance by the man who also directed the opening ceremony at the Beijing Olympic Games. It is a real spectacle with hundreds of people over a huge area (more than 1 kilometer)

We also went to Yangshou. This is not the backpackers village like it used to be but a real busy town with a lot of chinese tourist. We were happy that we didn't stay there because it is crowded, noisy and hectic. After this we were glad to return to the hotel with the most beautiful attraction right at our feet: the Yulong river from our the terrace of our hotel room.

The friendliness of the staff, the nice rooms and its wonderful location: we really loved the YMR !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

the staff was always kind and helpful, and they organize a lot of excursions in all the most amazing places around Yangshuo.
The garden is amazing and you can eat at the really good restaurant of the hotel outside with the great view of the Yulong river and the carsic mountains.
The room was wonderful and confortable.
Great place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blacktommy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

In July 2011 my family of four spent about five days at the Mountain Retreat and it was the highlight of our three-week trip to China. The setting is really stunning -- we looked out our balcony each morning and had beautiful river and karst mountain views. Stunning -- like a picture postcard.

We were also very impressed with the front desk --very strong English and really nice. The biggest challenge for our trip was that we didn't speak any Chinese but didn't want to go with a big organized tour. The front desk did an incredible job of lining up a variety of tour guides (on a daily basis, and sometimes on very short notice) who were all EXCELLENT, flexible and timely. We went on a bicycle tour to moon hill, went to the mud caves, kayaking on the Li River, took a boat tour and did a number of other activities. Again, in a country where you don't speak the language, the benefit of a guide (or even a car driver) who takes you exactly where you want to go and -- in the case of a car driver -- shows up exactly where and when he/she says they will -- is critical. Oh, we arranged airport transfers through the hotel and they were PERFECT.

Now for the property. The Retreat is a little remote (you need a taxi to go anywhere) but the kitchen was quite strong. We probably had a half-dozen meals on property and found the food to be somewhere between good and excellent, and very reasonably priced. By the way, we did go to Yangshuo town a few times, and it was pretty easy to go back and forth. We did use the on-site spa services and they were just fine (we actually just had foot massages, which in China involves some phenomenally painful accupressure).

At the same time, you need to have a reasonable expectation about the property itself. While beautifully set, it isn't a western luxury hotel. When we first arrived, I was initially a little surprised that the family room (with four beds) was pretty much crammed full with the beds (not much room for much else). Paper waste in the bathroom is disposed of in a sealed basket (probably standard for China outside of cities, but again, maybe not what everyone would expect). The AC tries hard. None of this should deter a stay, unless you think you're getting the Canyon Ranch in China. One last note: beware the bicycles!!! They do have bicycles for guest use, but be sure to check yours out carefully. In one instance, a bike broke about two miles away from the property. In a second, the bike slipped a chain and my kid took a spill. All minor details.

In short, an excellent experience. I would gladly go back, and my wife still carries around her Mountain Retreat water bottle religiously as a reminder.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracemoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am writing this late - but still needed to write about our super stay here. It was in December 2010 and after a wonderful 4hour river cruise we arrived to the melee of Yangshuo wondering what we were going to find - but we needn't have worried. This is an oasis in a maelstrom - the setting, the upkeep of the gardens is just idyllic and we spent a wonderful couple of days relaxing here. The rooms were very comfortable, with a lovely terrace looking out onto the river; very energy conscious/sustainable living. We stayed in for a meal and this was also very well cooked and enjoyed by my self and husband. The only niggle was that on arrival I was asked to pay when i had already paid for this through Paypal and had all of my receipts, but nevertheless I was worrying all the time in case I then had to repay and try and claim this back - so please take with you copies of all correspondence and I would send a final e-mail before leaving to confirm this again. Apart from this we would both love to return here and to spend longer - although Yangshuo itself is quite tacky and commercial.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

After living and traveling in China for the last 8 months we understand the challenges that hospitality business owners have to deal with...especially those that are trying to offer an authentic experience with western amenities at a good price (not to mention green practices!). We just stayed here for 4 nights and it was an absolute delight! Everything that others have written about is true...the staff work hard on their English and they are friendly and helpful. The setting is rural/village China at its best. The rooms are spacious and well-kept -- with comfortable beds (this is almost unheard of in budget accommodations in China!). If you are used to staying at the Hilton...well, then...go and stay at the Hilton! This place prides itself on it's [local] authenticity -- and creature comforts -- and it shows. We loved the views, the access to outdoor activities and the general "feel" of this place. It's the little things that made a difference...knowledgable employees, fantastic restaurant with a decent wine selection, inner tubes out back to relax on the river, meal service on the terrace, in-room massages, economical bike rentals (and good advice!), decent water pressure, comfortable beds, a large selection of DVDs to borrow on those rainy afternoons and comfortable beds (did we mention the comfortable beds?!). We could go on and on...but you get the idea. Even though it's not 'in town', it is the ideal jumping-off-point for all of the places you want to experience in Yangshuo. We were happy to stay here.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 2nd floor for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess012472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

While the location is out of the main city, the gorgeous view and serene atmosphere more than makes up for the 30 yuan taxi ride into town.

The rooms are great, and the staff is exceptionally helpful. They can help plan any activity for you to do on your own or with a guide. The restaurant is also very good, and has a wide variety of both Chinese and Western food. And did I mention the spectacular view from our balcony? This place is truly top notch, and is worth a little splurge for the moderate budget traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syxtoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.0 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#6 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#15 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Address: Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#5 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing