We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel away from the Yangshuo tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yangshuo Moon Resort
Ranked #37 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed August 10, 2011

To preface, this place isn't for everyone. If you like the buzz of a city or comfort of a nice resort, this isn't the right place for you. My wife and I enjoy quiet, out of the way places that are clean, and it was perfect for that. It is family run and you will see everyone in the family helping out. The wives speak English well and can provide information about local attractions. I felt they provided good information at competitive prices. We were also staying with a baby and felt it was just fine.

The hotel itself is only several years old, but there is nothing fancy about it. The bathroom was clean, but not really well taken care of. The shower floor is just the bathroom which was something we have never experience but actually didn't mind. The power went out during the day because there are rolling blackouts during the day in the summer (it was out in the whole village). We thought the food was excellent. Whenever we wanted to eat we would let them know and they were also accommodating. Sometimes they would go pick things from their garden to include in the meal.

Things to do in the area including hiking moon hill, biking, visiting Yangshuo, taking a bamboo boat or visiting the mud/hot spring caves. They can arrange all of this for you, including bikes to rent (20 RMB/day) which were pretty good. Yangshuo is a 15 minute drive and the hotel people will pick you up if needed. Bus is 3 RMB and a taxi is 30-40 RMB. There are a lot of tourists in Yangshuo and at night it was especially filled with Chinese tourists. Moon hill village has busloads of Chinese tourists during the day taking pictures of the moon hill during the day, but is completely dead at night.

Besides the beautiful and quiet countryside in Moon Hill Village, the people are the best reason for staying here. We thought they were very nice and accommodating with what they had.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 99 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

I stayed here because the other hotel that I was staying was fully booked, I was reading the review of some people on this small hotel ( actually this is more of a family hotel), that I decide to write a review. People stay here because it is cheap can get it for 60 rmb and up, that's the main reason.

Nothing special with this hotel, I stayed here during the winter time, heating is not enough, did not sleep the whole nite. Bathroom is ok for the price your paying. the hotel is located inside the Li village, not on the entrance, u have to go further inside, for me its kind of dark and scary at nite going into the hotel. Good thing that the village is kind of afluent compare to other villages in Yangshuo, so i dont think there's any crime rate. The Village caters to chinese tourist at noon time, chinese restaurant all over this village, but food quality wise, nothing special.

As several tourist has mention, this hotel other source of income is selling tours, expensive tours as u can go to the West street and bargain for your tour. A boat at XIngpiing can varies from 100 RMB to 400 RMB, so goodluck on your bargaining skills.
Most of the hotel in yangshuo depends on tours too, not only this hotel. You find lots of hawkers selling tours in west street or even in moon hill vicinity as it is one way of earnning some money.

I have been an avid fan of Yangshuo and I come here almost every year, just not on the summer months, outrageous mosquitoes and hot humid weather. I stayed in different hotel as much as possible.

I would only recommedn this hotel if u are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We spend here 5 nights in September. we had a wonderful time here, but it was too quite, we were the only ones in the hotel and the service was kind of too informal. we have to ask for shampoo and toilet paper. However, Wei-wei and her family were very nice, though not too helpful to recommend and helping us arrange our activities.
They have Wi-Fi, but for some reason they turn the router off at night, so we have to ask every morning to turn it on.
It's a little further away from Yangshuo, but it's quite and the rooms with view have an amazing view. During the day the bus takes about 20min and is just Y6, but they stop running at night and the taxi ride is Y30.
Food prices are a little overprice compare to what you can find in Yangshuo (try Cloud 9 restaurant)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garaba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

we still cannot understand people judging this hotel as fantastic. We found it very lousy, especially the bathroom, and the location is far from anything else, more than 8km from Yangshuo.
We slept here one night and then we run away.
We also had the impression that Wei Wei and her sister in law were there waiting for fool tourists to buy their incredibly expensive tours (i.e. bamboo raft proposed for 300 yuan, instead of 130 at Youth Hostel).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovechina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I picked this hotel after reading the reviews and was disappointed. There were good things - the location was lovely, the room had a gorgeous view, the family were friendly and helpful but the bathroom was very basic and not clean and I got eaten alive by insects.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky_and_Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Location
The location of the hotel was excellent - in the small town of Moon Hill - outside of Yangshuo. If you are looking for a wild night life of bars and restaurants open late and lots of crowds then this is not the place for you. The resort is a short walk to the main street in Moon Hill where there are bigger hotels and restaurants, and there can be lots of tourists there at times. But the hotel feels like worlds away - very very quiet at night - opt for the 'rooms with a view' that give you unbelievable views of the karst peaks, valley from your room.

Rooms
The rooms are basic - with a bed that is a bit hard, a bit of furniture and a basic bathroom with shower - but what makes the room are the incredible views!! You really are only in your room to sleep so we found the rooms very comfortable - and the price was very good!

Services
There is a restaurant at the hotel with a varied chinese and western menu - they cook anytime you want to eat and cook to order. Meals were very good and well prepared.
The front staff of the hotel - in particular Wei Wei were incredible - very helpful with providing information, helping us coordinate tours etc... Wei Wei was our guide for an amazing bike ride through the karst valley that finsihed with a bamboo raft down the Li River - this is a must do experience. She tooks us through amazing valleys, villages and rice farms on our bike ride.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an amazing off the beaten track in Moon Hill/Yangshou - fantastic views from hotel, fantastic service/guides -was one of the highlights of our trip to China.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murraytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We are two young female travellers and absolutely loved out time with WeiWei and her family. The rooms were large, bright and airy with a fantastic view over the moon hill countryside; yet only cost marginally more than the backpacker hostels we are used to. Wonderfull location, right at the foot of the incredible moon hill, in the heart of Yangshuo countryside. Hiking up moon hill is an absolute must - the views are stunning. Easy to cycle into Yangshuo town. The best part was definately WeiWei and her large family that all live at the hotel; they are wonderfully friendly and helpful. We were only there 2 nights but really felt like part of the family. There was only one other set of guests there at the time so we joined the family for their evening meal every day, which was delicious. Followed by a nightly 'fruit party' with lots of yummy fresh fruit - we tried all sorts of fruits we'd never heard of. All free of charge. We had a fantastic time; it's been our favourite hotel yet, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Thank you WeiWei!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilyandnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 483 in Yangshuo County
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
3.6 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#18 of 483 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moondance Boutique Resort
Moondance Boutique Resort
#11 of 483 in Yangshuo County
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Moon Resort

Address: No.97 Licun, Moon Hill, Shili Hualang Scenic Area, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Yangshuo County
#34 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $16 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon Resort family hotel is the best place in MoonHill Village to enjoy YangShuo's Countryside. Between Karst peaks and rice paddies, our 15 comfortable rooms will offers you all the modern amenities (air-conditioning, private hot shower) plus a unique view on Chinese farmer's life. Our restaurant offers local and western meal and breakfast. Other facilities includes a lush covered courtyard, a laundry and internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Moon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Hotel Yangshuo County
Moon Resort Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing