We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT Weekend Retreat (that doesn't break the bank)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Li River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Li River Resort
Ranked #8 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“PERFECT Weekend Retreat (that doesn't break the bank)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Li River Retreat. Everything went seamlessly. Through the hotel, we were able to book a driver to pick us up at the airport in Guilin (Note: the driver was still waiting for us when we landed at about 11pm, over an hour after our ETA). We arrived late but the staff were expecting us, greeted us with a welcome letter, and carried our bags up to our room. One day, we arranged a guide to take us biking and on a bamboo raft down the river. The staff was also able to make arrangements to bring in massage therapists to our room. All of the arrangements were made through the hotel and put on one bill which we paid at the end of our stay (and they took credit cards so we didn't have to carry a ton of cash).

The Li River Retreat is located a short (~15/20 minute) walk from downtown Yangshuo, making it the perfect place for a quiet getaway. There's plenty of outdoorsy things to do and see but it's also the place to go if you're looking for some peace and quiet - and fresh air to breath.They have beautiful gardens to sit in and an affordable restaurant with good food and nice service. The scenery is breathtaking!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and were able to enjoy the karst scenery from a private patio off our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-W20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    113
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
115
212
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

intimate place away from the crowds of yangshuo, great setting along river and across from some pretty peaks. staff very helpful and friendly. food and drink in the restaurant were very good, including the local specialties. though there were only adult guests there, and it seems like most guests come without kids, the staff were very friendly and kind to our kids.

Room Tip: room 304 has a big deck/patio area, though it does not directly front the peaks right in front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof4traveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved this hotel, it is marvellous mix of Chinese and Western styles in a lovely location. We loved the open hallways and stairways throughout the hotel. The hotel is surrounded by subtropical woodland (so creatures from the woodland will wander in as there are no doors or windows in the communial areas to stop them!)

There is no lift and no TV in the rooms. We thought that was a bonus but some might feel withdrawal from news!

Do hire a bike from the lovely lady on the road below the hotel and ride out into the surrounding villages. You will see some amazing things and have a great time. Watch the lady tending to the hotel gardens - really taking care of the grounds and plants all day long.

We had room 301 with windows on two sides, amazing views, and a large terrace. When we arrived, quite wrongly, I was worried that the hotel seemed to be staffed by young girls and concerned it would be a shambles. I was so wrong (I apologise); they were efficient, professional, friendly and helpful. We had a lovely time talking to them and the level of service they delivered was excellent.

The breakfast was great, freshly cooked and nicely presented. We ate in and really enjoyed the food which we thought was reasonably priced. I noticed that someone reviewed and said the food was greasy – well be found that to be common throughout China rather than just here and we thought the food here was really good. The chef works from early morning until 10:00 in the evening and all the food is freshly cooked to order. there was a good choice.

Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. We did have to laugh as whilst there was a safe it wasn’t fixed to anything so could be carried away! That might be a problem for some people, but we were so relaxed and happy, we just had to giggle.

After the mayhem and commercialism of Yangshuo this hotel is an idyllic retreat. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzyandblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

One of the highlights of our Chinese trip! A beautiful hotel in a fabulous location. Views of the Li River and well maintained pretty gardens in front of this lovely place. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was superb. Set a little way out of the town this means that it is quiet and peaceful, but if you need to get to or from town that is no problem, a shuttle is provided. The Aussie owner, Alf, is an interesting chap, lots of local knowledge and amusing stories.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

A real oasis in a very busy town. Lovely views over the river and karst scenery. Friendly, helpful staff. Good food. It is worth paying extra for room 201 which is light and airy with big windows on three sides.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed two nights one in a deluxe standard room and the other in the deluxe river view Room 201which has three sides of windows for viewing.....
Both rooms were spacious in the extreme... excellent tasteful decor and amenities as expected standard for a western 4-5 star accommodation. BUT the cost is two star!!! Try 450RMB and 650RMB respectively... ie A$ 70 & A$ 101 (@ 6.4 exchange rate).
The staff were mainly younger in age and their command of English was good to very good.
We ate evening meals both nights in the restaurant and and afternoon snack of banana pancakes and one breakfast. Cost was between $10 and $25. and pancakes $3. Alcohol in not cheap.
The retreat as others have already said is 20 mins out of town. NO lighting at night so take torches. The river road is closed to cars/vans etc from 10am to 3pm for a market but take a bicycle or walk and no issue. The views from most rooms are classic!
I'll try the photo bit...first time..
Highly recommended for a base to see Impression Sanjie Liu, Bamboo river rafting and Li river cruise. All highly recommended also.

Room Tip: Room 203 especially is one of the deluxe river view with king size bed and room and great all round...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmba_arewethereyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to be out if town and were recommended this hotel. Beautiful place.the owner Alf is a really nice Australian who used to run a business in the village before building this lively retreat.
No TV so you get perfect tranquility. Very good WIFI in rooms

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilmckerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#6 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.6 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#15 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Resort

Property: Li River Resort
Address: No.1 Shuangtan Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#21 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Li River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Li River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Li River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing