We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel”
Review of Li River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Li River Resort
Ranked #6 of 448 Hotels in Yangshuo County
The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2008

This hotel was really super!! Absolutely recommended.

pro's:
Really nice location directly at the Li river. You can have breakfast while viewing the river and mountains. You can also have rooms with these nice views. Not in crowded Yangshuo itself.
Really spacious rooms
Really clean room
Good shower
Delicious food. We really would like to take the cook to our home!
Nice friendly staff always willing to help

Con's:
Only one small con, you have to walk a little bit before you are in the center of the yangshuo city (15 min walk). We experienced this as an advantage as the city center is very busy.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Fromthenetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    114
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
121
219
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Widen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

This hotel is a definite thumbs up. Depending on what you're looking for, the noisy and bustling West Street in Yangshuo town may be for you. But if you're looking for something quiet and with a sensational view, then check this one out. You can reach the property by taxi in about 3 minutes from the center of town, but there is also a bike rental just one minute down the road from the hotel. Extremely friendly staff, and they speak English. Breakfasts and other meals are served right on the terrace overlooking those funny cone shaped mountains. At night, total quiet. Just the moon, and the occasional fishermen's boat. During the day, you have to endure the never ending trail of government owned tourist river boats that seem to become a real problem in the otherwise unsurpassable tranquility of this tourist magnet. The rooms are large and offer the type of comfort one would expect during a vacation get away. Wireless internet access is included, and there is a computer down in the lobby that can be used. The hotel staff will arrange for pretty much everything you might desire.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing at all.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We spent a weekend in Yangshuo at the Li River Retreat. The hotel is definitely outside of the hustle and bustle of West St. where all of the bars, restaurants and stores are in Yangshuo...but that was a plus for us as we spent long days touring the river and countryside, haggling with shop owners and saying "no thank you" to a seemingly endless number of people who approached us on the street to buy anything and everything they had to sell. So, this hotel was a lovely break from the chaos with breathtaking views and minimal, yet stylish rooms. And it was a definite value for the money.

  • Liked — Value and Beautiful Views
  • Disliked — It was a bit of a walk from town.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We just spent Golden Week in Yangshuo I know, not smart - too busy, but my husband is on the Chinese Vacation schedule so we have off when the 1.2 billon other residents do!

Anyway, Li River Retreat was a lovely place; clean, english speaking staff, western and Chinese food. Breakfast on the terrace and dinner on the roof-top patio were wonderful. Food service is a bit slow so be sure and eat well before you need to leave for any tours. And be sure to order the fresh brewed coffee otherwise you end up with instant - each morning my a-la-cart coffee was fine while hubby always thought his American Breakfast coffee was horrid - we finally figured out the American Breakfast came with instant!

Like most Asian lodging the bedding is hard. The closet did have two heavy comforters for winter so we placed them under our bed sheet to soften it up a bit. I didn't even think to ask if they had mattress toppers (which we have gotten at other Asian hotels.)

Li River Retreat is not in town - it is a 20 - 30 minute walk into town. Many guests had cars or rented bikes. There are not many taxis in Yangshuo so don't count on calling one each time you want to head into town. We had a tour guide and driver each day so the distance didn't bother us. In fact we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, roof-top bar, stars and views being out of town had to offer. BTW, we are in our 50's and not prone to bar hop anymore.

Our local english speaking guide - Lilly Lu - was wonderful. She has excellent english, is a darling companion and has many great suggestions on what to do. Contact me if you would like her email.

  • Liked — clean, not tacky decour, internet, western food, roof-top bar, quiet, great views
  • Disliked — length of time for food service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TokyoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Holland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Vincent&Karin S.
July 2008: Landed in Guilin airport it was a small wonder to see a nice fellow with a sign with my name on it, between the chinese characters on all other boards. The Hotel had indeed arranged to pick us up for 300 Yuan and drove, the four of us, more than an hour through the rural landscape directly down to Yangshuo. We were picked up with a brand new (for a change) Volkswagen Caddy. We read on the forum it was not worth while to take the usual, 500 Yuan a person, tourist boat down to Yangshuo and we found out the next day why: It is one long traffic trail of boat s, making quite a noise and ditto smell, so the Lijiang River on that part loks more like a monday morning highway jam into Amsterdam.
The hotel is 5 minutes by car (20 Yuan taxi or rent a bike) outside the village, it is therefore quite silent and you can look down from the terrace 20 meters above the river, looking down on those many tourists boats coming along. The hotel is recently rebuild , in a perfect state (they even washed the windows every other day) and the styling is really beautiful.The best part of the hotel is the service. The young girls, including especcially Flora who runs the show, make you really feel at home. They arrange everything you want to see or do and also tell you when a certain event is risky and they don't like to take the responsibility of you falling out of the sky in a hot-air ballon that hasn't been serviced lately. The meals are really nice, the breakfast too.
Thanks girls for having a good time with my family.

  • Liked — the service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jeeperV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Situated a 15 minute walk out of town, this hotel sits just above the river affording it's guests with views which many would walk for hours to see. Nothing beats sitting on your balcony looking at the karst formations over the river.

The rooms were huge, well equipped and furnished and very clean. There really is nothing to fault this hotel. The only thing that could improve it would be a swimming pool!

  • Liked — Stunning views
  • Disliked — shower leaked a bit
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurerol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Travelling with my mum, booked this hotel based on Trip advisor reviews- thanks everyone- it was a winner!
The resort, as previously said is pretty basic in terms of the rooms but it worked for me. I would say it is about 2.5- 3 star. We had a room on the 2nd floor at 390 Y a night, it had 2 beds and a lovely view.
The bathroom was a good size and well equipped with towels, toiletries, etc. The water took a little adjusting- if you have kids you would have to be careful as when it gets hot it is scalding hot. Didn't have any trouble with it being cold at all. There is black mould in the silicone but it is still very clean.
The beds were comfortable I thought, pretty firm but I had no trouble sleeping. The linen was clean and fresh. There is a wardrobe and electronic safe inside it as well as a locked drawer. The lighting in our room was great- very bright to read by.
There were cups and a kettle supplied as well as daily bottled water.
The dining room is a bit lacking- I think because it is seldom used, and I believe they are building a new one. It was very damp and cramped - the weather forced us to dine indoors for the first day/night so we had to use that or our room. The upstairs bar area looks great and all previous guests have loved it- it was closed when we were there because of the weather. On my return visit I hope to make good use of it!!
The dining options were good I thought- very extensive menu. It was dearer than in town but we really enjoyed the meals that we had there. Great eggplant fritters!
Staff were lovely, sweet and helpful.
The computer in the foyer with free internet/skype, etc was great.
There was also a small selection of books to take/exchange/read. (I left Tears of the Giraffe by Alexander Mcall Smith - I hope someone else will take it and enjoy it!)
They also had a dvd player and lots of DVD's in the dining room if you wanted.
Outlook from the roof top and our room was fabulous. The walk into town was easy.
I am really looking forward to a return visit- highly recommended.

  • Liked — location and views- surreal
  • Disliked — Very minor- a bar fridge would be great as would a mirror/powerpoint in the room
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 448 in Yangshuo County
1,073 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 448 in Yangshuo County
596 reviews
3.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 448 in Yangshuo County
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 448 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
4.6 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 448 in Yangshuo County
291 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 448 in Yangshuo County
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Resort

Property: Li River Resort
Address: No.1 Shuangtan Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#22 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Li River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yangshuo Li River Resort is a family run Resort. Our stunning location takes in some of the best views in the Yangshuo region and our close proximity to the town of Yangshuo gives our guests the opportunity to explore its multitude of shopping, dinning and entertainment options. We have a variety of rooms to cater to couples, friends, families and those who want a luxurious experience. We also have a restaurant which serves a large range of Chinese and Western dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All of this is complimented by our high standards of service. We have a good size swimming pool which is exclusive to our guests. The pool is open during the warmer months of the year, approximately from April to mid-December. The pool is excellent for early morning swims, relaxing during the day or soothing your body after a day of sightseeing. We hope to take care of you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Li River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Li River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing