We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Home Away from Home (Only More Beautiful)”
Review of Li River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Li River Resort
Ranked #6 of 475 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Li River Retreat for 2.5 weeks in April. Our girls had been studying Mandarin for several years in the U.S. and we were looking for a beautiful part of China to settle in to for a couple of weeks, to immerse in the language and culture. We chose the right place! Yangshuo itself is beautiful, although the town is growing fast to accommodate the increasing tourist trade. The Li River Retreat has the BEST location in all of Yangshuo: you are a short 1.5 mile walk or bike ride out of town, across a bridge and down a narrow road that skirts the banks of the lovely Li River. The retreat is on a hill overlooking the Li River and dramatic karst formations, which you can see from every room of the hotel, outdoor dining area and roof. We sat outdoors every night on the outdoor patio breathing in the smell of the blooming Pomelo trees in the garden, gazing at the karst rock formations and having dinner/drinks. Alf and his wife could not be gracious, immediately taking us for a tour of not only the property, but the surrounding countryside on our first day, and advising/arranging our outings/adventures for the remainder of our stay. Upon our return each day, they and their staff would welcome us back with smiles and conversation. The young women who work there are truly special, and became like big sisters to our girls, playing games with them, coaching them in Mandarin and even giving them parting gifts. The Li River Retreat is more than a hotel, but an oasis of peace, beauty and friendship. Don't miss it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank AnneMarieHEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Li River Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 464 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

To get to the hotel we had to drive (or walk) through the shopping street, where every tourist walks through when they step off the boats from Guilin.

The hotel was situated approx 30 min. walk from the town. Very quiet, with a nice view of the Li river. We had a double room on the upper level, which was extremely quiet.

The room had a nice decor in Chinese style, was quite big with a huge balcony.

We had dinner in the hotel on two nights, food is freshly made, good quality, a little bit too westernized. Could be more traditional Chinese.

We also had breakfast, which was really hectic and chaotic. There was not even enough spaces for all guests and because breakfast was freshly cooked for every order, it took quite a while. The service team is very friendly and tried to cope, but you had to remind them what was missing from the order.

But o.k. this is China and we did not take this too serious. However the breakfast situation would be greatly improved if they offered a buffet breakfast, when the hotel is fully booked.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernweh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Li River Retreat. Everything went seamlessly. Through the hotel, we were able to book a driver to pick us up at the airport in Guilin (Note: the driver was still waiting for us when we landed at about 11pm, over an hour after our ETA). We arrived late but the staff were expecting us, greeted us with a welcome letter, and carried our bags up to our room. One day, we arranged a guide to take us biking and on a bamboo raft down the river. The staff was also able to make arrangements to bring in massage therapists to our room. All of the arrangements were made through the hotel and put on one bill which we paid at the end of our stay (and they took credit cards so we didn't have to carry a ton of cash).

The Li River Retreat is located a short (~15/20 minute) walk from downtown Yangshuo, making it the perfect place for a quiet getaway. There's plenty of outdoorsy things to do and see but it's also the place to go if you're looking for some peace and quiet - and fresh air to breath.They have beautiful gardens to sit in and an affordable restaurant with good food and nice service. The scenery is breathtaking!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and were able to enjoy the karst scenery from a private patio off our...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-W20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

intimate place away from the crowds of yangshuo, great setting along river and across from some pretty peaks. staff very helpful and friendly. food and drink in the restaurant were very good, including the local specialties. though there were only adult guests there, and it seems like most guests come without kids, the staff were very friendly and kind to our kids.

Room Tip: room 304 has a big deck/patio area, though it does not directly front the peaks right in front of th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyof4traveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved this hotel, it is marvellous mix of Chinese and Western styles in a lovely location. We loved the open hallways and stairways throughout the hotel. The hotel is surrounded by subtropical woodland (so creatures from the woodland will wander in as there are no doors or windows in the communial areas to stop them!)

There is no lift and no TV in the rooms. We thought that was a bonus but some might feel withdrawal from news!

Do hire a bike from the lovely lady on the road below the hotel and ride out into the surrounding villages. You will see some amazing things and have a great time. Watch the lady tending to the hotel gardens - really taking care of the grounds and plants all day long.

We had room 301 with windows on two sides, amazing views, and a large terrace. When we arrived, quite wrongly, I was worried that the hotel seemed to be staffed by young girls and concerned it would be a shambles. I was so wrong (I apologise); they were efficient, professional, friendly and helpful. We had a lovely time talking to them and the level of service they delivered was excellent.

The breakfast was great, freshly cooked and nicely presented. We ate in and really enjoyed the food which we thought was reasonably priced. I noticed that someone reviewed and said the food was greasy – well be found that to be common throughout China rather than just here and we thought the food here was really good. The chef works from early morning until 10:00 in the evening and all the food is freshly cooked to order. there was a good choice.

Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. We did have to laugh as whilst there was a safe it wasn’t fixed to anything so could be carried away! That might be a problem for some people, but we were so relaxed and happy, we just had to giggle.

After the mayhem and commercialism of Yangshuo this hotel is an idyllic retreat. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzyandblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

One of the highlights of our Chinese trip! A beautiful hotel in a fabulous location. Views of the Li River and well maintained pretty gardens in front of this lovely place. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was superb. Set a little way out of the town this means that it is quiet and peaceful, but if you need to get to or from town that is no problem, a shuttle is provided. The Aussie owner, Alf, is an interesting chap, lots of local knowledge and amusing stories.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A real oasis in a very busy town. Lovely views over the river and karst scenery. Friendly, helpful staff. Good food. It is worth paying extra for room 201 which is light and airy with big windows on three sides.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 475 in Yangshuo County
1,094 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 475 in Yangshuo County
610 reviews
3.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 475 in Yangshuo County
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#16 of 475 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#9 of 475 in Yangshuo County
266 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 475 in Yangshuo County
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Resort

Address: No.1 Shuangtan Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#20 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $79 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Li River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yangshuo Li River Resort is a family run Resort. Our stunning location takes in some of the best views in the Yangshuo region and our close proximity to the town of Yangshuo gives our guests the opportunity to explore its multitude of shopping, dinning and entertainment options. We have a variety of rooms to cater to couples, friends, families and those who want a luxurious experience. We also have a restaurant which serves a large range of Chinese and Western dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All of this is complimented by our high standards of service. We have a good size swimming pool which is exclusive to our guests. The pool is open during the warmer months of the year, approximately from April to mid-December. The pool is excellent for early morning swims, relaxing during the day or soothing your body after a day of sightseeing. We hope to take care of you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Li River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Li River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing