We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint little gem tucked away from town”
Review of Li River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Li River Resort
Ranked #6 of 475 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We visited Yangshuo during Chinese New Year festivities, so the town was very crowded and hectic with tourists. Staying at the Li River Retreat was a nice break from the pace of the town, and the restaurant more than satisfied our needs for both Chinese and Western food. We had a great time chatting with Alf, the owner, who even helped us watch a live stream of the Super Bowl so we could feel connected to life back home. He was always around to help. The mountain view from the roof is spectacular at both sunrise and sunset. Other guests were a mix of nationalities, which was nice to see at such a busy travel time for the Chinese. Our room had been recently renovated, and Alf mentioned he had been putting a lot of time and work into upgrades. Free wi-fi throughout was an added bonus. If we're ever back in this area, we wouldn't hesitate to return to the Li River Retreat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mae317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Li River Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 463 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

My friend and I stayed here in December 2013. We had a wonderful time there and would highly recommend it.

First, this is a very nice hotel, but it is not a super-fancy 5 star hotel. It's a very nice, but if you are the type of traveler where luxury is first and foremost in your mind, then this may not be the place for you. That said, the facilities are nice, clean, and way more than I would need.

What makes this place great is the owner, Alf, and his staff. For example, we wanted to take a hike and Alf used google earth to show us some great places in the area. One night we stayed up late in the dining room area discussing politics with Alf and other guests (booze was involved). Those are just specific examples to highlight that this hotel creates a really nice community and is very welcoming.

The views are spectacular from the roof top and most rooms.

Room Tip: I would guess the higher rooms have the better views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zachary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 6 days with my boyfriend and his family over Christmas. I was a little worried at first because it was not going to be a traditional Christmas, and I didn't know what to expect. But my worries were gone as soon as I arrived at the hotel. The view from the hotel is breath-taking. It is located perfectly - away from all the noise in the city but close enough to get to the city by foot or taxi (by foot it is around 20min, taxi around 3 min).

The service was amazing. Both the owner and the girls at the hotel delivered class A service. They were so helpful in every aspect. The English level at the hotel is also very high (The owner is Australian/Spanish).

The food at the hotel was great. When I didn't feel like going out to the city, I just ordered great Chinese or Western food and enjoyed the view from the hotel. (please note their breakfast is AMAZING!)

I read in other reviews that the hotel is a little run down. Please don't worry. When we got there they had just finished renovating. The hotel was beautiful.

Overall we had a great experience, and we will for sure be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the retreat in late December 2013. It is a wonderful place and we can highly recommend it. We did splash out (by local standards) on their best room which was huge, very clean, nicely decorated with a large clean bathroom and a private balcony. It was still very good value for money by Australian or European standards. The view from our room was fantastic. The bed was very comfortable.
The staff were very friendly and looked happy with their jobs which is very important. We are usually sceptical about hotel food but the food and the service at the retreat were a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed having drinks and snacks at the terrace with the view that you can't get tired of. The hotel is located about 20 min walk from Yangshuo, close enough to walk (bring a torch if walking back late, there is a 10 min strectch in complete darkness) but a comfartable distance for piece and quiet away from the tourist shops. You can also catch a taxi back from Yangzhou for 30RMB if you don't feel like walking back at night.
The owner, Alf, is very friendly.
We would definetly come back if we happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ylna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed there some years ago not long after it opened..
Its run by Alf who has the Buffalo bar in central Yangshou.
I, like others, liked the place, and enjoyed my time there.
The walk back from Yangshou was nice in the evening.
Able to enjoy the still of the night with a drink overlooking the Li River below.
I splashed out when I stayed there had a fantastic room with private terrace.

I will return,next time I'm in Yangshou which will be in 2014

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre when I was there. Have a room with private Terrace.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren_wrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here in October for 2 nights in between business Trade shows we were attending in Guangzhou.
We had a great room unusual attractive furnishing, clean and adequate for our needs.
A peaceful and tranquil place and we loved the suppers and breakfasts.
The staff where helpful and friendly and even helped with a business phone call where we needed a translator.
It is a beautiful setting and not too far to walk into charming Yangshuo with a good mixture of old and new and plenty of restaurants but we still preferred eating at the resort as we found it fresh and reasonable.
I can recommend this accommodation if you're looking for something peaceful and slightly off the beaten track it suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roca_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Three of us, staying in 2 rooms had clean, comfortable accommodation. The room at the front of the hotel also had wonderful views of the river and mountains beyond. Breakfast was offered to suit a variety of tastes, from British traditional to Chinese. The food is simple, but not expensive. The congenial owner's conversation one evening was a plus.
We had absolutely no complaints. This place has no pretensions to being a 4 or 5 star hotel. It is a bit like a simple resort in other countries.
If you walk into town in the late afternoon, bring a flashlight if you intend to walk back! The roads are unlit, and we almost got lost.
If you have an afternoon to spare, take the cooking class at the Cloud 9 restaurant in Yangshuo. Even experienced cooks can learn something about Chinese cooking.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front have the view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 475 in Yangshuo County
1,093 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 475 in Yangshuo County
610 reviews
3.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 475 in Yangshuo County
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#15 of 475 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 475 in Yangshuo County
266 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 475 in Yangshuo County
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Resort

Address: No.1 Shuangtan Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#20 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $80 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Li River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yangshuo Li River Resort is a family run Resort. Our stunning location takes in some of the best views in the Yangshuo region and our close proximity to the town of Yangshuo gives our guests the opportunity to explore its multitude of shopping, dinning and entertainment options. We have a variety of rooms to cater to couples, friends, families and those who want a luxurious experience. We also have a restaurant which serves a large range of Chinese and Western dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All of this is complimented by our high standards of service. We have a good size swimming pool which is exclusive to our guests. The pool is open during the warmer months of the year, approximately from April to mid-December. The pool is excellent for early morning swims, relaxing during the day or soothing your body after a day of sightseeing. We hope to take care of you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Li River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Li River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing