We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad - Rooms need updating - Mold in 202”
Review of Li River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Li River Resort
Ranked #5 of 490 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed four nights in three different rooms because of lack of availability.

The GOOD: Staff is wonderful and speaks English. The restaurant has tasty Chinese food. The plates were a little small in comparison with Chinese price and standard. Location is great. Bike rental across the street is great.

The BAD: The outdoor restaurant tables face the room balconies. This can be a problem if you are seeking quiet. The tourist groups tended to hang out there and drink for awhile before having dinner. They were boisterous. Hot water was a problem in all three rooms. Balconies have two doors (one screen and one glass).The two doors cannot be closed and locked at the same time. They butt each other.

All of the furniture in the three rooms we occupied was old and or stained. All lamps in all rooms were unplugged with the cords wrapped around them. Only two reading lamps on the wall and one overhead available in all rooms. None of the safes are attached to anything. Someone could pick up the safe and walk out.

Deluxe Standard Room (#204) The most tolerable of the three. Good view. The couch has stains is faded and old. Really sloppy paint job from ceiling to wall.

Deluxe River View (#201) Good view. You have to close the drapes on one side or everyone else in the hotel can see into your room. It's like a fish bowl. The carpet is filthy and stained. It should be thrown out. The mini fridge smells like mold. I had to wipe some mold out before using it. It was left unplugged and closed. The couch is faded and old. There is a hole in the exterior wall to the left of the bed. There is a rag stuffed in the hole. From room #202 balcony you can see that the hole goes to the outside.

Deluxe Standard Room (#202) Bad view. This room was horrible. Upon entering you can smell the mold. The wall paper is separated and peeling underneath the air conditioner. The mold is visible under the air unit and along the wall. Fixtures are worse than the other rooms. The wasps hover around the balcony. I couldn't sit out there.

Hotel arranged taxi price to/from Guilin airport (290RMB) is way too high. You prepay the hotel. I have paid half that in Shanghai for a trip ten minutes shorter. It seems to me that the problems we experienced would be an issue for the owner. It was the staff and location that made our stay. The rooms were not acceptable for the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get room 202.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoideVivre06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 483 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

My partner & I stayed here for 5 days & cannot ecommend it highly enough. The views to the karsts are spectacular & the river views are lovely. We stayed in a room with a balcony (deluxe standard) & would suggest this as an option as these have the best views, especially in the mornings when the clouds are on the kardsts. The rooms were designed with travellers' needs in mind ie 2 luggage racks & a couch for lounging/reading etc. The staff spoke good English & were attentive to our needs & could arrange anything we requested.

The walk into town is not too far yet you feel like you are in the countryside in glorous isolation - away from the madness in Yangshuo when the boats arrive.

Thank you to staff at Li River Retreat for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If your thinking about staying here don't hesitate , book! Myself and my partner spent 4 nights here last week and the only disappointing part of our stay was the fact we had to leave. The views are amazing , the food is great and rooms are just perfect. Staff are so helpful I would recommend doing the bicycle/bamboo raft tour if you get the opportunity we had such an amazing day!

I really hope someday that I will be able to return to this wonderful place but it really has giving me some amazing memories.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room's are worth the little extra. Having a balcony with that scenery is an absolute must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mralphabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

In "ancient times" to use a Chinese term when the Earth was believed to be flat, if you fell from the side you would probably have landed at the Li River Retreat Hotel in Yangshuo County. Hard to find in the daytime and almost impossible at night is what makes this tranquil Resort so special. Built on the high ground alongside a river with stunning views of the Yangshuo karst peaks the Resort has its own excellent restaurant so there is no need to leave. Yangshuo City is a pleasant walk away along the river edge. The luxury rooms are very comfortable. There is no lift and a very steep driveway. The shower is ordinary, low pressure and a wait for the hot water to arrive. A few rough edges but this is made for by the beautiful scenery, an extensive restaurant menu for food and drink and a good breakfast. English spoken by the staff is excellent. Go there this is something special.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the top floor. Far end room 301 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rubenjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is outstanding! The rooms mostly have balconies which look out to some of the best scenery in Yangshuo. The hotel is in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle of the town but is easy walking distance along the river about 15minutes. The hotel is comfortable and the meals in the restaurant are very good and very reasonably prices. The staff have very good English are friendly and knowledgeable I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryRAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

After a few nights in hostels, this hotel was truly a blessing. Rooms are huge and the decor is neutral and relaxing. We paid extra as I wanted a balcony so took Deluxe Standard room. The views were amazing and it was lovely to sit on the balcony on a morning, but ours was on the corner of the building and seemed to be the only one where the balcony was walled off on the sides which obscured the view a little, which was a shame. Although the view was beautiful, I was woke early each morning by staff talking loudly outside, or noisy vehicles driving past. Despite this, the staff are very friendly and helpful and made the whole trip very enjoyable. A variety of types of food are sered at the hotel but we thought the Chinese food was good. I was very glad I stayed here, (although we're in our twenties and the other residents seemed a bit older) just remember to bring a torch in case you need to find the hotel in the dark!

Room Tip: Room 208 is the only one with a balcony that has an obscured view so avoid if possible, but if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifesashow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Li River Retreat is situated just 20 mins from the city centered away from the hustle and bustle of the town. It situated on the banks of the Li River on a small hill with a great view. We stayed there for two nights and wished we stayed long instead of going to Guilin ( which we ofcourse regretted later cos there was nothin to do in Guilin) The rates are reasonable inspite of the fact we stayed during the peak season (Golden week). Friendly helpful staff who spoke excellent English. The only minus point for this resort is the food, not great but ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sangeetaamaldev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
4.2 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 490 in Yangshuo County
633 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 490 in Yangshuo County
1,140 reviews
3.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#8 of 490 in Yangshuo County
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#12 of 490 in Yangshuo County
28 reviews
4.6 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 490 in Yangshuo County
309 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#7 of 490 in Yangshuo County
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Resort

Address: No.1 Shuangtan Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#22 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $69 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Li River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yangshuo Li River Resort is a family run Resort. Our stunning location takes in some of the best views in the Yangshuo region and our close proximity to the town of Yangshuo gives our guests the opportunity to explore its multitude of shopping, dinning and entertainment options. We have a variety of rooms to cater to couples, friends, families and those who want a luxurious experience. We also have a restaurant which serves a large range of Chinese and Western dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All of this is complimented by our high standards of service. We have a good size swimming pool which is exclusive to our guests. The pool is open during the warmer months of the year, approximately from April to mid-December. The pool is excellent for early morning swims, relaxing during the day or soothing your body after a day of sightseeing. We hope to take care of you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Li River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Li River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing