We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True retreat, loved our stay”
Review of Li River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Li River Resort
Ranked #5 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We spent two nights here in late April, it was exactly what we expected from this lovely retreat in a stunning part of China. The staff were great, the food very good, and the location is simply spectacular. This is not a five-star retreat by Western standards so don't go expecting it. It was just what we needed after a few days of high-rise hotel living in Shanghai. The 30-minute walk into town is no problem, just take a torch if you're doing it after dark. We loved this place - thanks Alf and your team for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ness58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 477 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

We loved the Li River retreat.

The hotel itself is small enough to be intimate but large enough to have a quality kitchen and staff. We had a good sized room (Deluxe Standard) on the second floor with a balcony over-looking the river. Very comfortable for a family of four.

We stayed here for almost a week and enjoyed hiking, biking and boating in the area.

This hotel is just far enough out of town that it feels like it is a retreat but is actually just a $2 taxi or a 20 minute walk to the "action."

Loved the hotel breakfasts and dinner- consistently good food and conversation with other travelers.

The staff could not be any better. They will go out of their way to help you with your travel plans and to make your visit to Yangshuo memorable.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExShoreex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights in two ground floor rooms. The views were amazing from patio where we had breakfast twice and dinner once. Rented bikes to get to town for exploration. This was a perfect place - easy to navigate; food and beverages available most (if not all) of the day and into night. Loved eating on patio. Loved view from 3rd (4th?) floor observation. Quiet. They arranged out tickets and transportation to Impression show. Staff was friendly and helpful with arrangements, food, laundry.

If you want to walk outside your door and have nightlife, shopping and dozens of resturants in a few blocks (and associated noise) then this is not the place for you. You will have to bike or taxi to shopping and town but it was just what we needed a retreat.

Room Tip: Both or our ground floor rooms were very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janddmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were in the big room for two nights and are as gushy positive as many others reviewing the hotel. Attentive and ultra-friendly staff, room was detailed out in a very comfortable way like comforters in the closet if cold, and toothbrush, comb and shower caps with the shampoo bottles, like the hotels I was in the cities at twice the price. The bed was a little firm and the quality of the pillows great. There was air conditioning which on the day that was 90 degrees, kept the room comfortable and sleep uninterrupted. I used the hot water kettle alot, making tea and coffee in the room daily, puttering about in slippers and a robe. It was such a positive experience I tried to shift my return to Shanghai, unsuccessfully, to stay another day.

I had breakfast and dinner there each day before and after a long day of sight seeing. Food was great--menu is extensive between local favorites (beer fish and beer duck), as well as typical Chinese items and western standards. There is an extensive wine and beer selection, including half bottles of red wine, a pleasant surprise.

Rate on my room was under $100 and entrees were like $10. After the cacaphony of people and sounds in Yangshuo it was a delight to sit outside, quietly and watch the darkness settle on the "neighborhood". Unlike other reviewers, when I booked the Li River Retreat I did not expect a TV and phone, We appreciated the Retreat atmosphere which was Family-friendly at the same time. Nothing could have made my stay better unless I had booked more time myself!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here for four nights just after the Easter holidays and really enjoyed our time in Yangshuo. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful . Even though we didn't take any of their guided tours, they provided good advice on how to get where we wanted to go. We found that renting bikes and taking public transport from the town was a far more affordable option for us but I am sure that their tours would have been excellent, judging from the satisfaction of other patrons at breakfast the next morning.

The room (deluxe standard) was comfortable and well provisioned but not so grand that we felt on edge about the children breaking things. There was no fridge, tv or phone but we didn't need any of these. The beds were fantastic compared to the hard ones found in many Chinese hotels. The views were gorgeous, I especially enjoyed a thunderstorm that went on one night for hours. The Chinese food from the restaurant was very tasty and reasonably priced, so we only bothered to eat in town once. Although the rooms were not completely soundproof, it wasn't really a problem because it became very quiet after 10pm. For someone who wants to sleep in, however, it could prove a problem as many guests there, including us, were early wakers with children...

The wifi was unreliable with my phone but fine with my husband's and not really an issue overall (it was good for checking email but not so much for browsing). It was a fair walk from town so if you had small children and no stroller, you might want to take that into consideration especially with taxi drivers and motorised rickshaw drivers charging 30 yuan each way. Personally we enjoyed the walk and planned our days so that we stayed out all day but if you wanted to pop in and out many times to the town, it might add up. Also bring a torch (no street lighting after the covered market part) and insect repellant. We found the prettiest evening strolls were in the other direction from the town towards the orange groves up the road.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MerryMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I live in Hong Kong and have been to Yangshuo many times. I took my brother and his wife there two weeks ago and stayed here. I was so disappointed. We paid extra to have a corner room with a balcony with a three-way view around the Li River. The balcony was so much smaller than all the other balconies and we paid more. When we arrived, all lights in the room were unplugged, there was no TV, phone, or fridge. (I could care less about a TV, but at 90USD in Yangshou it should be included.) We went to our room after dinner and had trouble finding power points for the lights! It was a 30 minute walk to town. You would need to take a taxi at night to return if you stayed out late. Food was so-so. There are MUCH better, quieter places to stay in town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marciabarham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Li_River_Retreat, Owner at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

I feel like I need to clarify some things regarding this review.

You stayed in our Deluxe Riverview room, which as you pointed out has views of the Li River and the Karst mountains from 3 sides. It has a balcony on the front facing side of the room. This balcony has a small table and 2 chairs which allow the guests to sit down and relax while watching river traffic or just reading a book. I don’t think it needs to be much bigger.

Our policy with TVs is that we do not have them in the rooms. The main reason is that TVs can generate a great deal of background noise therefore spoiling our other guests’ peace and quiet. We like to keep our Retreat as peaceful as possible during all hours of the day and night. We find that many of our guests travel with laptops or tablets and use our free Wi-Fi to watch movies and TV channels. The sound on these mobile devices is much lower than on a TV.

In the Deluxe Riverview room, there is a small fridge. I am surprised that you did not see it as it is by the door to the balcony. We also feel that we have sufficient power points in the room, but if you required more, we could have easily provided you with a powerboard. We also have adaptors if your appliances had Hong Kong plugs.

Finally with our location, this is one thing that we cannot change. We are 2kms from Yangshuo. It takes around 30 minutes to walk it, or a few minutes on a bike or in a taxi. For many of our guests this is a great advantage as they can be in the peacefulness of the countryside but close enough to the busy town.

From reading your review, I guess that you would have preferred to have stayed in the town and not in a place where great views and relaxation are the main features.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

After read many good reviews, we booked this hotel for 4 nights. To make it simple, my experience with this hotel as below;-

Good thing :
1) The view from this hotel was great, the whole hotel is facing nice green & beautiful mountains.
2)Very quiet after 11pm. we had really good sleep, you will only hear the sound of rain & morning birds crying. However the hotel wall was a bit thin, so before 11pm, sometimes you could hear next door. Glad they don't have TV (Laugh) & phone.
3) Front desk staffs are friendly and good English. They are trying their best to satisfied the guests.

Thing could be better:
1) The light was very dim. Really not good for bad eye sight people or senior peoples.
2) The felicities should be maintained more. First night we were stayed in Deluxe Standard Room.The shower temperature was unstable, either too hot (can get burned) or super cold..... we was keep adjust our shower temperature. The hair dryer was broken, so when i plug it in, the power plug started burning because i see white smoke came out, i could smell the plastic burning. Then 3 mints later, i heard 'Pa'.... the power plug was blow up... I was really terrified. Glad we moved to Deluxe Riverview Room after one night. The Deluxe Riverview room was pretty good.
3) Need educate other hotel staffs for basic manners more rather then just educate front desk staffs. We were sat down for our break first, a sick staff is serving food for all the guests. She was coughing all the time and using her sleeve clean her nose every time after she cough . My partner & i decided that if she bring our food, we wont eat it. The hotel manager should let her off the duty especially shouldn't allow her to serving the food.
4) The towel are quite old you can see some black spots on it. Either you clean it up proper or buy some new towel. Also the bed sheet was quite old as well, it make me thing that's the reason why the hotel's light is dim, because you cant see every thing proper.

Over all, this hotel is still a very fine hotel. The food was OK, the western break fast was quite good compare Kelly's cafe we had in town. The Chinese breakfast wasn't tasty at all. I just couldn't finish it. Maybe because of the coughing lady.....I liked front desk girls, they are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We have always stayed on 2nd floor. We liked Deluxe Riverview Room, its big and good view. Go check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank relaxgirl_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 483 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,134 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#12 of 483 in Yangshuo County
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#19 of 483 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Resort

Address: No.1 Shuangtan Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#17 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $67 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Li River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yangshuo Li River Resort is a family run Resort. Our stunning location takes in some of the best views in the Yangshuo region and our close proximity to the town of Yangshuo gives our guests the opportunity to explore its multitude of shopping, dinning and entertainment options. We have a variety of rooms to cater to couples, friends, families and those who want a luxurious experience. We also have a restaurant which serves a large range of Chinese and Western dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All of this is complimented by our high standards of service. We have a good size swimming pool which is exclusive to our guests. The pool is open during the warmer months of the year, approximately from April to mid-December. The pool is excellent for early morning swims, relaxing during the day or soothing your body after a day of sightseeing. We hope to take care of you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Li River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Li River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing