We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Li River Resort
Nearby Hotels
Moondance Boutique Resort(Yangshuo County)
$62
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Tea Cozy(Yangshuo County)
$93
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
River View Inn(Yangshuo County)
$45
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banyan Tree Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
$299
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Lotus Hotel(Yangshuo County)
$90
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Resort(Yangshuo County)
$141
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat(Yangshuo County)
$48
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Nest(Yangshuo County)
$65
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveler rating
352
117
20
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
117
20
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsli riverminute walkkarst mountainsbeautiful locationchinese foodhire bikesbest of both worldsthe hustle and bustletown centretaxi ridethird floorweek tripstayed nightslocal beerrooftop terracepeace and quietfive star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 504 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Beautiful setting, cozy rooms, wonderful staff and a perfect location, just a 5 min. bike ride through forest along the Li river and you're in the center of Yangshuo. This was our second visit after two years and it was even better this time. The rooms are painted nice colours and they have added nice furniture, hairdryer and tea and coffee to the rooms which was a nice touch. The best thing about this hotel is its serene and beautiful location overlooking the Li river.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkonijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Loved this hotel-resort. A bit out of town (about 1/2 mile) but the walk is nice on a single lane road and you can always get a cab for about $2.5.
Alice Zheng who also works at the resort offers to guide people on day trips of your choice and she has pretty good english. Her email is alicezy@yahoo.cn and phone # ---- I think it depends upon where you want to go and how long what the cost would be.
The resort is so nice and quiet. The air quality has been terrible around here lately which really puts a damper on things. Everything looks so gray.
The staff is so friendly and speaks darn good english and so willing to help in any way they can. Food is ok at the eatery on site.
Stay upstairs on the 2nd floor if you can. $480 yuan but it is worth it! The view is breath taking@

Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
2  Thank chisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

I was torn between three or four stars for this hotel.

The positive things first.....

The location is lovely. Views to die for and we loved being out of the town and away from the hustle and bustle and noise of Yangshuo.

The staff were fantastic and helpful. It was always a pleasure being around them.

The food was pretty good as well. It was better than anything we tasted in the town.

A few minutes down the road is a small beach on the river and you can go for a lovely swim.

The negative things...

We booked this hotel for ten nights. We wanted to stop somewhere for some relaxation during our month in China. Most people seem to stay a couple of nights and I think the things that annoyed me were more of an issue because we were there ten nights. If it was a short stay I probably would have given four stars.

The bed was so unbelievably uncomfortable. A slab of stone with a sheet on would be a more apt description. After ten nights I was in a lot of pain and the bed was so hard I woke every night throughout the night feeling numb, sore and uncomfortable.

To make matters worse we booked a room with a balcony but they put hard upright dining chairs out for us to sit on which just hurt my already sore back even more.

They have a rather strange hot water system that seems to be controlled by the reception staff via a meter box. We had to ask 6 times in 10 days for hot water. But sometimes there was hot water and there was no pattern to it. It was a pot luck type thing.

It a shame that the owners have cut corners. This hotel could be really lovely but because of the awful bed and cold water I sometimes felt like I was in a hostel.

I think a comfortable bed and hot shower are basic requirements for a hotel and so I have marked the hotel down to a three.

If the views and staff hadn't been so great I wouldn't have stayed here for ten nights. But if someone said they wanted to stay in Yangshuo a few nights then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaffaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We spent part of our honeymoon here and the setting was perfect. Every morning we opened our balcony doors and had the view of the river and karst mountains. Li River Retreat was definitely the best place we stayed in during our 3 week trip, not because it was luxurious but the atmosphere was just so lovely. The staff are all absolutely fantastic, really nice and friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are clean and a good size, we didn't have a tv in our room which I thought was great. The retreat is about 20mins walk from the town centre so it's nice and quiet. If you don't fancy walking you can go to the Buffalo Bar in the town centre and ask for someone to come and pick you up too, it's a great service which we tended to use a lot, simply because it was too hot to walk! They also do good food there which is handy on the nights you don't feel like going into town. What a great place!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

3 couples touring China together found this to be amongst highlites for a relaxed stay. Yes rooms and A/Cs were slightly imperfect but clean enuf and serviceable AND QUIET. Great vus of Karsh hills from al fresco dining patio. Lovely evening meals and bk/fast brunches (Dumplings and noodles galore!) even when a rain storm hit. Compared to most other places we stayed in our 21 day visit (we stayed in 5* in Shanghai and Beijing) this ranked high both in terms of unique and value.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews