We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful Location -- Warm & Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Li River Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Li River Resort
Ranked #10 of 402 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location -- Warm & Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent 4-5 days at Li River Retreat, which is 2km down a semi-paved road outside Yangshuo. We enjoyed being outside of town in the countryside with an easy walk into town once or twice per day. We had a room with a view on three sides and enjoyed waking up to the beauty of the Li River and the karst formations. It was also a great place to observe the incredible variety of people and vehicles headed into town.

The room we had was big and well-appointed for a simple place. Everything worked very well from the internet to the heating and water. We were quite happy with it.

What makes Li River outstanding are the people. Jennie at the main desk was a delight to talk to and helpful at every turn, as was her new colleague Alice. Both had good English skills, but more than that they were just very nice people with a desire to help. The people in the restaurant were also wonderful, and the food was far above expectation in both quality and variety, both at breakfast and at dinner. We enjoyed many of our meals there and found it fairly priced.

For those who want a quiet spot in the country, this is a great choice. And for those who miss a good cup of coffee, head across the road to Cafe Durian and ask BBB for their Brazilian.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ed-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    113
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
106
208
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Li River Retreat is about 1.5 kms out of Yangshuo up the Li River. It has spectacular views from its terrace and has a small but good restaurant. As a hotel it is no more than average but its location and the friendliness of the staff more than compensate. The rooms are pretty plain and not very large but the surrounding karst peaks are spectacular. It is an easy walk into Yangshuo and you can hire bikes to cycle around or take a local bus. It feels as though it is not just an anonymous international hotel (which it is not) but one close to the countryside. Difficult to rate as many of its attractions stem from its location and the fact that it has very few rooms. Perhaps less than 20. Yangshuo is well worth a visit, particularly if you travel down the Li River and this is a really interesting place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the Li River Retreat a few months ago. I was there for 2 days and went on a bike tour both of the days with a local tour guide named Sally. Li River Retreat arranged both days at a very fair price. In total we biked around 80-90 Km, but that was only because I was pushing to see more :) Her tours are great and she will take you on all the local paths. This was by far the coolest thing I did during my entire visit to China!

Li River Retreat was also a delightful lodge! I will return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emo1truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My brother and I absolutely loved staying at the Li River Retreat hotel!!! The location is perfect, quiet and in the middle of nature with stunning views of the river and some mountains and not too far from the city. We didn't mind the 20 Minute walk by the river on a little frequented road. Bikes and scooters are available at or right by the hotel so we were able to start our bike tours without having to walk to the center first.

Then there is the food. We really loved it and ended up regretting it every time we ate out. Towards the end of the stay we pretty much had all meals in the hotel restaurant.

The staff was very friendly, sweet and extremely helpful. They shared some fruits with us in the morning on the deck while chatting, arranged and picked up our bus tickets from town, let us use a shower in the evening of the last day when we had already checked out just to mention a few things.

I have stayed in many luxury hotels in Europe and elsewhere for work, but I have never felt more at home in a hotel then here. I hope I'll be able to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Li River Retreat is about a 15-20min walk from the town centre. During the day, this isn't a problem but at night, it might be advisable to take a taxi back from town as the road that you walk on isn't lit and can be pitch black. The taxi fare doesn't cost much - about 20 Yuan.

The hotel is away from the centre of town in a rural setting. As such, it has a nice quiet and peaceful atmosphere. If you have spare time and want to stay at the hotel during the day, it’s a nice environment to relax in. Although we had no problems with mosquitos, probably due to the time of year we stayed at the hotel, this might be an environment where you may encounter some as it is more rural. Having said that, the doors have a mosquito mesh to prevent their entry and the room is equipped with a mosquito repellent.

Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Due to where the hotel is located, it sells itself as a place where you're deliberately out of the busy-ness of town and as such there is no TV in the rooms. However, there was one in the dining area. The hotel has dining facilities so if you don't fancy going into town, you can eat at the hotel. The staff are friendly and speak good English and made us feel really welcomed. Prior to making the booking, I made enquiries via email and all replies were answered promptly and were very helpful.

Would return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lad_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a fantastic place! We spent 3 nights/4 days at the Li River Retreat and cannot wait to get back. The rooms are super clean, spacious, and the bathrooms are adequately stocked with toiletries. The views from the rooms, balconies, and the outside tables is breath taking. I could sit outside and look at those karst all day long.

The hospitality is first class. They make sure you have everything you need and want. The front desk can book tours and will even negotiate on your behalf. The restaurant is convenient and serves good food. Yangshuo proper is only about 2km away along the Li River which is very convenient, but far enough away to here absolutely nothing. Truly a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachVic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A mate and I just got back from Li River Retreat - 4nights, Oct2012 - and it was amazing. Yes, perhaps a little bit pricier than other hotels in the area, but convenient, friendly, efficient, helpful - gorgeous views and the best Chinese food we ate in the whole of Yangshuo.

Two big highlights for me - the receptionists were good English speakers, knowledgeable and able to sort out every single detail of our almost completely un-researched trip. They also sorted out all of the payments, adding everything up for us on one bill at the end. No haggling with bamboo raftsmen or local tour guides removed the stress of the trip completely.

The walk into town is 20+ mins, but pleasant and not arduous at all. The setting and the views are lovely. Bring a torch if walking at night. I would go back in a shot.

Things that would have made it even better - get rid of the TV in the restaurant - I know it is to entertain the kids, but it really does spoil the early evening atmosphere blaring out loud. Also, get the lady at the bottom of the hill to stock some bigger bikes that are made for western men. Went out for a day on her biggest one and my back and knees were killing me by the end of it (went to The Rusty Bolt to hire bikes after that, another definite recommendation there, but perhaps that is another story...)

Thanks very much Li River Retreat, I had a great time, and I will pass on your name to everyone else who asks about tips for Yangshuo.

Room Tip: Top floor deluxe rooms - anything with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
5.6 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 402 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 402 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
4.3 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 402 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 402 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
1.2 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#20 of 402 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
4.0 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 402 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Resort

Property: Li River Resort
Address: No.1 Shuang Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
#5 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Li River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Li River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing